Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
111 Reviews
12.85586345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
March 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As usual, PETA took the lead in throwing up the curtain on something most organizations pay little attention to: the cruel horse racing industry. Over a period of months, a PETA investigator worked at two of the most well-known racetracks in America: Churchill Downs in Louisville (home of the Kentucky Derby) and the Saratoga Race Course in New York. PETA's investigator worked for Steve Asmussen, who has won more races in the last decade than any other U.S. trainer.

The investigator documented that horses are given an aggressive, daily regimen of pain-masking drugs and treatments -- not for genuinely therapeutic purposes, but keep horses running when they should be resting or healing.

Horses in the racing industry are so routinely doped up that they have been labeled "chemical horses," and their feet, bones, and bodies are progressively destroyed as a result.

What makes this so important is that in general, the public pays no attention to the abuses going on in racing. If anything, people may note who wins one of the "big" races, i.e. the Kentucky Derby. But while the public yawns, horses are suffering and dying. Investigations like this one really do make people sit up and take notice, and very likely decide not to place a two-buck bet on a race.

If you care about horses, spread the word to those who still may think it's an innocuous pastime. Ask them not to attend the track or place a bet.
March 10, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

March 10, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

Unlike the Humane Society of the United States, PETA does run an “animal shelter” at its headquarters. And PETA kills the vast majority of cats and dogs in its care at this shelter—about 90 percent, or 1,647 cats and dogs, in 2012 and about 30,000 animals since 1998.

PeTA does not save
animals. They take your money and kill animals, and work to eliminate pet ownership and eating meat.

PeTA is not what it seems. Get the facts.
December 27, 2013

more

December 27, 2013

I don't always support PETA on every issue but I do support them as a whole. I'm so very happy they tried to stop the inhumane "Possum Drop" in North Carolina. The law and evidence were on their side but they lost the case because of corruption in the local courts. I also support Meatless-Mondays and their support of veganism.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 21, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

March 21, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Repeatedly across the nation, PETA has terrorized animal shelters for euthanizing sick and unwanted pets. PETA takes in these animals and euthanizes 90% of them while denying their own continuous hypocrisy.

They use violence to get their way. They actively teach people and students in
seminars how to make bombs to destroy the organizations they wish to target. As crazy as it sounds, it's unfortunately happening all the time with this organization. On top of all this, their hypocrisy takes the cake. You'll often see a higher up using an animal product that they actively condone the use of.

This organization is disgusting by any standard, and you have to be a fool to become one of their loud, annoying, obsessive sheep.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 3, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

March 3, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Euthanization is NOT the answer here, I have read many reviews in this section having to do with this controversial topic. I still fail to see why PETA considers this a solution. I currently lead one of the most followed anti-peta pages on facebook, and operate another website on the topic. I will not mention the pages names. PETA preaches fairness and freedom for animals, but has hundreds of thousands put down. They play it off as euthanization when, in fact, it is in cold blood. They tell the public that they do it only in extreme cases when the animal is sick, or when the animal is "unadoptable." The truth behind this is that PETA lies to save face. Many of the animals are put down because (and I am quoting a Peta Rep here) "[they] simply do not have the funds to keep so many animals alive and healthy." Many of the animals brought to PETA are even killed within 24 hours of them arriving at their shelter. In fact, in the year 2008 peta's adopt/kill ratio was about 2000:1. This is an awful organization, and I want to spread the word. Your money is in much better hands if you were to donate to WSPA.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Well with the experience I have had with PETA I can say that this organization in really all together a scam for the masses they claim to help animals but on the other hand they kill well over 90% of the animals they rescue. Not only does PETA Kill animals but it come and attacks all the games that we grew up with as children and attacks them from Mario, Cooking Mama, and Pokemon they call these evil games. This is something I can not stand for

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

PeTA killed over 95% of the healthy adoptable animals taken into custody for the purpose of adoption last year. They have the highest kill rate in the entire nation. PeTA supports BSL and pit bull extermination. They support the extinction of cats and dogs and they fight against programs that would end the killing and the abuse in shelters. They support domestic terrorism and have given funds to know terrorist organizations. PeTA has been caught staging videos and evidence. They have been caught stealing animals and lying to pet owners, shelter workers, and veterinarian practices to get animals under false pretenses with the claim of finding them new homes, only to turn around and killed them in that very persons parkinglot and dump the bodies in a store dumpster illegaly. They are anything but ethical. They are a disgrace to the animal rights movement. Their own founder, Ingrid Newkirk has even stated that PeTA does not advocate for an animals right to life. The right to life is the single most basic and important of rights. Without the right to live, all other rights are meaningless. PeTA is NOT an animal rights organization by definition. They noting but a money scam.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 18, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 18, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I have worked in the animal welfare field for seveteen years. PETA has a very low reputation among animal advocates. Rather than respecting the "rights" of animals to live and enjoy a life free from pain and suffering, PETA endorses killing companion animals, calling it "humane". They advocate a vegan diet for animals such as cats, which are obligate carnivores. PETA doesn't believe people should be allowed to "enslave" cats and dogs. Their agenda is extreme and it reflects poorly on others in the animal welfare field. The worst offense is that they continue to take money from unsuspecting donors who believe they are helping animals.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 25, 2012

more

January 25, 2012

PETA has been instrumental to my education as an animal activist. When I first began to realize about the importance of eating a vegetarian diet and trying to find ways to live a cruelty life, PETA was there for me providing information and support. Their presence has been a Godsend not only for me but to the the entire animal kingdom who rests better because of their existence in the world.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

Although PETA's intentions may be good, I feel that their abrasive techniques of raising awareness actually do more harm than good to those of us working in the animal welfare world. I've had people ask me if I'm one of those "crazy PETA people" because that is all they know of animal welfare. It's my opinion that PETA not only alienates the general public by its forceful, guilt-ridden tactics, but it also polarizes people in animal welfare when we should all be working together.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I am a VA resident and therefore am acutely aware of PETA's presence.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Reduce the level of guilt-ridden, accusitory, over zealous informational, action, and ad campaigning.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers