Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
1234.95
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
June 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I attended a Single Mothers Seminar hosted by People-Helping-People in March, 2013 and was really impressed by the organized event including a variety of employer vendors and the keynote speaker was such an inspiring business woman. Unemployed from my elementary school after a combined 9 years in mid February, 2013 I have been registered with state and church employment centers. Upon invitation and attending an overview meeting at People-Helping-People, I knew this resource was the best fit for me. They have many workshops that have helped me to understand the dynamics of my barriers and how I can create action plans to overcome those barriers. The coaching and mentoring programs help individual clients to know how much is needed in wages to break even, identifying hard and soft skills through a personal history and resume building. The volunteer mentors and coaches genuinely care for all clients to facilitate growth and hope. The programs offered along with Junior League give incentive for unemployed and employed women to receive a complete outfit or additional outfits for their working wardrobe to help make a great impression for the first interview or career advancement. I have learned how some of my behaviors regarding employment have slowed my success. With acknowledgement of those ineffective behaviors with support of the organization and caring volunteers, and administration I feel more empowered to create a better life for my family. My skills and educational degrees in elementary education and special education are being professionally showcased through resume building. My confidence has increased tremendously so that I will succeed in obtaining the dream job that I have worked so hard for the last ten years. My passion to teach visually impaired children has been realized by being accepted to the U of U Special Education department for visual impairment endorsement program. The hopeful reality of my dreams coming true are met with wonderful coaches and mentors. This organization empowers many women and they make a difference in our lives and our families. Thank goodness for a resource that custom fits to it's clients. I'm grateful to be part of an organization that is determined to make a difference.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Create a greater number of trained volunteers to keep up with the demand of clients.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I have been working with People Helping People for over 10 years because they truly make a difference in the lives of women. Through one-on-one mentoring, individual coaching sessions and employment workshops women learn the skills they need to become successful, not only on the job, but in life. The rewards of working with such diverse and amazing women cannot be measured and the positive impact this program has on the lives of families is invaluable.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find a way to get the information about the program to a broader population.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

People Helping People does a great job of inspiring women and helping them understand how to be successful in the work place.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I am the Director and Founder of WoW Utah. We are also a non profit who collaborates with People Helping People. We have had several woman who have been involved in the programs that People Helping People offer be nominated into WoW Utah. These women have had the most positive experiences in utilizing the tools that are offered to them through PHP.

Coming from PHP only enhances the continued rebuilding of their lives and journey that these women experience once they have become a part of WoW Utah.
The organization is a pleasure to work with and has the utmost integrity and is life changing to all those that are involved.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I've been working with PHP for just over 6 months and I am amazed at how useful this nonprofit is to the women of Northern Utah. As a college professor, I have had the opportunity to work with a number of organizations in the area, and PHP is one of the very best organizations with which I have had the opportunity to associate. I believe in its mission of helping single mothers as they seek gainful employment so that they can be self-sufficient members of the community. The organization helps clients identify the skills sets they have to offer employers, and provides comprehensive training through volunteers who are successful professionals. No one could do a better job for this organization than Marva Sadler who coordinates the program in Ogden. Marva is amazing in her interactions with the clients and the volunteers. I love volunteering my time because I know that it is a worthwhile cause, I love working with the clients, and I love my association with Marva. I've been volunteering for 6 months now, and I don't plan to stop. It's just a marvelous experience seeing the clients become more confident in their skills as they pursue their chosen careers. PHP is the best!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I have attended several workshops and have completed many levels toward getting employed making adaquate income thanks to People Helping People. I now valued myself I have a new appreciation regarding my self worth. I know I have many skills and they continue to bring out the best in me. I had many barriers to employment. They have helped me to help myself to break through many of them. Including, making me realize I should continue on my quest to get my college degree. I will complete my last class toward getting a college degree by December 2013.

I had lost site of my goals and visions. I had lost site of ever being able to get a job that valued all of my skills and employement experience. People helping people have helped me get back on track so that I will successfully be employed.

There are so many people looking for work today, but people helping people is a strong organization with strength that helps motivate it clients to realize that we will be in the number of employable people. Kayleen, Marva and all of the amazing staff of women who work in this organization work hard at helping Single Mothers to achieve their dreams, to reach higher, to be stronger, to not give up. People helping People staff are always available to help just pick up the phone and call them if they are not available when you call I can tell you they will call back as soon as possible to make sure that whatever it is that you need they have an answer for you.

Be strong they say, just have a plan and stick with it they say, you can do it they say, just take one level at a time. As I said in the beginning of this review I am now at the level of looking for employement after I complete this semester in school. I am confident that with all the help in networking, filling out applications, meeting with coaches, and attending all of the work shops every other Saturday and listening to the professional HR staff who volunteer their time to help us get ready for employement making adaquate income..... I am ready.

Thank You, People helping people for your support, I know I can not wait to be one of your success stories.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make changes to this organization, would not change a thing because they are always moving forward with new changes. They have an confident professional staff that serves the clients, donor, board members, advisors and gdeneral public needs.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

This is such a great organization that really helps women. It's not just lip service - this program really works. Great staff and volunteers that really care about the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I volunteer at people-helping-people. The organizaton helps single woman and their families get back on their feet and out of poverty. Women gain confidence to re-enter the workforce after losing a job or being left by their husband. They should make all women volunteer (including the young) so they realize the negative consequences of quitting their job or studies to raise a family. The organization teaches clients how to change their way of thinking, how much they need to earn, how to write a resume, how to interview, and how to land a job. I think it is a worthwhile organization and needed in our community. We even had a male client and it helped him too!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

The People Helping People program is truly inspired. I have witnessed many lives changed in the short 7 months that I have been a part of it. At each Awards Dinner, it is clear that the support and structure of PHP is helpful and meaningful. Helping women succeed in the workplace is an important goal for Utah! This not only help women financially, but it also increases their self-esteem and helps them realize their potential. I have grown immensely by participating in the program as a Volunteer in Service to America (VISTA).

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hire more staff as to provide this service to more of Utah!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

This is a wonderful non-profit organization that assists under-employed single mother gain insightful information to help them navigate the workforce jungle, and provides opportunities to human resource management of companies currently hiring. It helps these women gain self confidence and helps them become outstanding members of the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

assist with client outreach calls, assist with administrative duties, prepare client workshop materials, become a mentor or coach, become a workshop facilitator Volunteer