Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
1234.961545
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

I have been privileged to work with People For Guatemala for the past two years. I have brought a total of over fifty nurse practitioner and graduate nursing students and nursing professors from Florida Atlantic University for a cultural immersion in primary care in this region of Guatemala. Through the seriously hard-working efforts of the entire staff of PFG we have been able to assess and treat over a thousand patients on each trip. The trusting relationship that Ken and Lois and their staff have established with these underserved communities has been our "gateway" into the lives of the indigenous Maya population. It would have taken us years to build that relationship on our own. We are deeply indebted to PFG for their passion for bringing access to health care and education to these communities. I hope to spend the rest of my life helping them. All of my students state that they are "forever changed."

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 28, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 23, 2013

I have worked with People for Guatemala for four years now. I continue to grow in respect for their integrity and care for the people of Guatemala. I have experienced the transformation they are b... more

October 28, 2014

Our foundation Nursing Heart Inc is a proud associate of People for Guatemala. Without them, the nurses and doctors who come to Guatemala could not bring their care. People for Guatemala and their sister organization, Hombres y Mujeres en Accion do the development for the projects that we carry out in Guatemala. I cannot thank them enough for the kind of assistance that they have provided our organization by preparing the communities that receive our care. They are FIVE stars!
October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have worked with People for Guatemala for four years now. I continue to grow in respect for their integrity and care for the people of Guatemala. I have experienced the transformation they are bringing about in the communities of San Martin Jilotepeque. Groups that I have pulled together have worked in projects coordinated by People for Guatemala. In the community of Pacoj we participated in a project in 2010. And, two years later, another group went back to the same community for another project. It was amazing to experience how the community had developed through the support of People of Guatemala.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

When I moved to Guatemala several years ago I volunteered with People for Guatemala. I was very impressed with the dedication, passion, and commitment of the staff. But what I like most was the way they approached the communities and how they solved problems. The staff involves the community and encourage community members to find their own solutions. With this approach the community feels empowered, accountable, and are truly invested in the project, thus creating sustainable and permanent change!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

People for Guatemala does exceptional work. Their integrated programs involve community members to provide long-term, sustainable change. I've worked with numerous organizations in Guatemala, and have found People for Guatemala to be run efficiently and competently, with a strong emphasis on helping people to help themselves.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide additional funding so that they could reach even more families and communities.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

Over the past 6 years I have traveled to Guatemala 6 times to support the work of this group and the rural communities that they serve. I could not imagine a more dedicated staff who work diligently to improve the lives of the villagers. Their community development has improved people's lives with concrete floors, latrines, vented stoves, water filtration, kindergartens, water systems, and community buildings. They also care for the medical needs of villagers with monthly clinics, funding specialized testing and care as needed, medications, eyeglasses, and durable medical supplies.
Two additional ways they stand out- As an organization there is willingness to partner with other organizations in Guatemala and outside the country to better meet the needs of the staff and villagers. They have also chosen to support their staff in receiving further education whether it is high school or university training.
I look forward to more visits to support the "boots on the ground".

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Involve more Guatemalans on the Guatemalan Board of Directors.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2012

more

October 4, 2012

People for Guatemala is doing very important work for the marginalized communities of Guatemala. Their approach is very grassroots and they focus more on quality than quantity. They are in the community working directly with individuals and helping the community prosper one family at a time. They empower the people through giving them an opportunity to participate in their own development and donĀ“t impose outside ideas on the communities, as is so often the case in development work. Their methodology also contributes to the sustainability of the interventions through leaving the capacity installed in the community to carry on into the future.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers