Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
March 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 26, 2013

I have been a fan of Pearl S Buck and associated with Pearl S Buck International for decades. Pearl Buck was an amazing author, woman and humanitarian. PSBI carries on that legacy with sponsorship, ... more

March 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have decades of experience with the PSBI organization as a volunteer, child sponsor, visitor and attendee at events. I know first hand that the missions are clearly defined, the staff is fully dedicated, and the majority of donated funds go directly to the programs and children. PSBI has a global impact with it's U.S. based historical landmark headquarters and outreach in numerous countries around the world. Pearl S Buck's legacy is truly being kept alive. A worthwile destination and non-profit in every sense. Sincerely, Wendy Miller Thomas, resident of New Jersey
November 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a fan of Pearl S Buck and associated with Pearl S Buck International for decades. Pearl Buck was an amazing author, woman and humanitarian. PSBI carries on that legacy with sponsorship, adoption, global and community programs. Pearl Buck's house is a museum of treasures, exposing us to both the country life she led with her family and world wide cultures she exposed her readers to. Worth a visit to the website and home. The Global Marketplace at www.psbi.org is one of my favorite gift options for those who have everything or those who need a reminder that others don't.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none at this time-the staff is dedicated and hard working as is the Volunteer Association

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved in promoting the mission of this organization for two and a half years. Last year I travelled to the Philippines and saw this mission in action firsthand. The work they do on behalf of children is wonderful and the stories of the lives that have been changed as a part of the legacy and mission are heartfelt and inspiring.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have volunteered at Pearl Buck for about 10 years. The staff is so hardworking, sincere, honest and dedicated to improving the lives of children and making "forever families". It is an honor to be to be a tiny part of this effort. The CEO, Janet Mintzer has been amazing in building the program, restoring the house, and leading the organization. The house is really a treasure of museum. So different from other sites. We know people who have adopted their children through Pearl Buck. Each family has such loving, professional, and positive life-changing story to tell and rejoice in.

I wish all non-profits were run as well as Pearl Buck.... or even run 1/2 as well.

March 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a docent at Pearl S. Buck's home for more than 15 years. She was an amazing woman who overcame incredible odds and succeeded in changing the world. The more I learn about her accomplishments, the more I marvel. Because of Pearl Buck, adopted children did not have to be matched to their adoptive families by race, religion and ethnicity. The organization she founded continues her good works here and abroad. My husband served on the PSBI Board of Directors and we sponsored a child. But, my husband's claim to fame (acording to him) is that he hired Janet Mintzer as the CEO. She is an amazing lady with more energy and dedication than any of us have a right to expect.
March 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I have had the privilege of hosting numerous social workers and foster mothers from Korea, China and Vietnam in our home near Pearl S Buck International over a period of quite a few years. It is such a joy to learn to know these women and the staff at PSBI over the 4 to 5 days that lodging is needed. The dedication of the staff and also the workers from other countries is truly inspiring. The joy that that they bring as children and adoptive families are brought together is poignant as they carry on the legacy of Pearl S Buck. We have been blessed by volunteering with PSBI.

We are also sponsoring a child from Vietnam and are thankful for this opportunity to enrich the life of one child by adding to his financial support for schooling, clothing and food.

The more I learn about Pearl S Buck, the woman, the more impressed I am that she was able to accomplish so much in the lives of children at a time when they were mostly ignored. Continuing the work she began is important to me not only because she started her organization here in our community, but more importantly because of bringing love, encouragement, and family to the children who otherwise have little to look forward to.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

PSBI is an incredible foundation. Janet Mintzer (CEO/President) has dedicated her time and energy to help continue Peal Buck's Legacy. Her leadership and her staff are terrific all around. We sponsor a child from Thailand, have a nephew that will be participating in the Korean Culture Camp next week, we are Corporate Sponsors, and have helped with the Legacy Tour promotions. I have attended and helped with many events at PSBI and find the attendees have nothing but praise to say about the grounds and the employees at PSBI. This organization is run like a real non-profit should be run...responsibly...Congrads to all the employees and the volunteers at this organization...your work is incredible

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I will admit bias, I worked for Pearl for a year in '04-05. Aside from all the good work the organization does in this world, there is one greater good here: This is an organization dedicated to an amazing woman. How many organizations are there out there dedicated to the legacy of a woman? Not many. This is one of them. She was not only globally recognized - she was globally focused. If they had more money, the good that PSBI could do in this world is without bounds. The worth of an organization is in its ability to touch the lives of specific individuals. Research them and discover.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2005

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

We are using PSBI to adopt a baby from China. They have been wonderful! PSBI has helped us navigate the uncertainty of International adoption, and smooth the inevitable up's and down's. While I've observed other agencies engaging in questionable behaviors to place children, PSBI is honest, professional, trustworthy and always "does the right thing". It has been a pleasure working with them to grow our family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a nonprofit professional, and also a neighbor and part-time house-museum staff, I am continually amazed at the executive director's impeccable organizational management and leveraging of human resources that make PSBI not only a world-class health and human services organization but also a mecca for people interested in racial equity, human rights and women's leadership. That such an important international organization can also have the feel of a community based organization - through its garden and readers-and-writers' clubs, teen leadership programs, and family days - is quite magic.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 3, 2012

more

October 3, 2012

PSBI has a strong and deep mission; an outstanding staff; an impressive and dedicated Board; and results which have literally changed lives for decades. One cannot help but be moved by the success stories of women and children helped by PSBI in countless ways - through adoption, through provision of health services, through assistance with education and livelihood training, through support in orphanages, and through partnership with other countries who are building their own infrastructure to assist disenfranchised children. And in addition PSBI preserves and reinforces the legacy and homestead of a remarkable woman whose humanitarian efforts complement her luminous literary accomplishments.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Spread the legacy of Pearl S. Buck to visitors as a docent, beautify the gardens on the 68-acre estate for 22,000+ visitors to enjoy, help organize and work at special events open to the local community, help run the International Gift Shop, among MANY other things. Volunteer