Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
111 Reviews
12.85586345
| 1 ... 3 4 5 |
Write A Review
October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Thank goodness for PETA! Animals have the voice and protection they otherwise would not enjoy. PETA does immeasurable good for animals throughout the United States and the world. We are so blessed to have strong representation for those creatures unable to speak for themselves.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 11, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 11, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

PETA has no shelters and kills more animals than it saves! There is a move in Virginia where it is headquartered to have it declared a slaughterhouse, as it has killed more than 90% of the animals it has "rescued"! It's founder and CEO, Ingrid Newkirk has stated that no one should own pets and agrees with Wayne Pacelle of HSUS that she would not be upset if animals were to go extinct. Why would you give money to this organization?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have known this charity for years. They have done great work, all around the world, investigating and working against the abuse of all animals. I get regular action alerts from them to participate in anti-cruelty campaigns, such as signing petitions and sending e-mails to companies and organizations that abuse animals. They have also been helpful to me personally when I've had issues and concerns about animals that needed help. I had kittens outside my house a number of years ago. I had no experience with trapping, spaying the mothers, etc. Someone at PETA spoke with me on the phone concerning taking care of the ferals. She was very helpful with her advise. Another time I called PETA about glue traps for mice being used in my building. The PETA contact got the name and telephone number of the building manager from me, then called them, asking them to remove the traps. The PETA contact followed through with them a couple of times, and also stayed in touch with me so I could let them know the outcome. My point is, they not only investigate cruelty worldwide for all animals, and campaign against animal cruelty worldwide, they also help people on a local level who need help and advise with a local problem. I don't know of any other org that does this.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am not at all a supporter of this PeTA insanity. My question would be where is PeTA in the world when thousands of dogs and cats are consumed every year in China? I thought their mantra was we shouldn`t eat meat of any kind...dogs and cats are not meat? Where are they when dogs and treated horribly in insane ways by so many cultures around the world. Using them as sex toys is what I really mean especially in Europe. Where are they then? I guess dogs and cats are not animals to this org. and, therefore, do not need their protection. Until PeTA decides that all animals are worth saving, I will do my part to try to pull them and Ingrid down off their lofty peak of power. And, animal testing still goes on in US but this is using, once again, cats and dogs, as the subjects. There we go again...PeTA doesn`t care about this as they are not animals. Who died and told PeTA that they are the only ones who know what animals are.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 5, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

March 5, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

Ingrid herself has quotes stating she would like to phaseout (terminate-end-eradicate) the owning of animals. That means eventually she does not want anyone to own pets or have "companion animals". She has given false numbers, and even encourages the bombing of universities and labs. The Vice President uses Medication- medication that had to be tested on animals to develop it. She says she isn't a hypocrite, because she may need to sacrifice a few animals so she can stay alive an help the rest. Peta has been very rude to me, very rude to others, lies and slanders companies, has lost almost every lawsuit they have attempted and condones comparing the abuse of women or Jews during the Holocaust to chickens. Peta uses all $30 million of it's donated money each year for it's employees and crazy campaigns, and not for helping animals. They do not rescue, they take in thousands, and kill around 97%. These numbers aren't false, these things aren't untrue. I can give links and documentation to all of them. Peta truly believes animals are better off dead than as pets, because no one is deserving of them. Peta is a bit nuts in my opinion, and I will never in my life donate to a company who is so rude, misinformed, with so many mindless cut-like followers who steal money and lie to the public or at least bypass the truth. It's wrong.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Shut it down, or reteach the word "Ethical" and make sure all $30+ million went where it was supposed to go-to the animals.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

There seriously aggressive ad campaign

February 22, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

February 22, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I think people who are so quick to jump on the PETA bandwagon need to take a step back and look at this group through less jaded eyes. It sounds like such a sure fire group of wonderful people, guys who are in it for the sake of the animals and their rights. But when you look at it from a different light, there's a lot more sinister stuff going on in here. They are in full support of the entire elimination of all pit bull species, for starters. Now, I do understand the enigma that surrounds this breed, but for a group that so vehemently supports animal rights, where is the reasoning behind trying to eliminate one? In fact, if one looks into it, there hasn't been a group this extreme and disconnected with reality and the issues that need to be addressed for a long time. They harass people for drinking milk, they compare people who eat chicken to murderers. To the people that are sending out so much money in favor of this group, I strongly suggest you actually look into all of what they are involved in and how your money you are giving to them is being used. This is not the same group their tear jerking commercials seem to indicate

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

PETA has been instrumental in helping people understand how we interact with animals, and that all of our actions have consequences, sometimes incredibly harmful. They've not only taught me how to eat a healthier diet, but also taught me little steps I can take to make the world a better place for humans and animals alike. Despite all the negative press, PETA really does save animals -- you can't argue with that.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 25, 2012

more

January 25, 2012

PETA is such a tremendous asset in becoming more animal/environmentally friendly. Their resources have been so helpful, especially their vegetarian and vegan recipes as well as their cruelty free shopping guide. They provide me with informative facts that enable me to make more educated decisions that potentially and most of the times do affect animals. The staff in the Oakland office is ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!!! Their annual half marathon event is awesome, great way to make others aware of current animal issues and great way to mingle with other PETA members. I LOVE PETA!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 19, 2011
10 people found this review helpful

more

August 19, 2011
10 people found this review helpful

PETA thinks that no people should have companion animals. Not only do they think that most cats & dogs should be killed in shelters, but they have their volunteers go out and do just that.
Remember the situation last year where several members picked up live cats & dogs in North Carolina and
were caught stiuffing them into a dumpster after they killed them! (The shelter was told that PETA was interested in re-homing them.)

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Reading about the murder of innocents dogs & cats.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Just stick with promoting Vegetarianism, please!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

How did you learn about this organization?

Publicity they promote about themselves and newspaper & magazine articles, interviews with their leaders, etc..

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 26, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
May 26, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

PETA is one of several animal rights organizations that harasses my elderly mother-in-law with repeated fund-raising contacts. These organizations undoubtedly share names and addresses when they "smell blood in the water". They persist in contacting her for donations despite our repeated requests for them to stop.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

They sometimes respond back saying they will stop and that I should register with the Direct Marketing Association (which I already did over a year ago).

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Suggest that they not prey on the elderly in their fund-raising efforts.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers