Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.891895
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 20, 2014

more

October 20, 2014

I had a great experience with PMD! Working in a kitchen is always chaotic and we were using brand new recipes, but Lori is a great leader and showed us exactly what to do. She was always cheerful even though it was an early start, and she organized us to get the meal out much quicker than we thought! The elders we fed were so grateful for the food and company. I would definitely do it again!
October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

It was ver well organized and the experience is unforgettable.
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

Over the years, we have looked for opportunities to contribute that fit into our already busy schedules. PMD makes that easy! We were pleased to discover multiple options for participation. We've volunteered only once so far, but intend to return. The project was very well organized and those who participated were terrific. Seems there are quite a variety of ways to make a difference for very interesting organizations!
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

Fun, well-organized projects that seem to provide real value to the non-profit.
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

People Making a Difference has been a great resource to meet my need for contributing without having to make an ongoing commitment. The projects are always very well organized, and I've learned about some really interesting organizations and issues affecting my community.
October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

PMD offers great experiences and the satisfaction of making a difference.
October 16, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 16, 2013

I have been volunteering through PMD since shortly after it began. I love that it involves a wide variety of projects serving different charities, and that I am welcome to sign up only for the ones t... more

October 16, 2014

This nonprofit offers extremely welk-organized projects that are designed to bring maximum satisfaction to the volunteers as well as clearly benefit the charity served. Projects are just long enough, just demanding enough, and have a clear finished product. Icebreaker a are always a part, to help volunteers get comfortable with each other, and leaders pass out fresh bajed cookies during the wrap up.
June 16, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been volunteering through PMD since shortly after it began. I love that it involves a wide variety of projects serving different charities, and that I am welcome to sign up only for the ones that I like and that fit into my schedule. There is no pressure to sign up for more, and the projects themselves are carefully designed to be just enough work to be interesting and not enough to overload. They are crafted to be satisfying to the volunteer as much as helpful to the charity. And there are nice ice breaking routines built in to get comfortable with the other volunteers.

I encourage single friends of all ages, especially, to volunteer through PMD. The projects usually average half veterans and half new volunteers, half couples and half singles in a wide age range. This is a great way to meet nice people with a service ethic and without dating pressure, and exchange contact info only if you want to after working side by side.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

PMD does a great job providing high-impact volunteer opportunities!
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

Lori Tsuruda and PMD made all the difference in our corporate community involvement event. It can be a challenge identifying a project that a big group can work on but through Lori's leadership we were able to identify an activity that over 100 EMCers across the US and Canada participated in. Youth literacy was a theme we could all agree on and the team had a blast working on the literacy folder creation for Gifts to Give together. Lori and her team were collaborative from start to finish. Prior to the project she worked closely to provide guidance and recommendations on logistics and she was there when it was time for the big event day. A few months have now passed since our give back event and the team is still talking about the experience. Looking forward to working with PMD & Lori in the future!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

My name is Andy and I am a Board Member and frequent volunteer with People Making a Difference (PMD). I've been affiliated with PMD for the past two years and can whole-heartedly say that there is no other, grass-roots, local, volunteering/service organizations quite like PMD. PMD's primary mission is to connect people who want to help local charities that need volunteer assistance but lack the resources to do so effectively. I've personally witness the hard work and dedication of our Executive Director and volunteers time and time again- from assembling braille books for blind children at Boston's National Braille Press, to making no-sew fleece blankets on Summer Street for Boston's homeless. The work that PMD's volunteers selflessly perform is vital to the Greater Boston community. It’s clear to me that PMD's ultimate power lies in leveraging everyday people (like myself) to perform extraordinary differences in our community- hands down one of Boston Best local non-profits. Andy
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

make cozy "no sew" fleece blankets for needy kids or assemble educational materials developing school readiness for preschool students Volunteer