Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
1234.444445
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

PRCF Vietnam works in often neglected, highly biodiverse areas that truly benefit from their presence and support. My experience in Ba Be National Park as an intern with PRCF gave me the chance to coordinate household surveys to better understand attitudes and perceptions of the park and to support sustainable fishing management, which are crucial to the ecosystem conservation of the largest natural lake in Vietnam and its surrounding forests. They have remained dedicated to conservation in this region, and I wish them all the best in their future endeavors.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

I first began to have a deeper understanding of conservation and the type of people active in conservation when my daughter Clea became passionately involved in conservation in her teens. (Almost 20 years later she is still as passionate). After coming to live in Vietnam I met similarly dedicated conservationists. One organization's name consistently came up in their discussions as truly dedicated to both conservation and support for minority people. That organization was (and is) PRCF, People Resources and Conservation Foundation. As the years went by I met more people working for and with PRCF and had the opportunity to see first-hand some of the work they were doing in Vietnam. In every case I was struck by their dedication and professionalism. I was honored when invited by PRCF to work with them in my areas of culture development, team building and strategic development. In that role I have had the opportunity to work with PRCF people from several countries. Their dedication and professionalism is shown by their every action and the results they have achieved. They are an exceptional group of people in an exceptional organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with PRCF since 2004. Initially in my free time supporting to develop its biodiversity conservation programme in Vietnam, by developing project ideas, helping write grant proposals and providing technical advice in my fields of expertise. In the past few years I have become more involved regionally, including a scoping visit to the Philippines, involvement in regional strategy workshops and acting as Exec. Secretary to the Board. I am happy to give my free time to PRCF. It is staffed and supported by very committed individuals who put in great energy in response to PRCF's vision and collegial working spirit. The vision of PRCF places strong emphasis in supporting local communities in biodiversity conservation and natural resource management, which is both extremely challenging in this region and inspirational.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've seen PRCF grown from nothing in Vietnam to now playing a major contribution in relation to similar organisations to conservation of some of Vietnam's exceptional biodiversity. In particular, uniquely PRCF is engaged in the most exciting conservation work I have seen in Vietnam, that is to restore the habitat for a critically endangered gibbon species. In addition, I have also witnessed PRCF develop programmes in Myanmar and Cambodia following Vietnam.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Following a period of expansion, PRCF needs a period to consolidate its current good work; focussing on developing technical capacity through a synthesis of current expertise within the organisation to develop a framework of strong technical protocols and exchange. A stronger funding strategy needs to be developed and a clear vision of PRCF's work articulated to external parties, such as donors and current and potential partners.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

There is a special atmosphere of committed individuals with strong technical expertise and passion for their work, who all believe in the vision of PRCF. This is reinforced with mutual respect among people involved in PRCF. The approach of PRCF lays a strong emphasis in working at the grassroots level to help local communities help themselves.

April 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

BirdLife International Cambodia Programme has worked with PRCF for several years tying to improve the management of Lomphat Wildlife Sanctuary in Cambodia. Via our role under the Critical Ecosystem Partnership Fund we have also provided a small grant to PRCF. PRCF are professional in the delivery of projects, innovative in their approaches and work closely and develop strong relationships with local civil society organisations.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

PRCF is managed by conservation professionals who are non-paid and simply want to further global conservation goals beyond what they may be doing in their own area of work. As such PRCF is extremely cost effective - delivering maximum impact at the field level at lowest cost. I am based in East Africa, but I am able to use my 20+ years of experience in Asia in guiding work through the PRCF in indochina and Myanmar. Though I now work professionally on forest issues and livelihoods development in Africa, I still participate in the exciting work of PRCF in discovering new species in Myanmar or in managing critical ecosystems in Vietnam. We all benefit.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

PRCF is a relatively small environmental NGO working in several countries in SE Asia focusing on biodiversity, ecosystems, and landscapes of global conservation significance. For me what makes PRCF different to other conservation NGOs is their long term presence on the ground at their field sites and the emphasis on working with remote and often ethnic minority or tribal community groups. I worked for PRCF for just over 1 year in 2006-2007, managing an environmental education project at Ba Be National Park in northern Vietnam. PRCF has maintained a programme at Ba Be for a number of years and works closely with both the park staff and the resident ethnic Tay and Nung minority groups in conserving this very special limestone landscape. Much of their funding for this work comes from the Regional Network for Indigenous Peoples and indeed they facilitated the hosting of a RNIP workshop in 2008 at Ba Be, where ethnic minority leaders and staff of similar projects gathered to discuss rights-based approaches to conservation and development. My fondest memories were of the annual Tay New Year festival where we used to run a stall with environmental education activities for local children - very messy and lots of fun!

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Environmental Education, Strengthening Community Ownership and Rights over Natural Resources, Community-based conservation, Endangered Species Research

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am no longer really in a position to comment on this however my impression is that like all smaller sized NGOs PRCF faces difficulties in obtaining the requisite funding to maintain a solid presence in the countries where they work. They are fighting to survive in a very competitive space and their programmes would benefit from greater assured or core funding which would provide a secure base from which to launch their conservation support programmes.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

What is unique about this organization?

The way it works on the ground and in partnership with communities towards achieving conservation goals. The organisation promotes a rights-based approach which is as much about preserving the cultures and identity of indigenous groups as it is about biodiversity conservation. PRCF works through traditional natural resource management structures by engaging local communities as genuine partners. A lot of what the organisation does is to try and facilitate the securing of better ownership, tenure and resource use rights for indigenous communities and in so doing build in a conservation or sustainable management agenda. It does this by working hard at the grassroots level and by only focusing on very specific and relatively small target groups. In SE Asia, PRCF is now being brought in by larger and more well-known conservation NGOs (such as Birdlife, Fauna and Flora International, Wildlife Conservation Society and others) to perform this role. It is in this sense that PRCF is unique and they perform a vital niche role in the high priority conservation areas in which they work. To me, this is a fundamentally different angle to the approaches still adopted by many conservation organisations and projects.

April 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We have collaborated with PRCF between 2005 and 2008 on several conservation projects PRCF was implementing in Kalimantan, Indonesia and Ba Be National Park in Vietnam. We found PRCF's work in conservation with indigenous peoples very innovative and empowering to grassroots communities. Their local partners valued highly the technical and scientific assistance which PRCF provided to them. I can attest that the indigenous peoples and their respective communities who have partnered with PRCF over the years have succeeded in implementing their conservation cum anti poverty projects partly because of PRCF's sustained help.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

April 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I haven't worked for People Resources and Conservation Foundation, but I am familiar with their work and projects. Although they are small organization, they have a very strong local presence and this helps them to achieve greater impact. PRCF focuses on involving the remote communities in identifying the best ways to conserve their environment, and very often this means conserving some of the most valuable landscapes or species in the Asia-Pacific region. PRCF staff are important link between local people and global research findings and markets. However, it's not always easy to be present on the ground, as it requires funds and resources. It is therefore very good to share PRCF work with the general public and secure more support to continue their conservation and capacity building work.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

PRCF’s activities have been directly contributing to the enhancement of conservation effectiveness and livelihood opportunities at the local level. Lessons from PRCF’s community-based conservation and development approach should provide useful information to national and sub-national policy making processes to make conservation policies and practices more effective and sustainable and work for local people. Because of such potential impacts, PRCF deserves more support and funding to expand and intensify its work in Asia and other parts of the world.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

PRCF is composed of dedicated staff, both on the management level as on the field level. The projects they implement are truly focused on conservation of biodiversity. What impressed me when I met the team in Indonesia is the loyalty to the organization based on their view that PRCF works on the ground with communities, something they themselves can help shape through their own actions. They are happy to work for PRCF because the nature of the organization lets them do that and they feel that PRCF is really focused on the community level. Funds that go to PRCF represents well spent money, as only a minimum goes into overhead, without a bloated set of staff. Topics that PRCF typically seeks to cover focuses on threatened and endangered species, looking for community based resource management options wherever possible.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers