Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
76 Reviews
1234.894745
Previous | Next
Write A Review
February 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We lost a dog and were looking for a companion for our other dog. We were invited to Peggy Adams and not only found the perfect dog, but one that has brought so much joy into our lives, and all who meet her. We were so impressed with the care and attention that the staff at Peggy Adams gave to the adoption process. The dog was well trained and obviously cared for at the facility. It was obvious that volunteers and professionals love the work they do and they do it very well. We could not have been happier to receive the little bundle we call Coco. The facilities are outstanding, and it clearly shows how well the staff care for the animals in their trust.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 18, 2013

more

December 18, 2013

I spent several months debating whether to add a playmate for my cat Buddy. I felt bad for leaving him alone for so many hours while my husband and I were at work. When we finally decided to adopt, I looked online and came across an adoption event at Peggy Adams Animal Rescue. I had never been in a pet shelter, but I expected to see sad little cats in solitary confinement. Instead, mostly all the cats were grouped in cubicles with glass fronts and room to move around. I was able to narrow my choice by the personality descriptions listed for each kitty. We adopted little Olivia that day! I only wish we had done this sooner! She is sweet with us and is teaching Buddy good manners.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013

more

August 14, 2013

After 19 years we had to put our cat Fudge to sleep. He was a big part of the family and it was hard. After some time we decided to look for another cat to help fill the void. We went to Peggy Adams and there were so many cats there. We probably were there for at least four hours and we fell in love with so many of the cats. We finally decided on one and with the help of Linda Weissman we were able to find the new addition to our home

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

On May 19, 2013 I went to the Peggy Adam's Rescue Center in hopes of adding a new kitty to my household. When I walked in I was immediately greeted by an elderly man who asked if he could assist and he directed me to where the kitties are housed. My family and I wandered around the kitten room and the older kitty room and tried to spend time with as many kitties as we could. We were also greeted by one of the adoption coordinators, Linda, who basically told us to take our time and not rush because choosing a pet is a big decision and you want to make sure the one you choose, or in my case the one that chooses you, is the right one. Rob, or as we've since renamed him Nero, was in a kennel with some kitties with an upper respiratory infection. I opened their kennel and gave every kitten in there a nice head scratch and Nero immediately sprung up out of the bed and literally leaped out of the kennel into my arms and ran his little motor non-stop. That was it, I was in love, I knew he was the one. What is even more special is he's almost an entirely little black baby boy minus a small tuft of white on his chest and his belly. Black kitties sadly are one of the last ones adopted and usually the first to be euthanize when they're in a high-kill environment. Thankfully Peggy Adam's is a no-kill rescue but even still Nero was not a statistic, he was adopted, and he's beautiful and loved like we've had him for years. He's so playful but when its time to settle down for bed or its cuddle time he certainly can curb his enthusiasm and snuggle up cuddle bug. We have certainly loved having him as a part of our family and we are also very happy with the help we received at the rescue.

Oh and also being that Nero was sick, they had given me medication for him and instructions on how to dose it out for him. Following their specific instructions within 8 days he was healthy again. No more sneezies and mucky eyes. When I did have concerns about dosage I had no problems with their on staff vet getting back to me to answer my questions.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to draw more attention to the kitten enclosures in the front lobby. You almost forget they're there.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 29, 2013

more

March 29, 2013

I adopted Zsa Zsa a Maltese/Min Poodle. I fell in love with her just by picture. When I met her she was Hugs and Kisses and such a story to tell me. Considering her Family just lost their home she then lost her home... so sad :( Another person adopted Zsa Zsa and brought her back within a couple hours saying she was) afraid the dog was gonna die on her. Zsa Zsa is a Special Needs, (Hospice) When I took her to the Groomers she stood proud and dignified. She transformed into A Diva ! She prancess around the house always on my heal! Does anything to please me / and Im suppose to Babying her. ! The lady who adopted her and returned her did the right thing. Zsa Zsa needed a Loving unconditional home. A home that sees her for the BRIGHT VERY VIBRANT Dog SHE IS !!!! She may have cancer... but ya'd never know it if ya saw her interact with my cats and my husband and I . She runs 90 miles an hour and then crashes just like a puppy for a 30 minute winker. Like me... Ha Senior to Senior adoption . To the Family who did the most Loving thing by giving her up for an adopted home. I am sorry for your loss. But know well That Zsa Zsa is in a Super Well Loved Home where she is going to live out her days , however many they will be.... we will enjoy every one :) Comfort is our goal. To the Lady who returned Zsa Zsa ,,, your loss our gain! The Staff at Peggy Adams was sweet. Jan our Adoption Counselor was the BEST Kudos Miss Jan.. will be bringing Zsa Zsa for a visit !!! If your looking for a healthy adoptee Peggy Adams Is the BEST ! We adopted from the local animal pound 2 kitties that landed up being God awfull ill. Thank God we have an awesome vet. Thanks to Peggy Adams Staff I have a forever Girlfriend !!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 27, 2013

more

February 27, 2013

CAUTION!!! BEWARE!!! PEGGY ADAMS KILLS DEFENSLESS PETS I stupidly brought in a sweet little kitten that was homeless it showed no signs of agression whatsoever but it was scared even so it did not attempt to bite or scratch me it trusted me and I stupidly trusted Peggy Adams when I called back a week or so later to inquire how it was doing they told me it had been destroyed can you imagine how I felt they said it had behaveour problems IT WAS A KITTEN what and how do these people think! they say they are a humane non kill fascility that do not euthanize unless of agreesion or desease they are LYERS I urge you to be careful of these so called do gooders unless you wish to adopt a pet stay away they are NO DAM GOOD!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

Peggy Adams is great. They are such an amazing shelter and amazing part of the community. I love going to their events they put on (and bring my dogs) - especially their annual walk for the animals. Thank you for all that you do. :)

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

This is a highly caring and professional organization. They made adopting my new best friend easy. If you are thinking about adopting a dog or a cat, then you should pay them a visit. Their adoption staff listened to my needs and helped me find the perfect dog. Bravo!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers