Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
1234.95
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 1, 2013

more

July 1, 2013

I am a Turkish-Cypriot from North Cyprus and I have seen what PeacePlayers International has done for my country. By brining children together from divided communities, PeacePlayers is providing hope that peace is possible in my country.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 24, 2013

more

June 24, 2013

I was fortunate enough to witness firsthand the amazing work being done in Israel by Peace Players International. The looks of excitement and joy on the kid's faces as they interacted with the staff and each other was wonderful to see. Here were kids who were taught fear and hatred sharing this experience together and learning they are not so different. What a unique and special organization PPI truly is. They truly are making a difference.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hope that someday it could expand to other areas who would benefit greatly from such an organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 24, 2013

more

June 24, 2013

PeacePlayers International is a unique and outstanding organization that uses basketball to bridge divides between young people in areas of conflict and post-conflict. I am amazed by the stories I hear about PeacePlayers participants that are now best friends with children they previously had no contact with or understanding of. PeacePlayers uses basketball to not only change perceptions, but also to educate children and cultivate leaders of tomorrow through their Leadership Development Program. The organization has changed many lives and is helping bring about peace in our world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 24, 2013

more

June 24, 2013

My experience with PeacePlayers International has not only opened my eyes to divided communities overseas that are still entrenched in conflict, years after physical violence has ended, but has also taught me the power of sport as a means of bringing together communities of divided children. PeacePlayers' use of basketball instead of a more internationally acknowledged sport like soccer is an intentional effort to use a game that is not traditional to either side of any of the conflicts they work with. Additionally, their emphasis on leadership development makes their program unique. The Leadership Development Program helps train former PPI participants to not only become leaders in the PPI program, but to become leaders in their communities. This organization truly is one of a kind.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 24, 2013

more

June 24, 2013

I was able to observe Peace Players in action in Israel. I was impressed by the both the capabilities and dedication of all of the individuals in the PPI organization. They care deeply about the children and the love they show the kids is clearly reflected back by the children. When you see the kids playing together and not hating each other, it is hard to imagine this program not having a profound effect on these kids as they get older. I was privileged to be able to be able to spend a week observing the program and getting to know the PPI people and the children. It is a wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 13, 2013

more

June 13, 2013

I recently completed an internship with PeacePlayers International, and it was the best professional experience I've ever had. PeacePlayers is doing incredible and important work: bringing children in divided communities together through basketball to help them build a more peaceful society.
I
had the great pleasure of meeting the leaders from PeacePlayers' four sites in the Middle East, South Africa, Cyprus and Northern Ireland during a conference, and their dedication to the children they work with and their passion for peace was inspiring. Over the course of the week, the leaders themselves developed close bonds with one another. Even though they came from different backgrounds, PeacePlayers united them.
Everyone I worked with in this organization embodies a positive, encouraging and inclusive spirit that is at the heart of PeacePlayers' mission.
Through writing and editing blog entires and updating their Facebook and Twitter accounts during my internship, I strove to increase awareness of PeacePlayers' incredible work and to get as many people as possible to be just as enthusiastic about it as I always will be.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013

more

June 12, 2013

I am so impressed by the work of Peaceplayers International. I have been following their blogs, and the stories of unity and understanding that is being fostered with children through basketball is truly inspiring.
PPI makes me realize the importance of changing the hearts and minds of the
world's youth in the goal toward ending conflict and achieving peace.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013

more

June 12, 2013

Peace Players International strives to achieve one of the most difficult but important goals in the world: World Peace. Many talk about the importance of this goal, but few make the effort to achieve it. Peace Players International does. And it does it through those who are most likely to change people's ideas, attitudes, and behaviors in the future--children. My wife and I had the extraordinary opportunity to attend a PPI basketball tournament in Israel. The players were Palestinian and Israeli girls. We were deeply moved by the cooperation between the girls and the respect, compassion and affection they showed each other. In attendance were parents of the girls. The parents shared with my wife and me how challenging it was for them to support their daughters' participation in PPI, but they said they did it for their daughters' futures. What could be a more important reason--and one that would not exist if there were no PPI.

Arno Selco
Ithaca, NY

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013

more

June 12, 2013

I have been following PPI since spring 2010 and I have been an enthusiastic supporter ever since. Their ability to do so much as a pretty small organization, their commitment to quality in everything they do, and their dedication to improving the world one basketball practice at a time is admirable. I love that they work hard to reach out to donors and also maintain an excellent blog where anyone can see their work in a more personal way. I also appreciate their willingness to welcome visitors to their offices - went I visited Belfast 2 years, I had the pleasure of meeting the local and international staff and attending a coaches' training. After over a year of reading and hearing about their methods, it was awesome to see them in action. PPI is most definitely one the nonprofits I look up to the most and one that I am proud to support.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 7, 2013

more

June 7, 2013

I've had the pleasure of following PPI's work for 3 years now, reading their blogs, visiting their offices in DC and Nicosia, and seeing their staff in action with kids playing basketball. I'm really amazed at the dedication of their coaches to bring out the best in each child, while providing real training in both the sport and in leadership skills. (Also especially like their videos.) Real social change, from the ground up!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Changes? I wish I could finance them myself.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers