Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.909095
Write A Review
May 24, 2012

more

May 24, 2012

I love Peer Recovery Art Project! I am a jewelry artists tat was invited to share my experience, strength and hope with gallery. I believe that Peer Recovery Art Project is a needed organization in this community. I am in recovery from alcohol, drugs and bipolar disorder. I have finally found a place to call home. Thank you John Black, staff and all the volunteers atPeer Recovery Art Project.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 23, 2012

more

May 23, 2012

I work for another local non-profit and collaborated with John Black to procure handmade and painted bowls created by local artists. John put the word out and the Peer Recovery Art Project clients stepped up! People of all ages, races, disability, and varying levels of recovery worked together to create some of the most beautiful pieces of art I have ever seen. I have visited the gallery on several occasions and am always touched by the support given to the clients of the program. Not only has this program helped individuals overcome personal obstacles, it has helped to revive the artistic presence in downtown Modesto. The community as a whole is better because of the Peer Recovery Art Project.

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2012

more

May 22, 2012

What's great about Art For Freedom Art Gallery is it's "open door" access it offers to all local artists wishing to show their work. After many years away from artmaking I started putting together a body of work late last summer, wondering where or when I would be able to show my paintings. As one of the artist who was in the group show when they first opened to the public, I have since seen a variety of artwork from quite a number of local talent, indicating the scope of the gallery's inclusive outreach. I've been encouraging my former students who are pursuing their own art to contact the gallery that's there to serve them - serving to benefit both them and the community.

Jim Abuan

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2012

more

May 22, 2012

The uniqueness of this organization is that it combines the two missions of supporting the strengths of people in recovery and helping to revitalize the downtown core of a business district. This is a vision that is powerful because it asks a basic question: "Who is responsible for taking care of our community?" This groups answer is that "It's everybody, including us." Many mental health groups talk about the importance of people in recovery belonging, but end up talking mostly about caseloads, funding cuts, crisis, and paperwork. This group puts first things first: community for everyone.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2012

more

May 22, 2012

This innovative project focuses on people's strengths and talents NOT diagnoses. It affords opportunities for artists to show their work in a public gallery, free of charge, and for the public to view gallery exhibits, free of charge. It helps people learn new skills, builds self-esteem, and provides a cadre of volunteers to assist other community agencies with projects.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2012

more

May 22, 2012

Peer Recovery Art Project and the Arts for Freedom Programs are truly inspirational! The gallery has brought a new light to the downtown Modesto area that shines bright! It is a warm welcoming environment and I am blessed to know such humanitarians as John, Linda, and the rest of the gallery crew and artists. I am a local graphic artist and I have had nothing but positive encouragement and interest in my work and ideas. This place truly warms the heart!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 22, 2012

more

May 22, 2012

the peer recovery arts project is at the forefront in the field of what works, recovery through action, through self-directed expression, through proving that mental health diagnosis says nothing about one's potential. the painted brain stands proudly behind this incredible project with a whole heart and with open arms. - dave leon, editor and director of the painted brain magazine

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 21, 2012

more

May 21, 2012

The Peer recovery Art Project Gallery is a very heart warming place. When I go there I feel like I can do anything. I have made many friends at the art gallery including some of the workers. John Black is a very nice gallery owner and I am very thankful that he opened the gallery. The gallery is very fun to go to and I love going there. Most of my family does art that is show at the gallery which has helped to get me into the act. I also love how they let me help at the gallery too. Showing my work at the gallery and taking classes there has helped me to become more confident in my art. Elijah B. 9 yrs old.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 21, 2012

more

May 21, 2012

It is very fun doing art and getting to show my art. I love everything about the gallery. Doing art classes there is very fun and I love it too. Lucas B. 6yrs old

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 21, 2012

more

May 21, 2012

I have been volunteering and showing art for the Peer Recovery Art Project gallery since its opening and for six months prior to their gallery opening. I can say for a fact that I would not of turned to art or giving it much though as a tool to use for an outlet without being introduced to this program. I have gained confidence in my ability as an artist since becoming affiliated with the PRAP gallery. I also greatly enjoy every minute I get to spend at the gallery volunteering. I love getting to help other artist find a home to share their works. The environment created by this program is so warm, loving and inviting. My only real wish for this program is that we get bigger so we can help more people!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the community. I have seen diffrent artist come in who have never felt accepted or good enough come in and find a place here. I have heard artist say that would of never show work or had confidence without our program.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it bigger so we can reach more people. I would love to see us be able to help as many people as we can in our community!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

My experiance has been wonderful. It has giving me purpos and has allowed to do something I absolutly love, help people and work with art!

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It has helped me to get out of my home and be involved with the community. I have gained such a high amount of self esteem and pride form doing the work that i have. I love knowing that I am doing something good for the community.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

My self image has improved grealty. I am very greatful that I have be able to be involved with this program.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers