Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
1234.961545
Write A Review
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

Lois and Ken Werner are doing amazing work in several Villages in the San Martin area of Guatemala outside of Guatemala City. They are involved in health clinics, clean water projects, education, installing cooking stoves and many other worthwhile efforts. They formulate a plan by asking the women in the villages their needs according to their priority and work along with them to make their needs a reality.
October 22, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 16, 2013

I have traveled to Guatemala and have seen Hombres Y Mujeres truly en accion and they are great. The staff is completely devoted, hard working, and very effective. The quality of life for the people... more

October 22, 2014

People for Guatemala is a great organization because the work they do provides much needed assistance while teaching the people to solve their own problems and empowering them to become their own leaders. They are great people!
October 16, 2013

I have traveled to Guatemala and have seen Hombres Y Mujeres truly en accion and they are great. The staff is completely devoted, hard working, and very effective. The quality of life for the people they work with has been and is continually being improved by their efforts. AHMA focuses on creating sustainable services by training and empowering indigenous people to learn to solve their own problems.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I became involved with People for Guatemala and Hombres y Mujeres en Accion when my adopted Guatemalan daughter was trying to identify an group to which she could send a small amount of money. I had the great fortune of connecting our family - first online, then quickly by phone and in person - with this gem of a non-profit. In June 2013 I traveled to Guatemala to see first-hand all that this group does and was welcomed with tremendous openness and compassion. Once there, I was astonished by how hard the staff works, and how efficiently they use their time and resources. The combination of how smart and passionate these people are with their relentless pursuit of helping communities organize and execute their own projects makes this an exceptional non-profit organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more ways to consistently provide them with the money and resources they need for operations so that they can continue their great work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

People for Guatemala touches and changes the lives of some of the poorest people of rural, isolated communities in mountainous Guatemala. It empowers the people of the villages to improve their villages, by offering support and materials for obtaining clean water, providing medical clinics, meeting educational needs and far more. The team works tirelessly alongside the people helping them develop an improved standard of living and, more importantly, planting seeds which will flourish, bringing about a people with better opportunities for the future. I have journeyed far into the mountains with the wonderful staff and have seen the reciprocated love and respect with members of the community as they exemplify that they are truly People FOR Guatemala.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do nothing, save finding funds for materials and staff to help them continue their work!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

I've personally visited homes/people assisted by this organization. People for Guatemala's aim is to empower the people to help themselves. While visiting in homes, we've heard the testimonies from the Guatemalan women who have the chapina stoves that improve the air they breathe while cooking, lessen the amount of time they have to search for wood, and keep their children safe from open fires. We've met with women seeking the filters for their homes that produce cleaner drinking water. And we've seen the amazing organizating work the group has done to teach and encourage unschooled women to petition for assistance from an all-too-often unresponsive local government and from potential donors. It was most moving and impressive to see the personal and social growth in this group of more than 30 women. Lois and Ken Werner are always willing to have visitors and potential donors see the results of the organization's work, and to hear first-hand testimonies from the men and women who have been helped. It's an organization I endorse totally.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers