Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
87 Reviews
1234.356325
Write A Review
October 28, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I was a primary whistleblower for this travesty.

It started with finding a horse lamed by barbed wire, living knee deep in raw sewage, being underfed. He was further lamed by a rider 100 lbs. too heavy for his size, riding on gravel roads without shoes. His feet were overgrown to further
crippling levels. He lived in a junkyard of rusty machinery, with hazardous broken fencing. He had come up to Canada from People Helping Horses, two years previous. He had been tangled in barbed wire while on their watch.

I was appalled to find he had been adopted from a rescue. It was clear from his Success Story on PHH's website, they knew of the horrific conditions. This horse was further adopted to Society of Creative Anachronism "jousters." These complete amateurs were going to ride a lame horse with one blind eye, at full gallop in competitions.

When I met them, they were yahooing the horses around recklessly on concrete with sewer holes and on gravel. They did not have even the skills to lead a horse out of a stall, let alone ride. To get their animals in and out of stalls, they cracked whips and slammed doors and gates directly on their bodies. None of the tack fit. Halters, bridles, saddles; it was all so tight and badly cracked from lack of cleaning, the horses were being rubbed raw just from this.

In the two years since the horse had been adopted, PHH did no reference checks and no follow up visits. The adopter transported the horse herself from Arlington WA to BC. If PHH did any sort of adopter evaluation, they didn't care that these people had 0 experience or facilities for a horse. I quite frankly wouldn't keep a rat on their farm.

I began investigating PHH. I wondered how a "rescue" that garners over $1 million annually, could not rehab and monitor a horse such as this. I also wondered why they were rehoming only ten horses per year. I have rescued animals for decades, responsibly, and could rehab and rehome dozens for just one year's worth of PHH donations.

I took prolific photos and videos, and of course called the SPCA. With the help of other horse advocates, evidence went to the WA Attorney General. Witnesses from PHH came forward, as well.

This rescue deserved to be shut down. God willing, it will make people more cautious in future.

The poor horse was moved to a decent facility after SPCA intervention. Unfortunately, a similarly abused senior cat horribly died of neglect, despite my efforts to save his life.

To further highlight the nature of the "adopters": I am still being harassed by their friends. An entire network of people were yahooing on their horses, and protecting them in their abusive endeavours.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Celebrate that it has shut down. Caution people to visit local rescues, look at the books, visit past adopters, read the contracts. Please donate locally, to entities whom you know are using your money responsibly.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 26, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

December 26, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

In regard to the question of how much impact this organization has had-it has had quite a lot of negative impact on the horses in their care and on other rescues. Under the leadership of Gretchen Salstrom and her paid board of directors, this group milked the public concern for neglected horses for their own benefit. Not only have they taken money donated to the horses for their own use, every one of them bailed out on the horses when they realized they were no longer going to be paid. The horses did not receive the care they deserved and the PHH staff behavior cast suspicion on other rescues. These people should be very ashamed. This is a Great Nonprofit? This is an irresponsible group of thieves.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 13, 2012

more

May 13, 2012

People Helping Horses is a one of a kind organization! The care, treatment, and training the horses receive to ensure a healthy, happy, sound horse both mentally and physically is phenomenal! All horses are well cared for and meticulously kept. The management team is both approachable and professional. Being part of this well run and VERY needed program it, helps me to feel like I am doing my part and making a difference. Thank you for all you do!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

It sounds like almost all of the reviews on here are fake. Very disappointing. But very believable knowing what people can do these days. Like miss Gretchen. Good luck with karma. Horrible nonprofit organization. Needs to get a clue.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 15, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

This organization spent over $500,000 in 2010 on fundraising alone. Take a look at the financials of another horse rescue in the same area called SAFE (Save a Forgotten Equine) SAFE helped just as many horses as People Helping Horses last year but with an overall annual budget of less than $100,000. PHH is constantly begging for donations but they already have tons of money -- so much that they can spend enormous amounts on fundraising and salaries. If you want your donations to go to an organization that actually needs your help and will not waste it on expensive and excessive fundraising, I suggest you visit http://www.safehorses.org

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

read the financial statements posted on their own website and have been completely underwhelmed by the amount of actual work they have accomplished with all the money they have

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

suggest they start donating to other organizations because obviously they have far more than they need

July 10, 2010

more

July 10, 2010

In working with People Helping Horses in a marketing aspect, I came to understand this organization has great vision. The leadership of PHH is constantly innovating how best to help the horses and the people who want to give to them, and how to do that most effectively. Their care and desire for all involved, horse and human, goes way beyond basic care and feeding, they truly get a second chance at a wonderful life.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Gretchen and her team have had to deal with the economic downturn just like many other non-profits. With donations down they have gone to work advocating for the horses and are winning the fight. They will continue to do so with their supporters help.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers