Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.964295
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
June 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The Pearl S. Buck International, Inc. is a beautiful oasis that tells the truly remarkable and inspiring story of a woman determined to make a difference in the world. She did it with her writing and her dedication to mixed race children who needed a home, and needed to be accepted. Everyone who visits leaves a changed person. This is a place where there is a place for everyone.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find ways for more people to know about it

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am taken by the dedication of the staff and the volunteers to the mission of the organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered at PSBI for the past 3 years and have found it to be an extremely well run organization with a keen focus on increasing intercultural understanding and improving the lives of Asian children. Pearl Buck would be so proud to see how the organization has carried on her legacy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer at Pearl S. Buck International for 35 years. I have seen many changes, in mission, leadership, personal. The past 10 years this non profit has fulfilled its mission of helping those children Peal S. Buck had the vision to know needed forever families and care and education to give them a base to expand their dreams. There are so many success stories and children who have been welcomed into homes that it makes your head spin. My husband and I have been donors and now with my granddaughter sponsor a girl the same age. We hope by introducing her to the mission of PSBI, she will continue our legacy.
The staff, lead by CEO Janet Mintzer and Teri Mandic, are the most professional people we have known. We are retired professionals and can truly give this staff a 5 Star rating and HIGH FIVES for their commitment to continuing the legacy of a woman of vision, Pearl S. Buck

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Having attended numerous events at Pearl S. Buck's barn as a teenager I always knew when I retired from teaching that I wanted to become a docent there. Having done so for nearly a year my results have even exceeded my expectations. The volunteers are some of the nicest people I have ever met, the professionalism trickles down from the CEO to all who help out. It's apparent that the volunteers truly love their jobs and care about the mission of Pearl S. Buck International, Inc. A more dedicated group I have never been a part of.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can think of nothing because changes are addressed as situations arise.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 26, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

For the last four weeks I have volunteered as an intern at Pearl S. Buck International. I am forever changed by the ever-present spirit of Miss Buck, that is very much alive and well at Green Hills Farm. I am now a sponsor of a beautiful girl who shares my daughter's name. I am struck by how little I really knew about this woman who used her voice, her pen, and her position to bring the plight of the world's children to the public doorstep, and then challenge society to act. So I have been challenged. So I will act.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The organization is stellar, its staff unique and committed to the mission and the legacy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have volunteered at Pearl Buck for about 10 years. The staff is so hardworking, sincere, honest and dedicated to improving the lives of children and making "forever families". It is an honor to be to be a tiny part of this effort. The CEO, Janet Mintzer has been amazing in building the program, restoring the house, and leading the organization. The house is really a treasure of museum. So different from other sites. We know people who have adopted their children through Pearl Buck. Each family has such loving, professional, and positive life-changing story to tell and rejoice in.

I wish all non-profits were run as well as Pearl Buck.... or even run 1/2 as well.

March 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a docent at Pearl S. Buck's home for more than 15 years. She was an amazing woman who overcame incredible odds and succeeded in changing the world. The more I learn about her accomplishments, the more I marvel. Because of Pearl Buck, adopted children did not have to be matched to their adoptive families by race, religion and ethnicity. The organization she founded continues her good works here and abroad. My husband served on the PSBI Board of Directors and we sponsored a child. But, my husband's claim to fame (acording to him) is that he hired Janet Mintzer as the CEO. She is an amazing lady with more energy and dedication than any of us have a right to expect.
March 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I have had the privilege of hosting numerous social workers and foster mothers from Korea, China and Vietnam in our home near Pearl S Buck International over a period of quite a few years. It is such a joy to learn to know these women and the staff at PSBI over the 4 to 5 days that lodging is needed. The dedication of the staff and also the workers from other countries is truly inspiring. The joy that that they bring as children and adoptive families are brought together is poignant as they carry on the legacy of Pearl S Buck. We have been blessed by volunteering with PSBI.

We are also sponsoring a child from Vietnam and are thankful for this opportunity to enrich the life of one child by adding to his financial support for schooling, clothing and food.

The more I learn about Pearl S Buck, the woman, the more impressed I am that she was able to accomplish so much in the lives of children at a time when they were mostly ignored. Continuing the work she began is important to me not only because she started her organization here in our community, but more importantly because of bringing love, encouragement, and family to the children who otherwise have little to look forward to.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The staff at Pearl Buck is so hardworking and professional. Pearl Buck International helps children to be adopted by loving families, they support schools and medical needs for hundreds of thousands children. They preserve a beautiful National Landmark in the heart of Buck County. Pearl Buck International has truly improved the lives of millions.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Give an interpretative house tour of the Pearl S. Buck House, work in the International Gift Shop, process letters from sponsored children, work in the gardens, assist in the archives, and more. Volunteer