Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
111 Reviews
12.85586345
Previous | 1 2 3...12 |
Write A Review
May 29, 2014

more

May 29, 2014

PETA is not scared to be out there and expose, protest and draw attention to abusers. As a continual supporter, I receive their Animal Times magazine. This is very informative and showcases what they are working on, wins, works in progress, etc. Their goal is to end ALL animal abuse, whatever it might take. How can you not support this. Thanks PETA.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As usual, PETA took the lead in throwing up the curtain on something most organizations pay little attention to: the cruel horse racing industry. Over a period of months, a PETA investigator worked at two of the most well-known racetracks in America: Churchill Downs in Louisville (home of the Kentucky Derby) and the Saratoga Race Course in New York. PETA's investigator worked for Steve Asmussen, who has won more races in the last decade than any other U.S. trainer.

The investigator documented that horses are given an aggressive, daily regimen of pain-masking drugs and treatments -- not for genuinely therapeutic purposes, but keep horses running when they should be resting or healing.

Horses in the racing industry are so routinely doped up that they have been labeled "chemical horses," and their feet, bones, and bodies are progressively destroyed as a result.

What makes this so important is that in general, the public pays no attention to the abuses going on in racing. If anything, people may note who wins one of the "big" races, i.e. the Kentucky Derby. But while the public yawns, horses are suffering and dying. Investigations like this one really do make people sit up and take notice, and very likely decide not to place a two-buck bet on a race.

If you care about horses, spread the word to those who still may think it's an innocuous pastime. Ask them not to attend the track or place a bet.
March 10, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

more

March 10, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

Unlike the Humane Society of the United States, PETA does run an “animal shelter” at its headquarters. And PETA kills the vast majority of cats and dogs in its care at this shelter—about 90 percent, or 1,647 cats and dogs, in 2012 and about 30,000 animals since 1998.

PeTA does not save
animals. They take your money and kill animals, and work to eliminate pet ownership and eating meat.

PeTA is not what it seems. Get the facts.
December 27, 2013

more

December 27, 2013

I don't always support PETA on every issue but I do support them as a whole. I'm so very happy they tried to stop the inhumane "Possum Drop" in North Carolina. The law and evidence were on their side but they lost the case because of corruption in the local courts. I also support Meatless-Mondays and their support of veganism.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This is a very good organization. They help a lot of animals through education, media, outreach and lobbying. I support them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

volunteer

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 21, 2013

more

September 21, 2013

I've been a volunteer for almost a decade! PETA is the best!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would ask PETA to recruit a Corporate Outreach Advisor, who could work with corporates asking them to make animal-friendly policy. For instance, make policy like "We don't serve meat, eggs & dairy at our cafeteria", "We don't give out leather gifts for our employees", etc.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 18, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 18, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

PETA's courting of celebrities and their more flamboyant publicity stunts are not my style, but I can't blame them for that if they think that these efforts have political value. Such advertising methods certainly have a long history in our culture. I believe the organization has done a great deal of good, and I can't think of any real harm that they've done. They don't overpay their executives, who could certainly make more elsewhere. I will continue to support them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

PETA is a pretty bad charity. For some reason, they like to use the "scare" method of getting you involved. They make it difficult for anyone who tries to make a difference in this field. They at least deserve a major chunk of credit for bringing this issue to light, but they go about it the wrong way.

But, you know what? Screw them for preaching how important these animals are with ads like "You wouldn't eat your dog, why eat a turkey?" and then going around and killing off all these other animals. You know what, PETA? I was going to be more civil about this, but I don't see how putting effort and funds into making an attack on apparent "virtual animal cruelty" while you don't fund properly. Pretty much everyone know who PETA is; there's really not a need to preach anymore when they don't even care for the dogs they take in. I recently saw an interview on CBS with PETA involved and their reasons are sorry assed excuses: "We take in a lot of animals that are sick, aggressive or old that just can't be adopted out." But, really? My dog was aggressive, and just plain nasty when we adopted him, but with a bit of work, he's the best dog ever. He's loyal and all that. Who won't adopt old animals? I know hundreds of people that would! I've adopted a twelve year old dog who PETA would've put down just because she's old. She's the sweetest dog and I can't bear to stand that this spoof of a charity just puts dogs down because they're old. And if they're sick, here's a crazy idea, take them to the vet! Seriously, they have enough money to DO the work, they just find the problems in everyone else. FOR PETA, A TASTE OF YOUR OWN MEDICINE: "You wouldn't kill your grandmother, why kill older animals?"

If you're looking for a trustworthy charity for animals, try AWI or Farm Sanctuary. There, you actually help the animals rather than splattering paint on peoples' clothes.

And I'm sorry if I come off too harsh, but I'm holding back a lot more. This charity's a lemon. Go somewhere else with your money. If you would like more information on where I get these facts, just type in "PETA PROS & CONS" or "PETA KILLS ANIMALS". You're sure to find more than enough information.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

PETA is a multi-national animal rights organization focusing on the four main areas of animal exploitation where animals endure prolonged, abject suffering: the food industry, the clothing industry, biomedical research, and entertainment. They also recognize that animals are suffering in their own back yard, and they fund a small, dedicated staff of workers who get out and do something about it, every day of the week.

PETA's Community Animal Project workers get out and deliver food, shelter, warm bedding, and light-weight tie outs to animals in need. They provide transportation to and from veterinarian appointments for sick or injured owned animals, and PETA pays the fees. PETA owns and operates three mobile spay and neuter clinics that offer free and low-cost spay and neuter services to animals in their region. PETA has spayed and neutered almost 88,000 animals so far. PETA’s CAP program helps animals who have good homes, stay in those homes. They do more than anyone else in their community to keep animals from entering shelters in the first place.

And yes. PETA provides no-cost, veterinarian-supervised humane medical euthanasia to any animal in their community who requires it for a current crisis of illness, injury, or emotional devastation. This service is available to animals 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year, nights, weekends, and holidays. Every animal should have access to euthanasia when they are suffering, regardless of their owner's ability to pay. Because of PETA, animals in the greater Norfolk community do.

PETA isn't a traditional "shelter," so they limit their intake to animals who require medical euthanasia because they are suffering, and to adoptable animals who have nowhere else to go. PETA either finds homes for the adoptable animals they receive, or transfers them to a high-traffic, high-adoption facility in their community (I confirmed this, actually. They transfer adoptable animals to the Virginia Beach SPCA. I was able to verify this with the Virginia Beach SPCA).

I contacted the Virginia State Veterinarian to ask about PETA's practices. He stated during our interview that to the best of his recollection, his office has never received a complaint from anyone who has actually used PETA's services that PETA misrepresents themselves in any way. He also stated that the state does not have a problem with PETA limiting the scope of their services to mainly animals who require euthanasia.

Now, it's pretty easy to view these matters from the comfort of our computers and make judgments about things we know nothing about, but there is absolutely zero indication that the people who contact PETA to euthanize their animals are not acting in those animals' best interests. The fact that they are each required by law to sign a legal release stating that PETA may immediately euthanize their animal, not least of which.

http://www.whypetaeuthanizes.com/index.html

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 12, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I am so grateful for all that PETA have done with their campaigns. They do a great job of creating awareness about important issues & getting information out there to the public. I have made great use of PETA's list of cosmetics companies that do & do not test on animals, this has been so helpful in changing over to products that are 100% cruelty-free.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...12 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers