Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
1234.961545
Write A Review
October 28, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 3, 2012

This non-profit organization is relatively new, but their accomplishments have far surpassed anyone's expectations. They are not a hand out organization. Their approach is to help communities organ... more

October 28, 2014

I have been involved with People for Guatemala since its inception and am truly amazed at what has been accomplished in that time---water projects, stoves, medical and dental clinics, educations projects and much more. In every project the recipients are expected to be involved in the planning and implementation of the project and to give back in some way.
My involvment has been in the area of education. I have developed a kindergarten teacher training program and reading and math curriculum. Currently 40 teachers have/are being trained. Kindergarten students in rural villages are being taught to read and perform higher level math skills. The teachers are thrilled to have materials and to be able to teach kindergarten children more than just social and fine motor skills.
People for Guatemala is an outstanding organization which I highly recommend to anyone who wishes to contribute or be involved in some way. You can be certain that whatever is contributed will go directly to its designated project.
October 3, 2012

This non-profit organization is relatively new, but their accomplishments have far surpassed anyone's expectations. They are not a hand out organization. Their approach is to help communities organize and participate in projects that improve their own lives. As a result the people they are helping are not only acquiring new skills but experience a sense of accomplishment and self confidence that is invaluable. For example, if the community decides their number one priority is a water well, they are involved in the project from the beginning and provide much of the manual labor required as well as contributing financially, even if its just a small percentage of the total package. What's especially outstanding about this organization is that 100% of all donations go directly to the people of Guatemala.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

I was blessed to go with Lois and Ken (People for Guatemala INC) and some of their staff to several of the villages they serve. Their compassion, understanding, care, expertise and knowledge, love, dedication, and great resourcefulness have aided many. They work under the principal of letting the people help themselves, by providing them the tools and knowledge. I saw the village people deeply respected and loved and genuinely cared for by all the staff. I was able to see them helping "in action", and will forever be blessed by that experience. Thank you, People for Guatemala INC for all you do for those that so need your help! You make the world a better place!
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

The villages People for Guatemala serve are far from the town of San Martin Jilotepeque. In some of these villages there is no water distribution services. When water projects are done in these communities everything changes: the health improves when they have clean water, the high percentage of intestinal diseases is reduced, specially in children; even general sanitation training is provided to the villagers, they can have a shower every day, wash their clothes, have clean fruits and vegetables. And these are things that normal people have to do every day, close your eyes and imagine a day at your home with no water...... they really change their lives forever!
This organization deserves your support...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

Lois &Ken Werner/People for Guatemala are "the real deal." I have been going on mission trips for many years with several different types of groups; educational, medical, construction and I am totally sold on People for Guatemala. They have focused on San Martin, built a strong team and developed a vision that has brought so many diverse groups to Guatemala to work with the villagers. This model helps develop "their" needs to improve the lives of the children and villagers. So many groups come into a region and do what they feel is needed then go home.

Lois & Ken Werner/People for Guatemala have developed programs based on the needs of the people and require participation thus developing a true partnership and helps develop a pride in the village that will last for a lifetime. I have personally been involved with a school kitchen in Pacoj Tres Cruses; medical clinic in Candeleria and am anxiously awaiting going to Curz Nueva on November 8th to build another school kitchen. The work site is prepared by villagers. The building has been engineered. The material is on site. There are men, women and children that are so excited, so willing to help, but most importantly so humble/thankful for the improvements to their village.

People for Guatemala exemplifies the old proverb, "Give someone a fish you feed them for a meal; teach them to fish and you feed them for a lifetime" then goes one step further and leaves the fishing pole!

People for Guatemala is truly changing San Martin one project at a time; one village at a time!!

Jack Coleman
Harrodsburg, Kentucky
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

Excellent organization! They involve the people in their communities in both the decision making and the problem solving and they are ultra good stewards of the donor resources. They know how to make a little bit go a long way and they know how to get at the heart of the problem. As a long time volunteer and neighbor of the organization in Guatemala I see the work that they are doing every day and greatly admire them.
June 15, 2014

more

June 15, 2014

I have twice visited Guatemala and seen first hand the work of this organization. Here is some of what I have observed:
Men from a village working hard to dig a trench, several miles long, for a water pipe to bring clean water to their village
Women from a village being trained in how to
construct stoves to replace smoky open air fires in their kitchens
A dirt floor being replaced with concrete
A man talking about how a well-constructed compost latrine built with blocks gave his family dignity when it replaced the open pit latrine they had been using
Women in a literacy class
Talking with scholarship students whose lives were being changed by the gift of continued education
Old tires holding dirt for gardens to provide fresh vegetables
People waiting for the health clinic with a caring Doctor and a well-stocked pharmacy
Elementary school teachers receiving training in teaching techniques
School students receiving supplies
Teachers receiving supplies
New classrooms
Computer rooms in several schools
A tutor to help the children learn about computers and other educational needs
This organization gives a HAND UP not a hand out

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Better publicity about their good work and how well they respect the Myan people in the villages.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My family and I had the privilege of spending some time with the people of this incredible organization while we were in Guatemala. We spent a day with them in a remote village helping them install some new stoves designed by Imilcar, one of the dedicated staff. The small group is making miracles happen in the villages by empowering the woman and working with them to make their lives better. Some of projects have included new stoves , running water for the villages and their latest undertaking building a medical clinic. What I like about this group is that they do not just hand things over to the people of the village. They work with them. It is a real community effort and the great partnership is evident when you spend time with them. I can;t say enough about this group and the selfless work they are doing for the Mayan communities that they work with.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

What I love about People for Guatemala is that they don't give "handouts" to the people they serve. They work with Mayans living in rural villages -- the sort of places tourists would never visit. The people in the communities have to come together as a group and present a proposal for their needs to PFG. By working in this way, the villagers learn how to organize themselves, how to work together, and how to better their lives. PFG will assist them with their needs -- whether it be putting a new roof on a school, installing Chapina stoves, or building a water system for their village -- by providing materials and training, but the people also need to contribute to the project financially and/or by providing the manpower. By being involved in the process, the villagers can take pride in their work and know they made it happen.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to get more people involved -- to see these villages in person will make others realize the incredible needs the Guatemalan people face on a daily basis.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 19, 2013

more

June 19, 2013

I have volunteered with People for Guatemala for the past 3 years. Their focus is to break down the barriers of poverty and help Mayans living in extreme poverty change their lives by teaching them how to create sustainable solutions. Their sister organization in Guatemala is Hombres y Mujeres en Accion. They are well respected in the villages and work tirelessly to assist the families in rural Guatemala. People for Guatemala is currently assisting families in 18 villages with vented and safe stoves, water projects, school construction, computers, and conducting health clinics in 7 rural communities. Their organization is run extremely well and donors can rest assured that their donation is being used where it is desperately needed. The need is very great in this area.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

recruit more volunteers and solicit more donations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2012

more

October 3, 2012

I worked for People for Guatemala in 2010 as an interpreter. During my time with them I learned a lot about Guatemala, the culture, and the many challenges indigenous communities face. I also learned a lot about community development work, and the many do's and don'ts. I highly admire the staff because of their dedication, passion, and commitment to make a difference in the lives of those who are most vulnerable. It is because of my experience with People for Guatemala that I decided to stay and live in Guatemala, and work in community development.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers