Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
1234.869575
Write A Review
June 19, 2014

more

June 19, 2014

I am a graduate of the "New Choices, New Options" program. I am so grateful for the opportunity I had to go through this wonderful program. I had been recently widowed and had been unable to find work to support myself and didn't really know how I was going to be able to move on and become a part of the working class again. this program gave me my self confidence back and all the tools I needed to get to where I am now. I am working at a job I really enjoy and also working on starting my own business in the near future. This program needs to be rewarded for what it does for individuals like me who can then be a benefit to the whole society. It needs and deserves to be funded.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 19, 2014

more

June 19, 2014

I am graduate of New Choices in Altoona. I learned about the program when my plant closed down last March through carreerlink. I enjoyed it very much. There was a lot of opportunities out there that I wasn't aware of without the help of New Choices. I actually enrolled in YTI to further my education into a different field. I am 57 years old and starting over in life. Without the help of New Choices I would have been lost.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 19, 2014

more

June 19, 2014

Hello, I am a graduate of the Altoona New Choices Program; 2014. I found out about the program through the Altoona Community Education Classes that I was attending there while going through a difficult time in my life. The New Choices Program has helped me in so many ways. The inspirational stories of others and how they got through their hard moments in life, and meeting new friends, has helped me to see that I wasn't the only one out there, when sometimes I felt like it. There were many wonderful, uplifting guest speakers from many agencies that came to speak to us on topics like self worth, self esteem, never too old to go back to college to be self sufficient, and more. To keep moving and don't sit around at home feeling sorry for yourself. To check the newspapers, Career Link, the Altoona Library, and how to network with others. Tammie Fleck, and the program has been so helpful to me. I am now working again and feeling happy. I pray it continues to help many more people. Thank-you Tammie, and the New Choices Program!!! Donna Smeltzer.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 29, 2014

more

March 29, 2014

I graduated from New Choices New Options 2 years ago. I was a single mom with 3 kids, and had a part time job. While I liked my part-time job, it was not fulfilling. I knew there was something more for me. I originally had planned to return to school. While touring our local Vo-tech, I learned about the New Choices program and I enrolled. It was the best decision I could have made at that time. I completed the course, and a few days later, completely by chance, I was called for an interview working with people who would be returning to get their GED's. I couldn't believe it, I had just learned about these services by going through New Choices! I aced the interview, and now, 2 years later, I have obtained a full time job as an executive secretary. My dream has come true! New Choices New Options gave me the guidance I needed, the knowledge I needed, to push myself to the next level.
March 24, 2014

more

March 24, 2014

This program far exceeds any other that is offered by local employment offices, or ready to work programs. New Choices provides more than opportunity - it provides many a chance to realize personal potential, awakens a renewed sense of self-worth, and instills a sense of accomplishment and inspiration. This program is valuable in ways that are not necessarily tangible . Having worked with New Choices clients, I never ceased to be amazed at the transformation, both professionally and personally, each person experienced.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make it more accessible to clients needing this opportunity - its heavy reliance on grant funding does not allow this program to reach its full potential within the group it could benefit the most.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 19, 2014

more

March 19, 2014

I found myself at a major transition point as I reentered the work force after 17 years as a stay-at-home mom. I had no computer skills, no direction for my "second act" and no confidence. The career development class helped me to develop a resume and provided a support system. The computer classes gave me the neccesary skills to go out and find a job that I love. After I completed the coursework I volunteered at PAWW at their clothing closet and at their Circle of Hope annual fundraiser. I wanted to give back to an organization that had done so much for me. Last October I was honored as one of the 2013 "Women of Courage" because of the changes I had made to my life and my career. None of those changes would have been possible without Pennsylvania Women Work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see them bring back their Wear to Work closet. Gently used professional clothing was donated and then made available to women for interviews. Unfortunately our Pittsburgh location just didn't have the office space to continue this part of the nonprofit. It was great to see what a confidence booster a new outfit could be for our clients.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 19, 2014

more

March 19, 2014

I Started PAWW without any focus and any goal in my life. Today I am busy going to school and working. New Choices had given me the opprtunnity to believe in myself and dream on a real future for me and my family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 6, 2014

more

March 6, 2014

My connection with PAWW began as an intern. Since moving on from my internship, I have remained connected to the organization as a member of the Corporate Advisory Committee. I have seen firsthand the impact that PAWW makes in the lives of clients and in the community. The programs provided by PAWW give women a chance to not only secure a job, but a career. With that comes confidence, relief, and a better life. This organization is constantly looking for more effective ways to serve clients. PAWW and the women who participate in it are truly an inspiration!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 19, 2014

more

February 19, 2014

The New Choices program at Temple University is a program that allows students to articulate their gifts and expand on their goals while learning how to juggle home and other issues. I had a GREAT instructor Ms. Debra Mitchell and I would recommend this program.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 18, 2014

more

February 18, 2014

When I came to PWW, I was re-entering the job market after several years. I had been applying for jobs and never coming up with anything significant. After taking their classes, I started to understand what the employers were looking for these days. I also learned how to update my resume and use a computer. I also learned a lot about myself and they help me develop the confidence needed to go any where and interview for a job. I will always be indebted to PWW.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have a more extensive computer class. I hate to say that because they took me from totally ignorant to a person who is sufficient. I also hate to say this because on the shoe string budget they have been forced to work with, they do wonders!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Conduct mock interviews with job-seeking clients or assist in resume reviews. Volunteer