Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
1234.444445
Write A Review
April 30, 2012

more

April 30, 2012

People Resource Conservation Fund ( PRCF) , an Conservation NGO working to strengthening the local communities to manage their natural resources.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I worked directly with the organisation in a community-based gibbon conservation project in northeastern Viet Nam in 2005 and 2006. At that time PRCF had a small office but impressively with dedicated and professional staff, both international and local, in biology, species conservation, forestry management, community based rural planning and development. PRCF was our project’s partner conducting an initial resource use assessment and socio-economic study landscape of our eastern black-crested gibbon conservation area in the Tay and Nung ethnic communities of Cao Bang province. What was unique in PRCF’s approach to conservation was its commitment and strong actions in developing local expertise by collaborating with local universities and research institutes, supporting local researchers and encouraging participation of local communities in all aspects of its work.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

April 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered for PRCF - Vietnam in 2007-2008 while working on my Masters thesis on Civil Society in Vietnam. I became interested in this organization because of my passion for wildlife conservation and community development in the developing world. PRCF gave me the opportunity to work at Ba Be National Park, located in a very remote region of Northern Vietnam. I was able to witness a simpler way of living where the locals villages live off the land and their limited natural resources. I can say this was one of the most rewarding experiences in my lifetime. I got involved in an environmental education project that raised awareness among village school children of their natural environment. In one activity, we organized a local children's painting contest and the winners' pieces were printed into a calendar and t-shirts. I found this made positive impact and the children were gratified to see that there was an importance to their work. We also raised awareness for the protection of the Francois' langur by helping the community understand the importance of this endangered species and to curb their current practices of poaching these animals. PRCF is a growing organization that has strong conservation values and a devoted team of people. I enjoyed my time as a volunteer and would recommend it for anyone that is adventurous, resourceful, adaptable and has a strong passion for the environmental sustainability in the less developed areas of the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Working as an artist with PRCF, it was truely wonderful to be able to have that hands on experience with local people, which meant so much more when I then worked from afar for PRCF. Their role, which so often uses simple approaches, causes great wonderful impact upon local people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been working with PRCF as part time conservation project office in Cambodia to conserve threatened birds and environment. The programme is so very useful and help full for conservation. Staff work very closely with the nature and fund have been use wisely and carefully 80 to 85% of entitle funding come strait to conserve the nature at this field. Staff willing to work with no office and old equipments with highly commitment with conservation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 28, 2012

more

April 28, 2012

In Vietnam, PRCF is working with local people and authorities in biodiversity conservation. PRCF's staff are professional, dynamic and committed to work in the field. PRCF are contributing to conservation of endangered species of Vietnam.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

April 28, 2012

more

April 28, 2012

I recently spent 3 months (Dec 2011 - March 2012) working with the PRCF staff shooting a documentary about their conservation efforts with Francois' Langurs in North Vietnam. I found everybody connected with this project to be very dedicated to educating the local communities about Francois' Langur conservation, and in general helping local communities cope with their environmental problems. Without PRCF's conservation work in this area, the 80 or so remaining individual members of this leaf eating monkey species in Vietnam, would have very little chance of survival.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

PRCF is serious about people-centered biodiversity conservation. Their approach is hybrid of sorts -- part international organization specialized expertise and part local organization with knowledgeable and committed national staff. The activities PCRF supports and the unique geographical areas served represent some of the more difficult conservation challenges we face: critically endangered species; complex challenges to sustainable landscapes; and economic marginalization due to ethnic trends and poverty cycles. PCRF is making a difference in the communities and countries that is serves. I am certain they would welcome your support, advise and volunteered contributions.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been working with PRCF for over three years. It is a great organization which focusses mostly on grassroot level conservation and capacity building. Together we have successfully established a community forest in Karen State, Burma and trained the villagers who are currently conserving the forest on their own. We also conjoinlty produced a hoolock gibbon status survey in Khe Shor Ter Forest, Burma by using the pro-people method. Summarized, I guarantee that this organization has genuine capacity and desire to work with all stakeholders for the purpose of pro-people natural conservation.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Focused work that underlines long-term impact with building of local capacity and skills in-country. PRCF have been an extremely effective, small and lean organization that have been an excellent grantee in terms of the professional management of the grants we have awarded them, their impact and their relationships with local communities and local authorities in the countries in which they work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers