Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
1234.958335
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
May 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 6, 2012

When I volunteer with PMD, I am always surprised how quickly the volunteers become a team. Although we don't know each other when the project begins, we soon learn, laugh and work effectively togethe... more

May 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I love both the flexibility and the structure I have when volunteering with PMD. I get to pick the nonprofit I will help and the date I wish to volunteer. PMD provides me with the tools, directions, and information to learn about the group I am helping while performing a needed task. I always meet great people and have fun on PMD projects.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 6, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

When I volunteer with PMD, I am always surprised how quickly the volunteers become a team. Although we don't know each other when the project begins, we soon learn, laugh and work effectively together. There is always the right equipment and a plan to provide meaningful help to a local non-profit. i feel good about the work I am doing and am very comfortable with my fellow volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered with 6 or 7 projects through PMD and it's always a ton of fun. They are very well run and extremely organized. No standing around and waiting to figure out what to do- everyone has something to do from beginning to end. I love the concept of "responsible volunteerism" and one-off volunteer projects because it's honestly difficult for many working families to commit to a long-term volunteer program without running the risk of letting someone down or feeling overwhelmed. Being able to pick a project and complete it within one day allows me to feel useful and important without worrying that I'm going to bite off more than I can chew and let an organization down. Great job, PMD!
March 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I've volunteered on two projects through PMD in 2014 and have thoroughly enjoyed them both...Lori does an excellent job of planning the events and providing volunteers with all of the information that they need beforehand, both about the event itself and also about the organization you will be supporting with your efforts. This second part, learning about the organization a bit more, for me, helps make my volunteer experience more rewarding, knowing how my actions are contributing to the broader mission of the organization I'll be helping during my volunteering.

PMD events have often been at convenient times for me, compared to other opportunities I've found via other sources (e.g., VolunteerMatch, Boston Cares, etc.), so I've enjoyed not having to 'hunt' for opportunities to participate.

Keep up the great work Lori...looking forward to helping out again soon!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

PMD is a terrifically well run organization. They allow people to make an impact in just one day, and then make as much of an impact as they want. The projects are very meaningful, and you know that they really do "make a difference." And it is a fun time too!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

PMD is a well organized and sustainable non-profit organization using volunteer time and effort wisely and making sure the recipient organization benefits with a corresponding match of effort and volunteer activity. Volunteers learn, meet new people, are useful, and have fun! Being able to volunteer for a specific activity as your time permits (perhaps monthly, quarterly or annually) and as your interest allows is key to having a great experience for all involved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Projects are well planned and clearly of benefit to both the charity and its individual recipients. A wide array of volunteer opportunities are available over the course of the year allowing PMD volunteers to select the type, time, and focus of their event. The Executive Director is an excellent organizer and project manager so everyone knows what is to be accomplished and what everyone is to do. The volunteers are interesting, capable people representing a spectrum of ages and experience. At the end of a project it seems that everyone had a good time, met some new people, and feels good about what they have done.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I worked as PMD project manager from early January till late May of this year, and I can definitely say that I had fun every step of the way! I really enjoyed the fact that the PMD sponsors a variety types of projects: from working with Legos to feeding the elderly! It was wonderful seeing that a lot of people in the community are eager to help give back in whatever way they can. It was my first year in Boston, and I'm glad part of that year was spent working with PMD and all the amazing volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Wonderful varied volunteer projects designed for the maximum satisfaction of the volunteer! When singles complain they have trouble meeting nice people, I recommend volunteering through PMD! There are ice breakers at the beginning of each project, then you work alongside other people who have given their time to do good, with no pressure to impress anyone. Or keep in contact unless you choose to exchange info. The projects are all for local charities that couldn't function without certain one-day or half-day projects done. It is very satisfying and interesting to sign up for different groups and tasks!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with PMD as a volunteer, project manager and board member for 15 years. I don't think I've ever stuck with anything for 15 years, but PMD makes it so easy! I can make a real difference even if I only have 8 hours once a month or once a year and I can do it in so many different ways. I love to do outdoor planting and trail work when the weather is warm, cooking around the holidays, and everything else in between (sorting seeds, delivering meals, visiting elders, etc.). If you are busy, but know you can give a morning, afternoon or full day, check out PMD's variety of amazing projects just waiting for a volunteer like you :)

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

PMD provides a wonderful outlet for those who want to volunteer but can't commit to doing so on a regular schedule, and/or who have not selected (or do not want to narrow themselves to) a single specific cause. And it provides a wonderful resource for organizations which need a burst of reliable manpower for a specific task.

It can also be a great way to learn about organizations operating in the area, and the causes they support. if you *are* shopping around for a longer-term volunteering gig.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

... have trouble thinking of something that needed to change. Though it might be nice if they were funded better; I think that's the main factor limiting what they can accomplish. (I'm already making a sizable contribution each year. Which is itself a serious endorsement.)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

make cozy "no sew" fleece blankets for needy kids or assemble educational materials developing school readiness for preschool students Volunteer