Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
1234.928575
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

I've personally visited homes/people assisted by this organization. People for Guatemala's aim is to empower the people to help themselves. While visiting in homes, we've heard the testimonies from the Guatemalan women who have the chapina stoves that improve the air they breathe while cooking, lessen the amount of time they have to search for wood, and keep their children safe from open fires. We've met with women seeking the filters for their homes that produce cleaner drinking water. And we've seen the amazing organizating work the group has done to teach and encourage unschooled women to petition for assistance from an all-too-often unresponsive local government and from potential donors. It was most moving and impressive to see the personal and social growth in this group of more than 30 women. Lois and Ken Werner are always willing to have visitors and potential donors see the results of the organization's work, and to hear first-hand testimonies from the men and women who have been helped. It's an organization I endorse totally.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 4, 2012

more

October 4, 2012

People for Guatemala is doing very important work for the marginalized communities of Guatemala. Their approach is very grassroots and they focus more on quality than quantity. They are in the community working directly with individuals and helping the community prosper one family at a time. They empower the people through giving them an opportunity to participate in their own development and donĀ“t impose outside ideas on the communities, as is so often the case in development work. Their methodology also contributes to the sustainability of the interventions through leaving the capacity installed in the community to carry on into the future.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 3, 2012

more

October 3, 2012

This non-profit organization is relatively new, but their accomplishments have far surpassed anyone's expectations. They are not a hand out organization. Their approach is to help communities organize and participate in projects that improve their own lives. As a result the people they are helping are not only acquiring new skills but experience a sense of accomplishment and self confidence that is invaluable. For example, if the community decides their number one priority is a water well, they are involved in the project from the beginning and provide much of the manual labor required as well as contributing financially, even if its just a small percentage of the total package. What's especially outstanding about this organization is that 100% of all donations go directly to the people of Guatemala.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 3, 2012

more

October 3, 2012

I worked for People for Guatemala in 2010 as an interpreter. During my time with them I learned a lot about Guatemala, the culture, and the many challenges indigenous communities face. I also learned a lot about community development work, and the many do's and don'ts. I highly admire the staff because of their dedication, passion, and commitment to make a difference in the lives of those who are most vulnerable. It is because of my experience with People for Guatemala that I decided to stay and live in Guatemala, and work in community development.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers