Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
1234.923085
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

I became involved with People for Guatemala and Hombres y Mujeres en Accion when my adopted Guatemalan daughter was trying to identify an group to which she could send a small amount of money. I had the great fortune of connecting our family - first online, then quickly by phone and in person - with this gem of a non-profit. In June 2013 I traveled to Guatemala to see first-hand all that this group does and was welcomed with tremendous openness and compassion. Once there, I was astonished by how hard the staff works, and how efficiently they use their time and resources. The combination of how smart and passionate these people are with their relentless pursuit of helping communities organize and execute their own projects makes this an exceptional non-profit organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more ways to consistently provide them with the money and resources they need for operations so that they can continue their great work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I have worked with People for Guatemala for four years now. I continue to grow in respect for their integrity and care for the people of Guatemala. I have experienced the transformation they are bringing about in the communities of San Martin Jilotepeque. Groups that I have pulled together have worked in projects coordinated by People for Guatemala. In the community of Pacoj we participated in a project in 2010. And, two years later, another group went back to the same community for another project. It was amazing to experience how the community had developed through the support of People of Guatemala.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

My family and I had the privilege of spending some time with the people of this incredible organization while we were in Guatemala. We spent a day with them in a remote village helping them install some new stoves designed by Imilcar, one of the dedicated staff. The small group is making miracles happen in the villages by empowering the woman and working with them to make their lives better. Some of projects have included new stoves , running water for the villages and their latest undertaking building a medical clinic. What I like about this group is that they do not just hand things over to the people of the village. They work with them. It is a real community effort and the great partnership is evident when you spend time with them. I can;t say enough about this group and the selfless work they are doing for the Mayan communities that they work with.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

People for Guatemala does exceptional work. Their integrated programs involve community members to provide long-term, sustainable change. I've worked with numerous organizations in Guatemala, and have found People for Guatemala to be run efficiently and competently, with a strong emphasis on helping people to help themselves.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide additional funding so that they could reach even more families and communities.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

People for Guatemala touches and changes the lives of some of the poorest people of rural, isolated communities in mountainous Guatemala. It empowers the people of the villages to improve their villages, by offering support and materials for obtaining clean water, providing medical clinics, meeting educational needs and far more. The team works tirelessly alongside the people helping them develop an improved standard of living and, more importantly, planting seeds which will flourish, bringing about a people with better opportunities for the future. I have journeyed far into the mountains with the wonderful staff and have seen the reciprocated love and respect with members of the community as they exemplify that they are truly People FOR Guatemala.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do nothing, save finding funds for materials and staff to help them continue their work!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

Over the past 6 years I have traveled to Guatemala 6 times to support the work of this group and the rural communities that they serve. I could not imagine a more dedicated staff who work diligently to improve the lives of the villagers. Their community development has improved people's lives with concrete floors, latrines, vented stoves, water filtration, kindergartens, water systems, and community buildings. They also care for the medical needs of villagers with monthly clinics, funding specialized testing and care as needed, medications, eyeglasses, and durable medical supplies.
Two additional ways they stand out- As an organization there is willingness to partner with other organizations in Guatemala and outside the country to better meet the needs of the staff and villagers. They have also chosen to support their staff in receiving further education whether it is high school or university training.
I look forward to more visits to support the "boots on the ground".

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Involve more Guatemalans on the Guatemalan Board of Directors.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

I have traveled to Guatemala and have seen Hombres Y Mujeres truly en accion and they are great. The staff is completely devoted, hard working, and very effective. The quality of life for the people they work with has been and is continually being improved by their efforts. AHMA focuses on creating sustainable services by training and empowering indigenous people to learn to solve their own problems.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

What I love about People for Guatemala is that they don't give "handouts" to the people they serve. They work with Mayans living in rural villages -- the sort of places tourists would never visit. The people in the communities have to come together as a group and present a proposal for their needs to PFG. By working in this way, the villagers learn how to organize themselves, how to work together, and how to better their lives. PFG will assist them with their needs -- whether it be putting a new roof on a school, installing Chapina stoves, or building a water system for their village -- by providing materials and training, but the people also need to contribute to the project financially and/or by providing the manpower. By being involved in the process, the villagers can take pride in their work and know they made it happen.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to get more people involved -- to see these villages in person will make others realize the incredible needs the Guatemalan people face on a daily basis.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 19, 2013

more

June 19, 2013

I have volunteered with People for Guatemala for the past 3 years. Their focus is to break down the barriers of poverty and help Mayans living in extreme poverty change their lives by teaching them how to create sustainable solutions. Their sister organization in Guatemala is Hombres y Mujeres en Accion. They are well respected in the villages and work tirelessly to assist the families in rural Guatemala. People for Guatemala is currently assisting families in 18 villages with vented and safe stoves, water projects, school construction, computers, and conducting health clinics in 7 rural communities. Their organization is run extremely well and donors can rest assured that their donation is being used where it is desperately needed. The need is very great in this area.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

recruit more volunteers and solicit more donations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

I've personally visited homes/people assisted by this organization. People for Guatemala's aim is to empower the people to help themselves. While visiting in homes, we've heard the testimonies from the Guatemalan women who have the chapina stoves that improve the air they breathe while cooking, lessen the amount of time they have to search for wood, and keep their children safe from open fires. We've met with women seeking the filters for their homes that produce cleaner drinking water. And we've seen the amazing organizating work the group has done to teach and encourage unschooled women to petition for assistance from an all-too-often unresponsive local government and from potential donors. It was most moving and impressive to see the personal and social growth in this group of more than 30 women. Lois and Ken Werner are always willing to have visitors and potential donors see the results of the organization's work, and to hear first-hand testimonies from the men and women who have been helped. It's an organization I endorse totally.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers