Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.909095
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

Modesto Artists have worked with Peer Recovery Art Project for years and feels that this non-profit has enriched not just the lives of the artists that it helps but also has enriched the community. It is admired how empowering the organization is to people of all cultures and ages. Thank you Peer Recovery Art Project for all you do and will do in the future.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 29, 2012

more

May 29, 2012

I have worked with Peer Recovery Art project as a catalyst, and momentum builder for many of our youth who need an outlet and alternative to programs that may not be able tor relate. Our youth have shown an interest and a desire for more creative programming as such.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 28, 2012

more

May 28, 2012

Peer Recovery Art Project has given my son a voice via his Art about the Injustices in Society. Expressing himself via Art has allowed him to grow, be aware of his emotions and take his Art to a whole new journey/level. He is proudly a Tattoo Artist in one of the best Tattoo/Piercing Shops in the East Bay. His career as an Artist began in Modesto via Peer Recovery Art Project. Thank you to John Black, Monica Silva and all the Staff that make people's Creative Expression come alive. Si Se Puede...Que Viva La Salud Mental :)! Ana G. Aviles

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 27, 2012

more

May 27, 2012

I have worked within the mental health field as an Occupational Therapist for 20 plus years, and became acquainted with Peer Recovery Art Project several years ago, when they launched. SInce then, I have remained in contact-several times a year and participated in Peer Recovery Art Project, both as a participant in showing art, and overall attendance to their events. Peer Recovery demonstrates there is a road towards a worthwhile life beyond a mental health diagnosis. As my involvement grows, I realize that Peer Recovery Art Project is at the forefront of living this concept, and demonstrating this to surrounding communities. No one mentions mental health within the organization-yet everything that is Peer Recovery is about promoting sound mental health. It is all about welcoming inclusion, and the knowing that everyone now, has a place to go where they can feel involved, creative, and grow within an active recovery. Truly this organization is at the forefront of something remarkable-art, in all its forms-in a setting which promotes wellness for young through old-all within a design that not only states community involvement but ACTIVATES community involvement. This is accomplished by attracting all members of the community-together, with no boundaries. Recovery within a mental health diagnosis is now a possibility for many, and a program such as Peer Recovery assists the individual to remain a part of their own communinty. Truly, this is a concept whose time has come! Debra@loving1withmentalillness.com

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2012

more

May 22, 2012

What's great about Art For Freedom Art Gallery is it's "open door" access it offers to all local artists wishing to show their work. After many years away from artmaking I started putting together a body of work late last summer, wondering where or when I would be able to show my paintings. As one of the artist who was in the group show when they first opened to the public, I have since seen a variety of artwork from quite a number of local talent, indicating the scope of the gallery's inclusive outreach. I've been encouraging my former students who are pursuing their own art to contact the gallery that's there to serve them - serving to benefit both them and the community.

Jim Abuan

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2012

more

May 22, 2012

The uniqueness of this organization is that it combines the two missions of supporting the strengths of people in recovery and helping to revitalize the downtown core of a business district. This is a vision that is powerful because it asks a basic question: "Who is responsible for taking care of our community?" This groups answer is that "It's everybody, including us." Many mental health groups talk about the importance of people in recovery belonging, but end up talking mostly about caseloads, funding cuts, crisis, and paperwork. This group puts first things first: community for everyone.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2012

more

May 22, 2012

Peer Recovery Art Project and the Arts for Freedom Programs are truly inspirational! The gallery has brought a new light to the downtown Modesto area that shines bright! It is a warm welcoming environment and I am blessed to know such humanitarians as John, Linda, and the rest of the gallery crew and artists. I am a local graphic artist and I have had nothing but positive encouragement and interest in my work and ideas. This place truly warms the heart!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2012

more

May 22, 2012

the peer recovery arts project is at the forefront in the field of what works, recovery through action, through self-directed expression, through proving that mental health diagnosis says nothing about one's potential. the painted brain stands proudly behind this incredible project with a whole heart and with open arms. - dave leon, editor and director of the painted brain magazine

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 19, 2012

more

May 19, 2012

For too long having a mental health diagnosis has been associated with failure. Peer Recovery Art Project defies that belief by focusing on strenghts and artistic talents. The mission of inclusion based on what people can do (instead of what they can't do) sets the project apart from the rest. They are a model for others in their enthusiasm and tireless effort to disappear the stigma associated with mental illness. Downtown Modesto supports this project, I support it and you can too!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers