Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
30 Reviews
1234.933335
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
June 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I attended a Single Mothers Seminar hosted by People-Helping-People in March, 2013 and was really impressed by the organized event including a variety of employer vendors and the keynote speaker was such an inspiring business woman. Unemployed from my elementary school after a combined 9 years in mid February, 2013 I have been registered with state and church employment centers. Upon invitation and attending an overview meeting at People-Helping-People, I knew this resource was the best fit for me. They have many workshops that have helped me to understand the dynamics of my barriers and how I can create action plans to overcome those barriers. The coaching and mentoring programs help individual clients to know how much is needed in wages to break even, identifying hard and soft skills through a personal history and resume building. The volunteer mentors and coaches genuinely care for all clients to facilitate growth and hope. The programs offered along with Junior League give incentive for unemployed and employed women to receive a complete outfit or additional outfits for their working wardrobe to help make a great impression for the first interview or career advancement. I have learned how some of my behaviors regarding employment have slowed my success. With acknowledgement of those ineffective behaviors with support of the organization and caring volunteers, and administration I feel more empowered to create a better life for my family. My skills and educational degrees in elementary education and special education are being professionally showcased through resume building. My confidence has increased tremendously so that I will succeed in obtaining the dream job that I have worked so hard for the last ten years. My passion to teach visually impaired children has been realized by being accepted to the U of U Special Education department for visual impairment endorsement program. The hopeful reality of my dreams coming true are met with wonderful coaches and mentors. This organization empowers many women and they make a difference in our lives and our families. Thank goodness for a resource that custom fits to it's clients. I'm grateful to be part of an organization that is determined to make a difference.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Create a greater number of trained volunteers to keep up with the demand of clients.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2014

more

August 20, 2014

By attending People Helping People I have a better self image. I feel that the program workshops and training has helped prepare me to better utilize my talents and skills and sell myself to employers. I found out what skills I have that I had discounted or didn't even thought I had. I would recommend this training to other people. I even referred my son to help him when he lost his job and encouraged him to find out what programs he could use to go back to school.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have better communication with mentors/facilitators.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 20, 2014

more

August 20, 2014

I love this program. This is a place that understands what is I am going thru. I has taught me many different things. They help me with my job search. They have been a shoulder to cry on. Very caring people. I' glad they are here. They are very giving.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 19, 2014

more

August 19, 2014

I have been a volunteer coach and mentor with PHP for almost two years. Every time I meet a client or volunteer I am amazed at how well-tuned this organization is. As someone who does research for a living, I stand by my decision that this is one of the best tools for people working toward bettering themselves. PHP truly cares about the long-term success of its clients!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 17, 2014

more

August 17, 2014

I was laid off in January of 2014 and learned about People Helping People at a job fair. Their Program Structure has four phases: 1 - Employment Preparation, 2 - Mentoring, 3-Participation in an Employment Strategies Network, and Phase 4 - Membership to the Women's Professional Network.

This program is to help with not only finding a job, but also providing skills to keep a job and grow your career. I recommend it for any job seeker needing support during their job search or anyone who has a job but wants to get a better job. The tools, training, workshops, networking opportunities, coaching, and mentoring are just some of the benefits of the program. I also enjoyed making new friends along the way.

PHP's contact number is 801-583-5300, www.phputah.org.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Due to the design of the program, it takes several months to get all job search tools in place and a resume coaching. I found it helpful to attend the Work Success Program with the Workforce Services Unemployment Office as a supplement to this program since I was required to apply and interview for jobs and needed my resume up-to-date and prepare for interviewing for weekly job search requests for Unemployment benefits.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 14, 2014

more

August 14, 2014

As a former volunteer for People Helping People, I was able to witness first-hand the tremendous impact they have on their clients as well as the community. I hope to volunteer again in the future when time permits since I really believe in their mission. Not only do the participants become better educated, more self-sufficient, and confident, the community as a whole benefits when these individuals no longer rely on public assistance and consume these scarce resources.

It is so rewarding to see people become empowered and stronger and People Helping People truly helps accomplish this for so many!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 14, 2014

more

August 14, 2014

I have been volunteering with People Helping People for the last three years and I am as enthusiastic now about what they do for single moms and others who wish to better their lives through better employment as I was when I started. What they learn through People Helping People is how to look for, prepare for, and get and keep great jobs that turn into careers which help move them out of poverty and into self-reliance. The clients experience a tremendous increase in confidence and self-esteem and many say that they finally feel a great sense of worthiness that was missing prior to starting the program.

The organization is well established having started over 20 years ago so they really know their stuff. The program consistently produces outstanding results for the clients as long as they are willing to do the work. The leaders, mentors and other volunteers are truly caring and dedicated individuals who really want to see every client succeed and are willing to do whatever they need to to make sure that the clients are successful.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have no suggested changes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 14, 2014

more

August 14, 2014

I lost my job and I found them at Job Fair. I have been going to their meetings and getting a lot from them. I also see they help people not only to get a job, but teach how to get promotions to help the company along. They are very positive to be around.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing really.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 14, 2014

more

August 14, 2014

I came into this program a few weeks ago. I was let go from my job when management discovered I had applied outside the company for another position. I came to PHP with very few resources for job hunting, as I had never done that online before. I now have many resources available to me and if PHP doesn't have the resources to help me with certain problems, they direct me to who can. I have a new resume and so much more knowledge about my current position of unemployed than I would have had without their help. I am so much more empowered and effective in my job search than I would be otherwise. Job hunting can be tough on the ego, constant rejection takes it toll, even if you try not to take it personally. The encouragement to keep going is paramount to me, I don't feel like I am so alone out there. I love the Wednesday groups and workshops, as it keeps my spirits up and gives me useful information. I am nervous about interviewing, it has been many years since I have done that. However, I know that PHP will be there when the time comes, ready to help me with that process as well. They have offered resources in the area of attire proper for interviewing and mock interview to help me gloss over my termination. (Another area of concern for me during interviewing.) I cannot say what this program has done for me already, in the form of support and not feeling so lost in this world of technological job searching. I cannot believe the support of the volunteers and the contributions to help provide our workshop materials. Again, it is invaluable to me that I have this support and caring staff to help direct me through this. Starting over can be difficult at any age, but at age 50, this support is priceless to me. I would be so lost in this new technology without this help! I think I would also be very discouraged without my cheerleaders at PHP, they make me feel like I can do anything. I am very encouraged and proactive about job searching and I know I will find just the right job for me soon. If nothing else, I DO know that PHP will be there for me, helping me with whatever barriers are in my way. I love that this program exists to help those like myself with our dreams and goals. We all count and we all deserve to feel successful. Thanks to PHP, although I am unemployed, I am hopeful for my future. Of all the resources PHP has guided me to, hope has to be the most important one. I love People Helping People and hope to be able to volunteer and give back to this wonderful organization which is priceless to me right now. (Although I filled this out for the SLC, UT organization, I participate up in Ogden, at Cottages of Hope.) I

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Put one in every city and promote it to raise awareness!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

PHP is a wonderful organization that works to helps low-income women become gainfully employed. Through a series of workshops, resume writing, job market knowledge and employment preparation, the teach the skills necessary to enter the workforce and succeed.

I began working with PHP
several years ago and have been happy to attend Employer Meet N' Greet's, Reseume Coaching and take part in their Job Fairs.

PHP works with select employers that offer good jobs, benefits and a great culture. Here at Discover Financial Services we fit that profile. Because we offer full-time employment with full benefits available and 4 weeks paid time off per year, we are a great option for those re-entering the workforce.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't make any changes

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

assist with client outreach calls, assist with administrative duties, prepare client workshop materials, become a mentor or coach, become a workshop facilitator Volunteer