Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
38 Reviews
1234.894745
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

Lori Tsuruda and PMD made all the difference in our corporate community involvement event. It can be a challenge identifying a project that a big group can work on but through Lori's leadership we were able to identify an activity that over 100 EMCers across the US and Canada participated in. Youth literacy was a theme we could all agree on and the team had a blast working on the literacy folder creation for Gifts to Give together. Lori and her team were collaborative from start to finish. Prior to the project she worked closely to provide guidance and recommendations on logistics and she was there when it was time for the big event day. A few months have now passed since our give back event and the team is still talking about the experience. Looking forward to working with PMD & Lori in the future!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

My name is Andy and I am a Board Member and frequent volunteer with People Making a Difference (PMD). I've been affiliated with PMD for the past two years and can whole-heartedly say that there is no other, grass-roots, local, volunteering/service organizations quite like PMD. PMD's primary mission is to connect people who want to help local charities that need volunteer assistance but lack the resources to do so effectively. I've personally witness the hard work and dedication of our Executive Director and volunteers time and time again- from assembling braille books for blind children at Boston's National Braille Press, to making no-sew fleece blankets on Summer Street for Boston's homeless. The work that PMD's volunteers selflessly perform is vital to the Greater Boston community. It’s clear to me that PMD's ultimate power lies in leveraging everyday people (like myself) to perform extraordinary differences in our community- hands down one of Boston Best local non-profits. Andy
October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

I've been involved with PMD for a number of years and have volunteered for a variety of projects.
PMD has a penchant for starting and ending projects on time and communicating well about the charities that are served by serving on their projects.
October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

I have volunteered for PMD since 2007. PMD is one of the few non-profits that understands how to work with volunteers effectively. Their organizing skills and attention to detail make every project a success for the organizations they help and a satisfying experience for the volunteers who do the work.
May 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 6, 2012

When I volunteer with PMD, I am always surprised how quickly the volunteers become a team. Although we don't know each other when the project begins, we soon learn, laugh and work effectively togethe... more

May 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I love both the flexibility and the structure I have when volunteering with PMD. I get to pick the nonprofit I will help and the date I wish to volunteer. PMD provides me with the tools, directions, and information to learn about the group I am helping while performing a needed task. I always meet great people and have fun on PMD projects.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 6, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

When I volunteer with PMD, I am always surprised how quickly the volunteers become a team. Although we don't know each other when the project begins, we soon learn, laugh and work effectively together. There is always the right equipment and a plan to provide meaningful help to a local non-profit. i feel good about the work I am doing and am very comfortable with my fellow volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered with 6 or 7 projects through PMD and it's always a ton of fun. They are very well run and extremely organized. No standing around and waiting to figure out what to do- everyone has something to do from beginning to end. I love the concept of "responsible volunteerism" and one-off volunteer projects because it's honestly difficult for many working families to commit to a long-term volunteer program without running the risk of letting someone down or feeling overwhelmed. Being able to pick a project and complete it within one day allows me to feel useful and important without worrying that I'm going to bite off more than I can chew and let an organization down. Great job, PMD!
March 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I've volunteered on two projects through PMD in 2014 and have thoroughly enjoyed them both...Lori does an excellent job of planning the events and providing volunteers with all of the information that they need beforehand, both about the event itself and also about the organization you will be supporting with your efforts. This second part, learning about the organization a bit more, for me, helps make my volunteer experience more rewarding, knowing how my actions are contributing to the broader mission of the organization I'll be helping during my volunteering.

PMD events have often been at convenient times for me, compared to other opportunities I've found via other sources (e.g., VolunteerMatch, Boston Cares, etc.), so I've enjoyed not having to 'hunt' for opportunities to participate.

Keep up the great work Lori...looking forward to helping out again soon!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

PMD is a terrifically well run organization. They allow people to make an impact in just one day, and then make as much of an impact as they want. The projects are very meaningful, and you know that they really do "make a difference." And it is a fun time too!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

PMD is a well organized and sustainable non-profit organization using volunteer time and effort wisely and making sure the recipient organization benefits with a corresponding match of effort and volunteer activity. Volunteers learn, meet new people, are useful, and have fun! Being able to volunteer for a specific activity as your time permits (perhaps monthly, quarterly or annually) and as your interest allows is key to having a great experience for all involved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Projects are well planned and clearly of benefit to both the charity and its individual recipients. A wide array of volunteer opportunities are available over the course of the year allowing PMD volunteers to select the type, time, and focus of their event. The Executive Director is an excellent organizer and project manager so everyone knows what is to be accomplished and what everyone is to do. The volunteers are interesting, capable people representing a spectrum of ages and experience. At the end of a project it seems that everyone had a good time, met some new people, and feels good about what they have done.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

make cozy "no sew" fleece blankets for needy kids or assemble educational materials developing school readiness for preschool students Volunteer