Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
111 Reviews
12.85586345
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
May 29, 2014

more

May 29, 2014

PETA is not scared to be out there and expose, protest and draw attention to abusers. As a continual supporter, I receive their Animal Times magazine. This is very informative and showcases what they are working on, wins, works in progress, etc. Their goal is to end ALL animal abuse, whatever it might take. How can you not support this. Thanks PETA.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

PETA is a pretty bad charity. For some reason, they like to use the "scare" method of getting you involved. They make it difficult for anyone who tries to make a difference in this field. They at least deserve a major chunk of credit for bringing this issue to light, but they go about it the wrong way.

But, you know what? Screw them for preaching how important these animals are with ads like "You wouldn't eat your dog, why eat a turkey?" and then going around and killing off all these other animals. You know what, PETA? I was going to be more civil about this, but I don't see how putting effort and funds into making an attack on apparent "virtual animal cruelty" while you don't fund properly. Pretty much everyone know who PETA is; there's really not a need to preach anymore when they don't even care for the dogs they take in. I recently saw an interview on CBS with PETA involved and their reasons are sorry assed excuses: "We take in a lot of animals that are sick, aggressive or old that just can't be adopted out." But, really? My dog was aggressive, and just plain nasty when we adopted him, but with a bit of work, he's the best dog ever. He's loyal and all that. Who won't adopt old animals? I know hundreds of people that would! I've adopted a twelve year old dog who PETA would've put down just because she's old. She's the sweetest dog and I can't bear to stand that this spoof of a charity just puts dogs down because they're old. And if they're sick, here's a crazy idea, take them to the vet! Seriously, they have enough money to DO the work, they just find the problems in everyone else. FOR PETA, A TASTE OF YOUR OWN MEDICINE: "You wouldn't kill your grandmother, why kill older animals?"

If you're looking for a trustworthy charity for animals, try AWI or Farm Sanctuary. There, you actually help the animals rather than splattering paint on peoples' clothes.

And I'm sorry if I come off too harsh, but I'm holding back a lot more. This charity's a lemon. Go somewhere else with your money. If you would like more information on where I get these facts, just type in "PETA PROS & CONS" or "PETA KILLS ANIMALS". You're sure to find more than enough information.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

PETA is a multi-national animal rights organization focusing on the four main areas of animal exploitation where animals endure prolonged, abject suffering: the food industry, the clothing industry, biomedical research, and entertainment. They also recognize that animals are suffering in their own back yard, and they fund a small, dedicated staff of workers who get out and do something about it, every day of the week.

PETA's Community Animal Project workers get out and deliver food, shelter, warm bedding, and light-weight tie outs to animals in need. They provide transportation to and from veterinarian appointments for sick or injured owned animals, and PETA pays the fees. PETA owns and operates three mobile spay and neuter clinics that offer free and low-cost spay and neuter services to animals in their region. PETA has spayed and neutered almost 88,000 animals so far. PETA’s CAP program helps animals who have good homes, stay in those homes. They do more than anyone else in their community to keep animals from entering shelters in the first place.

And yes. PETA provides no-cost, veterinarian-supervised humane medical euthanasia to any animal in their community who requires it for a current crisis of illness, injury, or emotional devastation. This service is available to animals 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year, nights, weekends, and holidays. Every animal should have access to euthanasia when they are suffering, regardless of their owner's ability to pay. Because of PETA, animals in the greater Norfolk community do.

PETA isn't a traditional "shelter," so they limit their intake to animals who require medical euthanasia because they are suffering, and to adoptable animals who have nowhere else to go. PETA either finds homes for the adoptable animals they receive, or transfers them to a high-traffic, high-adoption facility in their community (I confirmed this, actually. They transfer adoptable animals to the Virginia Beach SPCA. I was able to verify this with the Virginia Beach SPCA).

I contacted the Virginia State Veterinarian to ask about PETA's practices. He stated during our interview that to the best of his recollection, his office has never received a complaint from anyone who has actually used PETA's services that PETA misrepresents themselves in any way. He also stated that the state does not have a problem with PETA limiting the scope of their services to mainly animals who require euthanasia.

Now, it's pretty easy to view these matters from the comfort of our computers and make judgments about things we know nothing about, but there is absolutely zero indication that the people who contact PETA to euthanize their animals are not acting in those animals' best interests. The fact that they are each required by law to sign a legal release stating that PETA may immediately euthanize their animal, not least of which.

http://www.whypetaeuthanizes.com/index.html

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I am so grateful for all that PETA have done with their campaigns. They do a great job of creating awareness about important issues & getting information out there to the public. I have made great use of PETA's list of cosmetics companies that do & do not test on animals, this has been so helpful in changing over to products that are 100% cruelty-free.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

April 8, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

I thought PETA was supposed to help animals. Yet, when my dog had broken his leg and I couldn't find a vet in the area that would perform that type of surgery, PETA turned me away without helping my find any resources. Is it ethical to leave a dog with a broken leg in pain because you can't be bothered to help the owner find resources? I think not! Way to go PETA.

To the IDIOT who responded to my review. First of all, had you have read my review correctly you would have seen that I did not need financial assistance nor was I expecting PETA to fix anything. I called them looking for resources since as I stated no vet in the area would perform that type of surgery. PETA DID turn me away without giving me so much as a name, phone number, or website for resources so don't tell me that my review "rings untrue". It may be policy to give a list of resources but policy was not followed during my experience and therefore my review stands. I had a horrible experience with PETA and because of it I think much less of the organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 16, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 16, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Making fun of video games is a crime and PETA. WILL. PAY. FOR. IT.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 15, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

December 15, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

Peta is a truly awful organization. They're just a bunch of fear mongers, attempting to use bad scare tactics, and bashing pop culture because not many sane people honestly agree with their sh** ethics. Also, ethical is a stupid f***ing word to use in their name, due to ethics and morals differing from person to person, and not being set in stone. I ignored this insanity up until the organization bashed Pokémon, which didn't make any sense. Considering Pokémon is a series about love, friendship, pulling through hard times, winning against all odds, forming friendship with unlikely creatures, and becoming a master in your respective field. If you're going to bash this, then what's next? Sly Cooper? Jak and Daxter? Maybe even the Varren fighting rink in Mass Effect 2. But, really. If you're reading this and going "It's just pop culture, no need to get your frilly stockings in a twist over that" Well, kind sir and or madam, my frilly stockings are in a continued twist; because if you're willing to twist Pokémon like that, then what is safe? ....Claiming animals need to be treated like humans, god, the f***'s wrong with you? Animals don't have the brain capacity to operate like humans do,and if they do, they don't seem to be showing it, they'll just do what they've always done, kill each other. It's survival of the fittest, and this organization somehow believe that animals suddenly deserve special treatment, I'm not even sure why. Is it possible for PETA and it's followers to get off their high horses for one f***ing minute and realize this is a really redundant cause? If humanities ancestors refused to kill, cook, eat, or wear animals then we'd have been wiped out centuries ago. Seriously, PETA is like some bad joke gone wrong.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 2, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

December 2, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

This is the most disgusting "animal rights charity" i've ever seen. They kill more than they help, and they are a joke compared to real animal charities.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 22, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

November 22, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

PeTA does not deserve even one star. For all what they cry about, they directly support animal cruelty by supporting breed specific legislation. If you think that ripping dogs away from their families isn't abuse, think again. This causes untold suffering both mentally as well as physically through months (and often years) of impoundment if the dogs aren't just killed outright. If you want to support animal organizations, look elsewhere (and skip HSUS as well).

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

They have millions of dollars in budget. Yet, they spend it on lame campaigns and their stupid time making video game parodies on Mario, Poke' Mon, Cooking with Mama, etc. Also, they like to euthanize a majority of cats and dogs. I know they have a page of why they euthanize, and show severely ill animals, but of course they're not gonna mention the healthy animals that get put down. Oh, but they protest against kill shelters, but what gives them the right to kill off the animals then? PETA is a bunch of BS. Go spend time on actually helping animals instead of throwing money away with garbage campaigns and stupid parody flash games that butcher peoples childhood.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers