Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
1234.15
Previous | Next
Write A Review
December 4, 2013

more

December 4, 2013

We adopted our dog Sugar from PHS when she was just a puppy, over 9 years ago already! We were so thankful for the wonderful work they did before we took Sugar home that we have been regular donors ever since. I finally got the time to start volunteering in August, and I love being able to give my time and energy to helping this wonderful organization. I'm able to help so many more dogs this way, since adopting means we only help 1 or 2 dogs every 10 years or so! I work with dogs in the Second Chance class to help get dogs to adoptable status, and I have also fostered dogs, really getting to make an impact. I am also working with the Development/Fundraising department and love that I'm also giving back to the organization itself. I feel very appreciated, and it's my first "job" where I just want to hang out longer and find more to do! We will definitely be involved with PHS for many years to come.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Communicate more clearly where there are volunteer needs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 4, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
December 4, 2013

I adopted my cat from PHS in 2006 (she's still with me and doing great), the adoption staff were helpful and very nice. Since then I've visited their new adoption center on Rollins Road, I didn't adopt but the facility is beautiful and my kids had a blast hanging out there. All the staff and volunteers I had contact with were nice and all seem to genuinely have the animals' best interest at heart. I'll definitely adopt from them again.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 9, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

June 9, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I volunteered with PHS for ten years doing Lost and Found on Saturdays. I also went in, often, on days such as Christmas Eve, New Year's Eve, and other holidays so I could get animals home for the coming holiday. In ten years timne, I never missed coming in on July 5, the busiest day of the year. Because of the fireworks, there are many frightened animals. When I started, I noticed I found lots of dogs, but very few cats. I did research and found out that less than 2% of cats are found in shelters. That's because they are hiding. I developed a "talk" that I gave to cat owners and instructed them how they could find their own cats. Of course, I also told them always to check the shelter, but mostly they should be doing the searching themselves. It was a very, very good feeling when people reported they had found their cat. Suddenly, last August I was told my services would no longer be needed and all lost and found volunteers were being terminated and the vet techs were taking over.I asked for an explanation and was simply told the decision had been made.There was no thanks for my services for ten years. I knew my last day would be Sept 3. A few days before my last day, on a busy day, a man came over, handed me a piece of paper and said he liked all the information I was giving about cats. When I had time to look, it was a check for $1,000 to PHS.In ten years time, I never heard a staff person say any thing except come back in a few days.I feel very bad about all the lost cats.I did type up my "speech" and I hope they are using it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 14, 2012

I started my volunteer adventure over two years ago. More important then any job I have ever done and been paid for or otherwise, this tops the list of ALL TIME BEST. I start and end my day with a smile. I have made many new friends and aquaintences there. The animals rely on my services and I rely on the fantastic feeling that they give me. I have in additon to working for and with the animals, been able to help in the administrative area and the facilities. This is a truly a destination that plants a power of goodwill and happiness and it can do that for all.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 18, 2011

more

December 18, 2011

I've been a volunteer at PHS since 2002, and have greatly enjoyed both directly & indirectly helping animals as a volunteer. I mostly work with dogs, but have been lucky enough to help-out with a little bit over everything over the years and have gotten both the macro as well as micro-view. As a volunteer, it is a wonderful experience to be able to step into a kennel & perhaps be the first person to really show compassion to that animal in who knows how long. Even better is to see that many other volunteers have spent time with that animal during the time it has been at PHS. Perhaps the very next day, you could be helping out at a PHS fund-raiser, and thus give a heartfelt, personal account of how that donor's money allows people like yourself the opportunity to then work with the animal and help shape it into a happy & well-behaved prospective pet. My volunteer work at PHS was directly responsible for me spending time locked-up in the county jail. As a volunteer trainer, I'd go to the jail facility once a week to teach inmates how go teach PHS dogs basic obedience & socialization as part of the Transitioning Animals Into Loving Situations (TAILS) program, so you never know where volunteering at PHS may take you, but there are lots of opportunities for YOU to directly & indirectly help the animals in need in San Mateo County.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

adopting four out of my five dogs from them, seeing hundreds of dogs I have worked with at PHS getting adopted out into great homes, staying in-touch with many of the adopters of the dogs I had fostered, and knowing that they are living happily ever-after.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find them a larger budget.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

A Pepsi Slurpee machine in the lobby.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Wanted & needed!

December 8, 2011

more

December 8, 2011

PHS is a fabulous place to volunteer! I have been with them for six years doing a variety of tasks from working directly with the animals to fundraising to serving on various committees. The staff go out of their way to thank the volunteers and to make sure that we know that we are part of their team and they could not be the success that they are without us.

The staff treat the animals staying at the shelter with love and compassion. They care about making sure that the animals are well taken care of and that they find their forever home. The veterinary staff save lives and give the opportunity to go up for adoption, the behavior team prepares them for their new homes and the adoption staff ensures that they find the best possible home for the animal. When a long term animal (or even a very special short term visitor) finally goes home, the excitement that everyone (staff and volunteer alike) feels is contagious.

There is no place I'd rather donate my time and when the time comes, no other place that I will be adopting from.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 3, 2011

more

November 3, 2011

I've been volunteering here for many years, and you couldn't find a nicer group of people to work with and interact with. What's more, it shows on the many animals up for adoption there. Between the staff and the VERY many volunteers there, most all of the dogs and cats get "out time" and socialization daily. That is so important. PHS-SPCA is a top notch organization that treats everyone, including potential adopters, the volunteers and all their "guests" with great respect. Why else would so many hundreds of people and young adults volunteer their time so freely, if it wasn't. Plus, we have adopted the best dog in the whole world from there too!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Yes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Put a vending machine in the break room.

More feedback...

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I've discovered there are very many sentient beings here with the same agenda as me--and that's a good thing.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Always leave feeling wonderful, and wishing I could do more.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 24, 2011

more

October 24, 2011

I've been volunteering at PHS for almost 2 1/2 years now and have to say that it's the best decision I made. The staff is always willing to help volunteers out when needed whether it's answering endless questions or getting dogs out. I have seen the Customer Service staff doing their best to accomodate and answer questions for potential adopters, the Vet staff helping folks get through having to put their beloved pet down and I don't want to leave out the Animal Care Techs who when we were still at the old facility were always there to help volunteers out getting dogs in and out of kennels. I'm thankful for the opportunity to volunteer in a place where there is so much heart and compassion. PHS you rock and thanks for our 2 wonderful doggies!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've personally experienced not just the enrichment of volunteering, but we have adopted 2 dogs from PHS as well as being there for a pet being put down. It has given me a very positive perspective on life and shown how wonderful life really is. I see these precious animals being so forgiving and ready to love again. They have helped me through a lot of family illnesses and losses over the past few years..

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make any changes to PHS I would honestly have to say that I wish there were rooms for volunteers that are willing to spend the a night once in a while with a shy, frightened or sick animal. I realize that unrealistic but one can wish.

October 20, 2011

more

October 20, 2011

I've supported this fine organization for many years now. PHS/SPCA is essential to the care of the animals in San Mateo County. They have just now opened a beautiful new home for the animals to reside in Burlingame. Our community should be proud of the good work the shelter does for all animals. I urge you to support them as I do.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've seen through its newsletter over the years that 100% of the adoptable animals find home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I'm not in a position to know what changes should be made. It seems to me from what I've read, it's a well-run organization

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Gifts in memory of lost pets and loved ones.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

Gifts in memory of lost pets and loved ones.

What would you tell others about this organization?

Support this worthy organization

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 8, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
August 8, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

I have adopted from PHS in the past and been a past supporter but am very disappointed in the way they have "handled" a situation with a friend of mine who has been a volunteer there for 10 years. She was recently told by the PHS Volunteer Coordinator, the volunteers in "lost in found" will no longer be needed and "vet techs" who are already overwhelmed will be taking over. My friend has dedicated her Saturdays and other days (when they needed her) for 10 years to reunite lost animals and they abruptly have told her (and the other volunteers in that dept) they are not needed, not very "humane" to me. When asked for further info, none was given but "the decision has been made." Is this the way to run an organization? My friend is devasted for all the animals she fears will not be reunited. Over the years, she has developed many techniques for people to use to search for animals (who are not in the shelter). She is not one of those people who simply looks at a list and tells people their animal is not there. She has gone over and above what a volunteer is expected to do and this is the way she gets treated. I am so disapointed not only for her but for all the animals as well.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Past client.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ensure that people (volunteers and employees) are treated with respect. This experience with my friend, I am sure is not the only one in which someone was not treated in a "humane" way.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

How did you find this group?

Known about it for years

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

strong bond with animals

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us help animals! Serve as an adoption counselor in our Center for Compassion or Mobile Unit , provide adoptable pets with tender loving care, help with behavior training and educational programs, assist customers in our stores, and much more! Volunteer