People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals

Rating: 2.88 stars   112 reviews

Issues:

Location: 501 Front St Norfolk VA 23510 USA

Mission: People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals (PETA) is dedicated to establishing and protecting the rights of all animals. PETA operates under the simple principle that animals are not ours to eat, wear, experiment on, or use for entertainment. PETA focuses its attention on the four areas in which the largest numbers of animals suffer the most intensely for the longest periods of time: on factory farms, in laboratories, in the fur trade, and in the entertainment industry. PETA also work on a variety of other issues, including the cruel killing of beavers, birds and other "pests," and the abuse of backyard dogs. PETA works through public education, cruelty investigations, research, animal rescue, legislation, special events, celebrity involvement, and direct action.
Programs:   PETA receives complaints of cruelty to animals; works for the release of and obtains care for abused, neglected, and at-risk animals; investigates cruelty cases; gathers evidence of law violations; and takes action to ensure the enforcement of laws and regulations in an effort to protect the animals involved. Among other highlights of fiscal year 2009, we publicized the results of our undercover investigation into Ringling Bros. and Barnum & Bailey Circus, where we documented workers beating and whipping elephants dozens of times in venues across the country. PETA’s undercover investigation showing workers kicking, beating, jabbing, and slamming piglets against the floor at an Iowa Hormel supplier resulted in 22 criminal charges, and our undercover footage of workers stomping, kicking, throwing, and inhumanely killing turkeys at Aviagen's factory farms in West Virginia resulted in 19 indictments for cruelty—the first time in U.S. history that factory-farm employees have faced felony cruelty-to-animals charges for abusing birds. We also aided in bringing many other animal abusers to justice, including a New York State Thoroughbred breeder accused of starving and neglecting 177 horses, and two Texas men charged with shooting and killing a dog.

We were victorious in a lawsuit to stop the Georgia Department of Agriculture (GDA) from granting licenses to animal shelters that employ gas chambers, a cruel form of “euthanasia” used to kill cats and dogs, and were instrumental in having the Clay County Animal Control in Florida cited for performing an experiment in which a dog was left in a sweltering car to see if he would suffer from heatstroke. We worked with law enforcement officials to humanely euthanize a suffering “downed” cow; got help for 30 dogs who were being kept in mud-filled pens in South Carolina; and rescued a 140-year-old lobster who had been confined to a tank inside a New York City restaurant. We also operated our highly successful spay-and-neuter program, which makes surgeries available at little to no cost to disadvantaged animal guardians, preventing thousands of unwanted litters and providing relief to overburdened, government-run animal control offices and local animal shelters.

 

PETA conducts educational campaigns and publishes materials that are distributed to students, teachers, the general public, and supporters. Major publications include materials made available through our programs for younger children, high school and college students, and educators as well as publications such as factsheets, booklets, fliers, posters, and PETA’s magazine, Animal Times. Campaigns involve renowned celebrities, extensive media attention, interactive Web site features that reach millions of viewers, and public service announcements, which are typically placed for free in high-exposure outlets.

 

PETA organizes campaigns to inform the public about, among other things, how animals are abused in the food, clothing, experimentation, and entertainment industries. Among other events in fiscal year 2009, PETA pressured Bolivia to enact their first animal protection regulation against horrific military training exercises; convinced the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) to discontinue testing a sweetener derived from stevia on rats; prompted the Kentucky Horse Racing Commission (KHRC) to ban the use of anabolic steroids for all racehorses and "snapper" whips for harness racing;persuaded Zappos.com, JCPenney, and Urban Outfitters to go fur-free; persuaded the University of Connecticut Health Center, and a Florida medical conference to stop torturing and killing animals in outdated medical training e

Write a Review
Invite people to share their experience with this nonprofit!

Promote This Nonprofit

GreatNonprofits badges allow you to raise awareness of your favorite nonprofits on your own web sites!

Review this charity on
GreatNonprofits

Community Reviews

profile
Role: General Member of the Public
Rating: 5 stars  

5 people found this review helpful

PETA has a bad reputation when it comes to rumors, such as their animal shelter, but you have to consider that they are involved with rescues involving animals in the greatest form of neglect and cruelty. The animals that they can save they do, but most of the animals they rescue from horrible cruelty cases are simply too far gone, and it's better to alleviate the pain, than have an animal endure it just for the small possibility survival. They do great work with getting petitions going, unearthing cruelty to animals, and getting the job done. Although they are international, meaning the money you donate will also go to the people working there, it will also go to helping animals and fighting cruelty!

Was this review helpful? 
Rating: 5 stars  

2 people found this review helpful

PETA is not scared to be out there and expose, protest and draw attention to abusers. As a continual supporter, I receive their Animal Times magazine. This is very informative and showcases what they are working on, wins, works in progress, etc. Their goal is to end ALL animal abuse, whatever it might take. How can you not support this. Thanks PETA.

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Was this review helpful? 
Rating: 1 stars  

6 people found this review helpful

PETA is a pretty bad charity. For some reason, they like to use the "scare" method of getting you involved. They make it difficult for anyone who tries to make a difference in this field. They at least deserve a major chunk of credit for bringing this issue to light, but they go about it the wrong way.

But, you know what? Screw them for preaching how important these animals are with ads like "You wouldn't eat your dog, why eat a turkey?" and then going around and killing off all these other animals. You know what, PETA? I was going to be more civil about this, but I don't see how putting effort and funds into making an attack on apparent "virtual animal cruelty" while you don't fund properly. Pretty much everyone know who PETA is; there's really not a need to preach anymore when they don't even care for the dogs they take in. I recently saw an interview on CBS with PETA involved and their reasons are sorry assed excuses: "We take in a lot of animals that are sick, aggressive or old that just can't be adopted out." But, really? My dog was aggressive, and just plain nasty when we adopted him, but with a bit of work, he's the best dog ever. He's loyal and all that. Who won't adopt old animals? I know hundreds of people that would! I've adopted a twelve year old dog who PETA would've put down just because she's old. She's the sweetest dog and I can't bear to stand that this spoof of a charity just puts dogs down because they're old. And if they're sick, here's a crazy idea, take them to the vet! Seriously, they have enough money to DO the work, they just find the problems in everyone else. FOR PETA, A TASTE OF YOUR OWN MEDICINE: "You wouldn't kill your grandmother, why kill older animals?"

If you're looking for a trustworthy charity for animals, try AWI or Farm Sanctuary. There, you actually help the animals rather than splattering paint on peoples' clothes.

And I'm sorry if I come off too harsh, but I'm holding back a lot more. This charity's a lemon. Go somewhere else with your money. If you would like more information on where I get these facts, just type in "PETA PROS & CONS" or "PETA KILLS ANIMALS". You're sure to find more than enough information.

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Was this review helpful? 

PETA's creative ads counter massive industry advertising that promotes consumption of flesh from animals raised in cruel factory farms. PETA is simply asking that people think about the roles their eating habits play. We can all help reduce the amount of pain and suffering in this world by going vegetarian. Please visit http://www.PETA.org/issues/Animals-Used-For-Food/default.aspx for a free vegetarian starter kit for yourself or a friend. Clearly, you don't volunteer with a local open-admission shelter. Millions of homeless animals are euthanized in animal shelters and veterinary offices across America because of simple math: too many animals, not enough suitable homes. As many as 8 million animals flood U.S. animal shelters annually, and half of them must be euthanized. Even if those 8 million animals could be placed with loving families, there would be 8 million more the next year and the year after that. To read about what PETA is doing to help unwanted animals in their own backyard and why they must euthanize some animals, please go to http://www.huffingtonpost.com/ingrid-newkirk/euthanasia-we-wont-run-fr_b_3036311.html, and visit the following links: • http://www.PETA.org/b/thepetafiles/archive/2012/02/20/a-gentle-hand-for-the-toughest-cases.aspx • http://www.PETA.org/b/thepetafiles/archive/2012/02/17/meet-some-of-the-animals-peta-helped-in-2011.aspx • http://www.PETA.org/b/thepetafiles/archive/2012/02/16/pepper-s-story-justice-for-a-forgotten-victim.aspx • http://www.PETA.org/b/thepetafiles/archive/2011/02/03/an-open-door-for-animals-in-need.aspx • http://www.PETA.org/b/thepetafiles/archive/2011/02/01/the-stories-behind-the-statistics.aspx • http://www.PETA.org/b/thepetafiles/archive/2010/02/11/will-you-nip-just-one-birthing-machine-in-the-bud.aspx •http://www.PETA.org/b/thepetafiles/archive/2010/02/12/placing-the-blame-where-it-belongs.aspx As for the websites you cite, a lot of the misleading and outright false rumors that are spread concerning our efforts are the work of the deceitfully named “Center for Consumer Freedom” (CCF), a front group for Philip Morris, Outback Steakhouse, KFC, cattle ranchers, and other animal exploiters who kill millions of animals every year—not out of compassion, but out of greed. To learn more about CCF—whose website USA Today said should be renamed “FatforProfit.com”—please see the following websites: • http://www.ConsumerDeception.com • http://www.citizensforethics.org/legal-filings/entry/irs-complaint-against-center-for-consumer-freedom-tax-exempt • http://prospect.org/article/bermans-battle • http://www.nytimes.com/2010/06/18/us/politics/18berman.html?adxnnl=1&pagewanted=all&adxnnlx=1310490040-rGzoElznpxXMPZtmzw6L2g • http://bermanexposed.org/facts#consumerfreedom

Rating: 5 stars  

2 people found this review helpful

PETA is a multi-national animal rights organization focusing on the four main areas of animal exploitation where animals endure prolonged, abject suffering: the food industry, the clothing industry, biomedical research, and entertainment. They also recognize that animals are suffering in their own back yard, and they fund a small, dedicated staff of workers who get out and do something about it, every day of the week.

PETA's Community Animal Project workers get out and deliver food, shelter, warm bedding, and light-weight tie outs to animals in need. They provide transportation to and from veterinarian appointments for sick or injured owned animals, and PETA pays the fees. PETA owns and operates three mobile spay and neuter clinics that offer free and low-cost spay and neuter services to animals in their region. PETA has spayed and neutered almost 88,000 animals so far. PETA’s CAP program helps animals who have good homes, stay in those homes. They do more than anyone else in their community to keep animals from entering shelters in the first place.

And yes. PETA provides no-cost, veterinarian-supervised humane medical euthanasia to any animal in their community who requires it for a current crisis of illness, injury, or emotional devastation. This service is available to animals 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year, nights, weekends, and holidays. Every animal should have access to euthanasia when they are suffering, regardless of their owner's ability to pay. Because of PETA, animals in the greater Norfolk community do.

PETA isn't a traditional "shelter," so they limit their intake to animals who require medical euthanasia because they are suffering, and to adoptable animals who have nowhere else to go. PETA either finds homes for the adoptable animals they receive, or transfers them to a high-traffic, high-adoption facility in their community (I confirmed this, actually. They transfer adoptable animals to the Virginia Beach SPCA. I was able to verify this with the Virginia Beach SPCA).

I contacted the Virginia State Veterinarian to ask about PETA's practices. He stated during our interview that to the best of his recollection, his office has never received a complaint from anyone who has actually used PETA's services that PETA misrepresents themselves in any way. He also stated that the state does not have a problem with PETA limiting the scope of their services to mainly animals who require euthanasia.

Now, it's pretty easy to view these matters from the comfort of our computers and make judgments about things we know nothing about, but there is absolutely zero indication that the people who contact PETA to euthanize their animals are not acting in those animals' best interests. The fact that they are each required by law to sign a legal release stating that PETA may immediately euthanize their animal, not least of which.

http://www.whypetaeuthanizes.com/index.html

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Was this review helpful? 
Rating: 5 stars  

2 people found this review helpful

I am so grateful for all that PETA have done with their campaigns. They do a great job of creating awareness about important issues & getting information out there to the public. I have made great use of PETA's list of cosmetics companies that do & do not test on animals, this has been so helpful in changing over to products that are 100% cruelty-free.

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Was this review helpful? 
Review from CharityNavigator
Rating: 1 stars  

5 people found this review helpful

I thought PETA was supposed to help animals. Yet, when my dog had broken his leg and I couldn't find a vet in the area that would perform that type of surgery, PETA turned me away without helping my find any resources. Is it ethical to leave a dog with a broken leg in pain because you can't be bothered to help the owner find resources? I think not! Way to go PETA.

To the IDIOT who responded to my review. First of all, had you have read my review correctly you would have seen that I did not need financial assistance nor was I expecting PETA to fix anything. I called them looking for resources since as I stated no vet in the area would perform that type of surgery. PETA DID turn me away without giving me so much as a name, phone number, or website for resources so don't tell me that my review "rings untrue". It may be policy to give a list of resources but policy was not followed during my experience and therefore my review stands. I had a horrible experience with PETA and because of it I think much less of the organization.

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Was this review helpful? 

Your comment doesn't ring true since it would be against PETA policy to respond to this matter as you claim. At a minimum, you would have receieved a response similar to this one that was provided to a person in need recently: "I’m sure you’ll understand that we frequently get requests of this sort. Unfortunately, because PETA is a nonprofit organization that works to help as many animals as possible, we simply don’t have the means to provide financial assistance for every animal in need of costly veterinary care. However, some organizations do provide this sort of assistance. The following is a list of some such organizations. Please keep in mind that each organization is independent and has their own set of rules and guidelines. Therefore you will have to investigate each one separately to determine if you qualify for assistance: IMOM Inc., IMOM.org http://imom.org/ Help-A-Pet, help-a-pet.org http://help-a-pet.org/ The Pet Fund, thepetfund.com http://thepetfund.com/ Angels for Animals, angels4animals.org http://angels4animals.org/ Brown Dog Foundation, browndogfoundation.org/home http://www.browndogfoundation.org/home Feline Veterinary Emergency Assistance Program, fveap.org http://fveap.org/sys-tmpl/door/ Feline Outreach, felineoutreach.org http://felineoutreach.org/ Cats In Crisis, catsincrisis.org http://catsincrisis.org/ The Perseus Foundation (Cancer specific), PerseusFoundation.org http://theperseusfoundation.org/ Canine Cancer Awareness, caninecancerawareness.org http://caninecancerawareness.org/ Cody's Club (Radiation treatments), codysclub.bravehost.com/ http://codysclub.bravehost.com/ Diabetic Pets Fund, petdiabetes.net/fund/ http://www.petdiabetes.net/fund/ The Mosby Foundation, themosbyfoundation.org http://themosbyfoundation.org/ Magic Bullet Fund (Cancer Specific), themagicbulletfund.org http://themagicbulletfund.org/ The Binky Foundation, binkyfoundation.org http://binkyfoundation.org/ God's Creatures Ministry Veterinary Charity, http://www.all-creatures.org/gcm/help-cf.html Please also try asking your local humane society about programs in your area that may be able to help you. Also, ask your vet about the CareCredit program (http://www.carecredit.com/practices/veterinary/), which is like a credit card for vet bills that charges no interest so long as you make your payments on time and pay the card off within a set timeframe." But please consider this: caring for a dog adequately is incredibly expensive. They require food, routine vet care, vaccinations, spay/neuter surgery, flea and heartworm preventative (every month), not to mention toys and other things that will enrich their mental state. If you aren’t able to afford China’s first vet visit, how will you provide for her other needs? The bills are bound to pile up over the years (having a dog is a commitment of up to 15-20 years, depending on their lifespan). Additionally, you’ll be in trouble (and so will China) when she inevitably becomes sick or injured. Sadly, there is no such thing as free vet care. We hear from numerous people who are turned away from vets when they can’t afford the life-saving treatment their animals require. We hope that you did find support and didn't allow your dog to suffer without veterinary care. PETA does provide free and low-cost spay-neuter services in an area where the homeless animal problem is severe; see http://www.peta.org/b/thepetafiles/archive/2013/04/02/month-for-the-record-books.aspx

Rating: 1 stars  

3 people found this review helpful

Making fun of video games is a crime and PETA. WILL. PAY. FOR. IT.

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Was this review helpful? 
profile
Role: General Member of the Public
Rating: 1 stars  

6 people found this review helpful

Peta is a truly awful organization. They're just a bunch of fear mongers, attempting to use bad scare tactics, and bashing pop culture because not many sane people honestly agree with their sh** ethics. Also, ethical is a stupid f***ing word to use in their name, due to ethics and morals differing from person to person, and not being set in stone. I ignored this insanity up until the organization bashed Pokémon, which didn't make any sense. Considering Pokémon is a series about love, friendship, pulling through hard times, winning against all odds, forming friendship with unlikely creatures, and becoming a master in your respective field. If you're going to bash this, then what's next? Sly Cooper? Jak and Daxter? Maybe even the Varren fighting rink in Mass Effect 2. But, really. If you're reading this and going "It's just pop culture, no need to get your frilly stockings in a twist over that" Well, kind sir and or madam, my frilly stockings are in a continued twist; because if you're willing to twist Pokémon like that, then what is safe? ....Claiming animals need to be treated like humans, god, the f***'s wrong with you? Animals don't have the brain capacity to operate like humans do,and if they do, they don't seem to be showing it, they'll just do what they've always done, kill each other. It's survival of the fittest, and this organization somehow believe that animals suddenly deserve special treatment, I'm not even sure why. Is it possible for PETA and it's followers to get off their high horses for one f***ing minute and realize this is a really redundant cause? If humanities ancestors refused to kill, cook, eat, or wear animals then we'd have been wiped out centuries ago. Seriously, PETA is like some bad joke gone wrong.

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Was this review helpful? 
Rating: 1 stars  

3 people found this review helpful

This is the most disgusting "animal rights charity" i've ever seen. They kill more than they help, and they are a joke compared to real animal charities.

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Was this review helpful? 
Rating: 1 stars  

4 people found this review helpful

PeTA does not deserve even one star. For all what they cry about, they directly support animal cruelty by supporting breed specific legislation. If you think that ripping dogs away from their families isn't abuse, think again. This causes untold suffering both mentally as well as physically through months (and often years) of impoundment if the dogs aren't just killed outright. If you want to support animal organizations, look elsewhere (and skip HSUS as well).

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Was this review helpful?