Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
82 Reviews
1234.902445
| 1 2 3 4...9 |
Write A Review
February 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We were looking for a small older dog to love and keep us company. I looked on adopt a pet for about a week and e-mailed stories and pictures to myself of many dogs. i kept going back and looking at Chrissy, a 9 year old poodle/shitzu mix with special needs. I e-mailed them and received a prompt reply from Linda Weissman. She was very honest about Chrissy, timid and her eye issue. We went to Peggy Adams 2/02/2014 to meet Chrissy, Michelle took us into a room and brought Chrissy in, she loves tennis balls so she played with one while with us, then another young lady (unfortunately I can't remember her name) who fostered Chrissy came in to describe her to us. Everyone was very patient, I couldn't ask for a kinder group of volunteers. We adopted Chrissy, our first night together, she slept on our bed with us. This day was especially significant as it was the 3 year anniversary our last dog Teddy passed away, it was absolutely a coincidence, I think Teddy helped us find Chrissy. They have a senior to senior program, if a person over 55 adopts a dog over 5 years old there is no charge for the dog. I was so impressed with their program, I made a donation anyway.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Absolutely nothing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 4, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 4, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

We lost our little chihuahua suddenly and my husband was devastated; the saddest I've ever seen him in 35 years of marriage. I would have waited awhile but the house was so quiet and empty. He found Peggy Adams online and saw that they had a few chihuahuas for adoption. We went for a visit and saw Pedro and we were hooked.
The facility was clean. The dogs were clean. There seemed to be plenty of volunteers to give the dogs attention. Our adoption counsellor was great. She made us, and the dog feel comfortable. I did have a question and the behavioral counsellor called me back right away.
I think the best part has been the follow up. They don't just give you a dog and send you on your way. They offer weekly obedience/socialization classes. We've had dogs all of our married lives and have never had trainers explain how to work with a dog so well.
They have also contacted us to see how things are going. This was a wonderful place and I would recommend it to anyone.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

After losing our last two cats, the house seemed so empty. We went to Peggy Adams seeking 2 older cats, but after several hours we could not find the right match, so despite our ages (76) we looked for kittens. I cannot say enough about the environment and the attention these little guys enjoy here. The place is spotless, the affection of the staff and volunteers is genuine, and the warmth of the place is infectious. In over 50 years of marriage, and now, our 9th and 10th cats, I can honestly state that these two are the most affectionate, devoted and beautiful little guys, and I thank the Peggy Adams shelter with creating the right environment to prepare these little guys for adoption. Soho and Chelsea display love for us and each other - and everyone who comes to visit. I wouldn't consider any other place for adopting a great loving pet.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

As Shakespeare said, "Don't fix what ain't broke"

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 18, 2013

more

December 18, 2013

I spent several months debating whether to add a playmate for my cat Buddy. I felt bad for leaving him alone for so many hours while my husband and I were at work. When we finally decided to adopt, I looked online and came across an adoption event at Peggy Adams Animal Rescue. I had never been in a pet shelter, but I expected to see sad little cats in solitary confinement. Instead, mostly all the cats were grouped in cubicles with glass fronts and room to move around. I was able to narrow my choice by the personality descriptions listed for each kitty. We adopted little Olivia that day! I only wish we had done this sooner! She is sweet with us and is teaching Buddy good manners.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 11, 2013

more

December 11, 2013

My family and I went to Peggy Adams and adopted our adorable Manchester terrier mix puppy Cookie. The interview was extensive and thorough, to ensure that WE were acceptable for HER! This was very pleasing to see--that the organization cared so much to ensure the safety and well-being of their animals. The facility is immaculate, state-of-the-art, and spacious. Anyway, three weeks later, after I saw that Cookie's brother still had yet to be adopted, I went back to Peggy Adams and brought home her brother Buddy. Now our family is complete!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more fairs and festivals. I love to see all the vendors at one time and in one place--one stop shopping (and learning)!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 11, 2013

more

December 11, 2013

My fiance and I visited Peggy Adam's on a whim shortly after loosing our 10 year old pit bull to cancer. I personally wasn't ready to adopt a new family member yet, but then we came across Spanky, a 1 year old Chihuahua mix with a personality 100 times bigger than his 10 lb stature. He came home with us the next day.

Peggy Adam's is by far one of the best animal rescues I have visited. The facility is beautiful and the staff was all friendly. Everyone was so happy and excited that Spanky found a new home. It isn't very often you find people who are so passionate about what they do anymore, it was a breath of fresh air.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

The facility was very clean and well kept. The kitties had plenty of toys and food and water. The staff were not only very helpful and nice, but very patient with us while we tried to choose 2 cats with our 2 children. The process was made easy and affordable. I would highly recommend Peggy Adams to anyone...

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

We had one rescue dog named Bella (Jack Russell) and two rescue cats (Mia & Moostacheo) and decided that Bella needed a playmate. We began our search at Peggy Adams and found a Jack Russell named Blitz who we immediately feel in love with, unfortunately he was already up for adoption. We decided to check on him anyways just in case the "owners to be" backed out. Upon meeting with Michelle, she told us that in fact the owners had not shown up and they had until noon the following day to pick up Blitz. Michelle then put an additional hold on Blitz for us and we went home and waited. Sure enough the next day at 12:01 Michelle called and told us we could come pick up Blitz. They had us bring Bella as well so she could meet Blitz and see how they interact. After their date went well we signed our docs paid some cash and took Blitz home. His new name is Rosco and he is the perfect addition to our family! I should also mention that Rosco is Heartworm positive and Peggy Adams is paying for his treatment which cost around $1,200.00!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

Had 16 min Great Dane & found victor 14 mon Great Dane at your place . Wow what a great dog he's perfect & they love each other look like brothers. Your place was so clean & impressive . Telling everyone how great your place is . Thxs so much for victor

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

In 2009 the staff at Peggy Adams Animal Rescue League helped my family when our 14 1/2 year old cat was sick. Everyone was caring, supportive, and Frankie died peacefully. In 2011, our other 14 1/2 year old cat was sick. Once again, the staff at Peggy Adams was there to help our family through Angie's loss. About a month ago, my husband and 4 year old daughter came with me to find new family members. We spent much of the afternoon finding 2 kittens to complete our household. We met many cats and kitties who were very well cared for. Once again, we felt supported by the caring staff who made sure Tommy was healthy enough to come home with us and that Misha could handle living with a preschooler. As our kittens settled comfortably into their new home, Peggy Adams staff checked in on their progress. We are grateful for this wonderful place that cares for animals and the people who love them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers