Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
110 Reviews
12.83636345
| 1 ... 8 9 1011 |
Write A Review
January 25, 2012

more

January 25, 2012

PETA is such a tremendous asset in becoming more animal/environmentally friendly. Their resources have been so helpful, especially their vegetarian and vegan recipes as well as their cruelty free shopping guide. They provide me with informative facts that enable me to make more educated decisions that potentially and most of the times do affect animals. The staff in the Oakland office is ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!!! Their annual half marathon event is awesome, great way to make others aware of current animal issues and great way to mingle with other PETA members. I LOVE PETA!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 25, 2012

more

January 25, 2012

I first learned of PETA when I was around 8 years old and went vegetarian. At that time, PETA was really the only good resource out there. With PETA resources at my fingertips as I grew up, I have been able to grow into a full-fledged animal advocate involved in everything from leafleting to letter writing to protesting to fundraising and more! I am grateful to PETA for being the loudest voice out there for animals, and am proud to call myself a supporter.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 13, 2012

more

January 13, 2012

I have been volunteering for PETA for over two years. They are a great organization, and I have loved every minute. My favorite events have been the Ringling Brother's protests and participating in the Pride Parade. The monthly meetings on the 3rd Sunday in the Oakland office are always informative and fun...and a great chance to taste new vegan treats! Go PETA!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Love them or hate them, they save animals & that is what is important. Every organization and person has different methods & we are not always going to agree with them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've been volunteering with PETA for over 5 years. This includes demonstrations, letter writing campaigns, veg outreach, vegan food giveaways, festival tabling, running a Half Marathon to raise funds for PETA's Investigations and Rescue Fund and marching with the PETA Veg Contingent in the SF Pride Parade. While some people may not approve of PETA's tactics, they are incredibly effective. No other organization has been as successful in bringing out change as PETA has. It has been an honor to volunteer for PETA and I am also proud to be a PETA donor/supporter. Whenever I'm asked to volunteer at an event for PETA, I always say, without hesitation, "anything for PETA". I truly mean that. Angry Bird Costume? You got it! Lettuce Suit? No problem! Handing out Veg Starter Kits at a busy farmers' market? Count me in! I look forward to future volunteer opportunities with this incredible organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2011

I do take offemse to some of their advertising methods, but I agree with their mission. Such a vital organization!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 28, 2011

PETA is the only animal rights organization that is ending the use of animals in laboratories. Other organizations that I have donated to int he past that want to end animal research are simply uneffective, and unable to find creative ways to stop this form of animal abuse. PETA puts undercover investigators into these horrendous labs and is able to prosecute and sometimes, like last year, were able to close one down entirely. If ending the use of animals in testing and research matters to you, then PETA is the organization that DESERVES your hard-earned dollars.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

showing what goes on inside a laboratory these days is very difficult due to the high security but PETA does it and brilliantly educated the rest of us as to the horrors that take place and why animal research must end.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Spend less effort on companion animal issues that so many other animal organizations exclusively focus on and do more of what PETA does best: end animal research, continue the focus of circus cruelty, and end animal intensive farming.

August 19, 2011
10 people found this review helpful

more

August 19, 2011
10 people found this review helpful

PETA thinks that no people should have companion animals. Not only do they think that most cats & dogs should be killed in shelters, but they have their volunteers go out and do just that.
Remember the situation last year where several members picked up live cats & dogs in North Carolina and
were caught stiuffing them into a dumpster after they killed them! (The shelter was told that PETA was interested in re-homing them.)

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Reading about the murder of innocents dogs & cats.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Just stick with promoting Vegetarianism, please!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

How did you learn about this organization?

Publicity they promote about themselves and newspaper & magazine articles, interviews with their leaders, etc..

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 26, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
May 26, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

PETA is one of several animal rights organizations that harasses my elderly mother-in-law with repeated fund-raising contacts. These organizations undoubtedly share names and addresses when they "smell blood in the water". They persist in contacting her for donations despite our repeated requests for them to stop.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

They sometimes respond back saying they will stop and that I should register with the Direct Marketing Association (which I already did over a year ago).

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Suggest that they not prey on the elderly in their fund-raising efforts.

April 2, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 2, 2011
6 people found this review helpful

I am appalled by PETA's policies and their methods.

PETA targets children for their campaigns, often ambushing them outside of schools with violent images that are not age-appropriate. They drive a wedge between children and their families with campaigns such as their "Mama kills" game
and their "Daddy kills" comic book. This comic states that a father who fishes will torture the family dog. It is confusing and even utterly terrifying to a child.
http://features.peta.org/CookingMama/Index.asp
http://www.peta.org/features/your-daddy-kills-animals.aspx

In addition, PETA doesn't provide nutritional information to children who choose veganism after being traumatized by materials presented to them. Certain vitamins and amino acids can only be found in red meat. Reducing the amount of red meat consumed will have an profound positive effect on the environment, but total elimination of proteins, B12, Omega-3 EFAs and taurine can and does have deletorious effects including muscle wasting, mood and attention disorders, and cardiomyopathy. Attempts by the parents to supplement the child's diet are met with suspicion and only widen the rift.

PETA has many policies that are contradictory. While loudly protesting the annual Canadian slaughter of 70,000 harp seals or 1,400 whales every year, founder Ingrid Newkirk advocates killing up to 6M - millions! - of pets a year. PETA is actively fighting to enforce Pit Bull bans, to stop Trap-Neuter-Release of feral cats, and even has gone as far as equating No-Kill animal shelters with animal hoarders.

PETA's agenda is three-fold and very specific. First, they advocate saving homeless pets from what is supposedly a wretched existence in the wild. Then they advocate killing pets who find their way into shelters. And finally they state that pets should be "phased out" in order to return them to their wild state. The effect of this deadly trinity will be to eliminate any animals within human reach altogether.

I regret every hour I spent volunteering with PETA, every dime I donated, and every lost pet harmed in order to reserve funds for the ghoulish publicity stunts I funded. Those stunts cost 15% of PETA's budget and do little more than traumatize children and bringing in more donations.
http://www.examiner.com/pets-in-kansas-city/peta-targets-our-children-with-violent-images

Please, if you want to protect animals, volunteer or donate to a local no-kill shelter.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

discovering that euthanized pets are sold to rendering plant where they can be made into pet food. Platte Valley Pet Food Company is a prime example of this. http://www.macraesbluebook.com/search/product_company_list.cfm?prod_code=9011918

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Eliminate the gory publicity stunts, remove any member who has killed an animal themselves, and prevent damage to the health of the children who become involved with PETA. I would also remove any member who puts themselves in harm's way and any member who supports terrorism.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers