Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.954555
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
November 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

PMD makes sure that every volunteer not only has a great time doing something worthwhile, but also really learns about the organization or event they are helping. PMD projects are a wonderful way to get involved helping others and become aware of different organizations and opportunities in the community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

People who volunteer with People Making a Difference (PMD) are super motivated and reliable. They arrive ready to help where they're needed most, and come with tools and manager(s). PMD volunteers make an effort to get to know charities and the issues our clients face. PMD volunteers also contribute financially to help purchase materials when needed (and when they can afford to do so), which makes all the difference.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Not knowing many people, PMD is a great way to get involved in the community and meet new people. There are a wide variety of projects each year. The groups PMD works with rely on volunteer help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I love volunteering with PMD! You get a sense of really helping where the help is most needed. Not to mention the events are well organized and run, always making them successful for the volunteers as well as the client being served.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 6, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Working with PMD helped this non-profit conservation organization meet its ecological and community-involvement goals for 10 years! Their professionalism, organization and preparedness made the projects that much more effective and productive. Having experience working with other volunteers, I highly recommend PMD to other charities.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I had been an intern for PMD for one academic year. It was a fantastic experience. I loved the fact that PMD truly made the difference. We, the volunteer, saw and felt the change (in a good way).

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

When I volunteer with PMD, I am always surprised how quickly the volunteers become a team. Although we don't know each other when the project begins, we soon learn, laugh and work effectively together. There is always the right equipment and a plan to provide meaningful help to a local non-profit. i feel good about the work I am doing and am very comfortable with my fellow volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I had the opportunity to work with PMD throughout the summer of 2012, serving Lori in her office as we expanded our reach and in our actual projects. Through this work, I explored similar volunteer organizations in the Greater Boston area, and can say with confidence that PMD is an unique and extremely valuable organization. All PMD projects had a strong focus on real impacts with clients who benefited from them. Volunteers are provided with extensive information before the project to help understand the clients we serve, and the impacts we can make through volunteerism. The actual events are fun and productive, while still allowing space for socialization and getting-to-know other volunteers. Lori is approachable and receptive to feedback, too, so PMD constantly improves its service for volunteers and partners alike.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I learned about PMD this summer and have participated in a few volunteer projects for them since then. Each project has been a great experience for multiple reasons: First, I learned a lot about various charities in the greater Boston area that I never would have known about. I got to learn about parks/ponds, local festivals for children, shelters for elders, to name a few. Even though I've lived in Boston for 10 years now, PMD always introduced me to new places. I also met a lot of new people who were fellow volunteers and made friends. I also love how PMD projects are one time volunteer projects that don't require a long time commitment. It makes it easier for me to volunteer knowing that they projects are only one day. And most importantly, volunteering with PMD has been very rewarding! PMD makes sure to let their volunteers know why their work is so important and how they are making an impact. I always enjoy it when kids, parent, elders, and others come up to me and thank me for helping out. It really makes me feel that I'm giving back to my community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I learned about PMD because they organize projects for the nonprofit I work for. They always do such a good job that a few years ago I started volunteering with them myself! There are so many reasons I like volunteering with PMD. One of the main reasons is the variety of projects they offer. So far this year, through PMD, I have helped the Prison Book Program send books and educational materials to prisoners who would otherwise have little or no access to such things; I have helped organize Lego DNA science kits that help Boston Public School students learn biology; I cleared brush at the Franklin Park to ready a new area for exhibit and then fed apples to two different kinds of donkeys and a miniature horse! and I helped out at a local Halloween carnival in a mostly low-income neighborhood - and all those projects are really just the tip of the iceberg. The projects are well organized, and I always feel that my time is well spent and that what I've done really makes a difference. And volunteers always get homemade cookies at the end of each project. What more can you want from a volunteer experience?

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

make cozy "no sew" fleece blankets for needy kids or assemble educational materials developing school readiness for preschool students Volunteer