Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
111 Reviews
12.85586345
| 1 2 3 4 |
Write A Review
October 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
October 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This is honestly one of the greates organizations to bring awareness to animal rights. In the last two year I have learned more about animal rights then I have with any other organization. They have helped me become vegan, an animal rights activist and educated in everything that is animal rights. I love this organization and all the work they do for animals and I suggest everyone to do the same. Please, keep up the good work and keep saving lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

PETA have made many people aware of cruelty to animals that does not always get publicity and that people are not aware of. Circus animals, which should be banned anyway, zoo animals and the poor hidden animal victims of the cosmetic industry. They give you the facts, pictures and stories and you can make up your own mind. Nothing they ask of you is unreasonable, all at your own pace and at what you can afford. Please support them in supporting the animals that need help so much.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
May 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

PETA does what others won't. They put aniamls first. If you want your money to do to helping animals then you want to donate to PETA. Just looked at what the PETA head makes. She only makes 37K. I've left PETA in my will.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

PETA is both an incredible and vital organization that I’ am truly grateful for becoming a part of. Not only are they one of the most resourceful animal rights organizations out there but does an excellent job of educating the general public on how to make more conscious decisions and bringing awareness about the harm being done to animals! They go above and beyond from research to undercover investigations, THANK YOU PETA!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 25, 2012

more

January 25, 2012

I first learned of PETA when I was around 8 years old and went vegetarian. At that time, PETA was really the only good resource out there. With PETA resources at my fingertips as I grew up, I have been able to grow into a full-fledged animal advocate involved in everything from leafleting to letter writing to protesting to fundraising and more! I am grateful to PETA for being the loudest voice out there for animals, and am proud to call myself a supporter.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 13, 2012

more

January 13, 2012

I have been volunteering for PETA for over two years. They are a great organization, and I have loved every minute. My favorite events have been the Ringling Brother's protests and participating in the Pride Parade. The monthly meetings on the 3rd Sunday in the Oakland office are always informative and fun...and a great chance to taste new vegan treats! Go PETA!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Love them or hate them, they save animals & that is what is important. Every organization and person has different methods & we are not always going to agree with them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've been volunteering with PETA for over 5 years. This includes demonstrations, letter writing campaigns, veg outreach, vegan food giveaways, festival tabling, running a Half Marathon to raise funds for PETA's Investigations and Rescue Fund and marching with the PETA Veg Contingent in the SF Pride Parade. While some people may not approve of PETA's tactics, they are incredibly effective. No other organization has been as successful in bringing out change as PETA has. It has been an honor to volunteer for PETA and I am also proud to be a PETA donor/supporter. Whenever I'm asked to volunteer at an event for PETA, I always say, without hesitation, "anything for PETA". I truly mean that. Angry Bird Costume? You got it! Lettuce Suit? No problem! Handing out Veg Starter Kits at a busy farmers' market? Count me in! I look forward to future volunteer opportunities with this incredible organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 2, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 2, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

I am appalled by PETA's policies and their methods.

PETA targets children for their campaigns, often ambushing them outside of schools with violent images that are not age-appropriate. They drive a wedge between children and their families with campaigns such as their "Mama kills" game
and their "Daddy kills" comic book. This comic states that a father who fishes will torture the family dog. It is confusing and even utterly terrifying to a child.
http://features.peta.org/CookingMama/Index.asp
http://www.peta.org/features/your-daddy-kills-animals.aspx

In addition, PETA doesn't provide nutritional information to children who choose veganism after being traumatized by materials presented to them. Certain vitamins and amino acids can only be found in red meat. Reducing the amount of red meat consumed will have an profound positive effect on the environment, but total elimination of proteins, B12, Omega-3 EFAs and taurine can and does have deletorious effects including muscle wasting, mood and attention disorders, and cardiomyopathy. Attempts by the parents to supplement the child's diet are met with suspicion and only widen the rift.

PETA has many policies that are contradictory. While loudly protesting the annual Canadian slaughter of 70,000 harp seals or 1,400 whales every year, founder Ingrid Newkirk advocates killing up to 6M - millions! - of pets a year. PETA is actively fighting to enforce Pit Bull bans, to stop Trap-Neuter-Release of feral cats, and even has gone as far as equating No-Kill animal shelters with animal hoarders.

PETA's agenda is three-fold and very specific. First, they advocate saving homeless pets from what is supposedly a wretched existence in the wild. Then they advocate killing pets who find their way into shelters. And finally they state that pets should be "phased out" in order to return them to their wild state. The effect of this deadly trinity will be to eliminate any animals within human reach altogether.

I regret every hour I spent volunteering with PETA, every dime I donated, and every lost pet harmed in order to reserve funds for the ghoulish publicity stunts I funded. Those stunts cost 15% of PETA's budget and do little more than traumatize children and bringing in more donations.
http://www.examiner.com/pets-in-kansas-city/peta-targets-our-children-with-violent-images

Please, if you want to protect animals, volunteer or donate to a local no-kill shelter.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

discovering that euthanized pets are sold to rendering plant where they can be made into pet food. Platte Valley Pet Food Company is a prime example of this. http://www.macraesbluebook.com/search/product_company_list.cfm?prod_code=9011918

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Eliminate the gory publicity stunts, remove any member who has killed an animal themselves, and prevent damage to the health of the children who become involved with PETA. I would also remove any member who puts themselves in harm's way and any member who supports terrorism.

March 9, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 9, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

Once upon a time I had a great deal of respect for PETA. I now am appalled by their support of BSL and attempts to ban and annhilate pit bulls. Punish the deed, not the breed and hold the irresponsible, cruel and abusive owners accountable for what they do.

Eradicating a breed doesn't do
anything. Those horrific individuals who abuse the bullies would then only find another breed to expolit. One would assume the folks at PETA would understand this.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Their participation in backing BSL in my state and city.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Re=open thier minds. We are all opposed to animal cruelty. Holding the dog responsible for what a human does to it is not the correct way to stop it.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers