Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
87 Reviews
1234.356325
Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review
October 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I was a primary whistleblower for this travesty.

It started with finding a horse lamed by barbed wire, living knee deep in raw sewage, being underfed. He was further lamed by a rider 100 lbs. too heavy for his size, riding on gravel roads without shoes. His feet were overgrown to further
crippling levels. He lived in a junkyard of rusty machinery, with hazardous broken fencing. He had come up to Canada from People Helping Horses, two years previous. He had been tangled in barbed wire while on their watch.

I was appalled to find he had been adopted from a rescue. It was clear from his Success Story on PHH's website, they knew of the horrific conditions. This horse was further adopted to Society of Creative Anachronism "jousters." These complete amateurs were going to ride a lame horse with one blind eye, at full gallop in competitions.

When I met them, they were yahooing the horses around recklessly on concrete with sewer holes and on gravel. They did not have even the skills to lead a horse out of a stall, let alone ride. To get their animals in and out of stalls, they cracked whips and slammed doors and gates directly on their bodies. None of the tack fit. Halters, bridles, saddles; it was all so tight and badly cracked from lack of cleaning, the horses were being rubbed raw just from this.

In the two years since the horse had been adopted, PHH did no reference checks and no follow up visits. The adopter transported the horse herself from Arlington WA to BC. If PHH did any sort of adopter evaluation, they didn't care that these people had 0 experience or facilities for a horse. I quite frankly wouldn't keep a rat on their farm.

I began investigating PHH. I wondered how a "rescue" that garners over $1 million annually, could not rehab and monitor a horse such as this. I also wondered why they were rehoming only ten horses per year. I have rescued animals for decades, responsibly, and could rehab and rehome dozens for just one year's worth of PHH donations.

I took prolific photos and videos, and of course called the SPCA. With the help of other horse advocates, evidence went to the WA Attorney General. Witnesses from PHH came forward, as well.

This rescue deserved to be shut down. God willing, it will make people more cautious in future.

The poor horse was moved to a decent facility after SPCA intervention. Unfortunately, a similarly abused senior cat horribly died of neglect, despite my efforts to save his life.

To further highlight the nature of the "adopters": I am still being harassed by their friends. An entire network of people were yahooing on their horses, and protecting them in their abusive endeavours.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Celebrate that it has shut down. Caution people to visit local rescues, look at the books, visit past adopters, read the contracts. Please donate locally, to entities whom you know are using your money responsibly.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 26, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

December 26, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

In regard to the question of how much impact this organization has had-it has had quite a lot of negative impact on the horses in their care and on other rescues. Under the leadership of Gretchen Salstrom and her paid board of directors, this group milked the public concern for neglected horses for their own benefit. Not only have they taken money donated to the horses for their own use, every one of them bailed out on the horses when they realized they were no longer going to be paid. The horses did not receive the care they deserved and the PHH staff behavior cast suspicion on other rescues. These people should be very ashamed. This is a Great Nonprofit? This is an irresponsible group of thieves.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 15, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

December 15, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

The group's executive director, Gretchen Salstrom, skimming off the top...nice!. But what nobody knew at the time was that Salstrom was under investigation by the state's Attorney General's office for allegedly misusing charity money.

"They were raising the money for therapeutic riding
programs for children when they terminated that part of the program," said Attorney General Rob McKenna.

The state accused Salstrom of using the money on her own horse breeding and dog breeding business. Now, the state, the charity and Salstrom have settled the case, but there are still some loose ends.

"So, she's not allowed to have a relationship with this charity, but she's not allowed to work for a non profit of any type for the next 10 years," McKenna said.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 15, 2012

more

December 15, 2012

I also am currently fostering one of the horses from PHH. Gretchen S. was not removed due to irregularities or lack of caring for the rescue horses.Get your facts straight! Rescue horses take months to get them back to a sub-normal state. I was physically at the PHH facility in Arlington each month May-August of 2012(this year) and visited the horses in their care. They all were being fed and cared for. The last group of rescues were so emaciated who knows if they ever will recover, not due to the lack of trying of volunteers from PHH. Spreading rumors is so easy versus telling the truth. We need to make sure we have all the facts correct before spreading rumors. Unfortunately do to lack of funds , I believe PHH will be closing its doors/stalls. I beleive there still may be 5 or less horses that need homes. Hopefully someone will come forward and give these horses a home. Contact PHH for more information.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

If you honestly believe that PHH under the direction of Gretchen Salstrom took outstanding care of horses then you have no idea what good equine management is. Gretchen was removed from PHH because of irregularities. After she was removed all horses were placed or fostered. I am fostering one of those horses and she was emaciated and dehydrated when I got her - and Gretchen had custody of the mare for about 4 months before I got her. There is no excuse for what was done to the horses in Gretchen's care. The mare I have is going to live but that certainly isn't a result of anything done by Gretchen Salstrom.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 10, 2012

more

August 10, 2012

I have been a volunteer since Feb., 2012. I have found this organization to be very caring and dedicated to the whole horse: body, mind and, yes, soul or spirit, however one wishes to define such an entity. PHH's heart is in the right place. I do think that The Board needs to be a Working Board and increased in number and filled with equine and financial people who are independently minded. I recommend this because it appears that there needs to be more planning, budgeting, fund raising and web site updating (advertising). All of that takes more resources, especially people, and a larger, working board could be of greater help to Gretchen. This woman has been doing this for 10 years and her depth of experience, combined with the backing of a Working Board, would raise this organization to the next level. All Creatures Great and Small

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The renewed health of the horses, the adoption of the horses to good homes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do as I said in my review: an expanded Working Board of independent equine and professional financial people who could better plan, budget, fund raise and advertise. They would help Gretchen take PHH to the next level. She needs to give up some control in order to accept some help to grow PHH and not be in budgetary crisis all the time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Hire a new Office Manager who knows something about horses and who is willing to work. For example, one that doesn't train new volunteers on grooming on the sickest of rain rot horses. One that doesn't tell (not ask, tell) her volunteers to do heavy, hard work when there is much to be done before an event and then does as little as possible herself. We volunteers resent it.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Loved learning new skills from the trainer and reaquainting myself with horses. Loved meeting new people and making friends.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Happy and fulfilled but frustrated tsometimes with the Office Manager.

June 23, 2012

more

June 23, 2012

I cannot believe that anyone could put a bad review about this organization. Shame on you! These people put their heart and souls into these horses. I adopted a horse from them and he is a joy. So much personality and what a fabulous ride! And, I still stay in contact with them. Anyone who is interested in this organization and their program should go check it out for yourself, you will NOT be let down, I promise.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 13, 2012

more

May 13, 2012

People Helping Horses is a one of a kind organization! The care, treatment, and training the horses receive to ensure a healthy, happy, sound horse both mentally and physically is phenomenal! All horses are well cared for and meticulously kept. The management team is both approachable and professional. Being part of this well run and VERY needed program it, helps me to feel like I am doing my part and making a difference. Thank you for all you do!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 12, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 12, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Wow, it’s sad to see such negativity from people who truly don’t understand what People Helping horses is all about. I have seen what then have done in the past 5 years in rescuing horses and I heard of the great comments of support and gratitude within the equine industry.

The economy
has hit everyone everywhere hared in which families are struggling jut to put food on the table. But some how People Helping Horse has managed to continue with their mission to educate people and show abuse horses that there still is love and compassion out who are willing to love and care for them. Even in some of the most difficult times, there are people out there that are still willing to sacrifice for these beautiful creatures that deserve so much more. People Helping Horses is stepping up and bring awareness of abuse and being the voice for these beautiful animals that don’t have one.

Thank you People Helping Horses, for your sacrifices and for your donors who continue to give and make a difference. From the bottom of my heart thank you. May God bless you all and your families?

For those who continue to slam People Helping Horse, I hope some day your hearts will be warm again and not have all that bottled up hate and rage for others and organizations who are trying to make a difference. As much as I feel sorry for you, I too wish you all of God Blessings on this holiday. For hate on hate does not create acceptance or love it just creates more hate and this world has enough of that already. With all that hate who ends up loosing in the long run? The horses that need us the most to save them. So I with People Helping Horses and all those negative people all the good blessing and fortunes for the coming New Year.

Be kind to others for we only have one shot in this life so let’s make it a good one.

Truly Yours

Spartacus

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Donating my time has helped me and the horses. I learn to love and understand what it's liked to be loved. God what a great feeling

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More organized structure, besides that they do a pretty good job as it is.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you learn about this organization?

Friends and in the equine industry

December 9, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 9, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered and worked with People Helping Horses for almost 3 years now, and have enjoyed every minute of it. The horses are amazing, as well as the staff, and especially the other volunteers. They have helped so many horses, and continue to help more and more each and every day. From volunteering I have learned so much about horses, and its also taught me about responsibilty. Overall PHH has changed my life for the better. And will continue to be in my life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers