Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
123.7333345
Write A Review
April 1, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

more

April 1, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

I live on the other side of the country in Virginia where we do have animal abuse and neglect problems like every other place (i.e., too many!) but not so much of donkeys, who as one of the other reviewers said, are stodgy and not glamorous. Very true, and so they need help even more! The high fundraising costs @ PVDR are unfortunate and I am sure Mark and Amy are the first ones who would like to have a better solution, but it is what it is. They don't have the time to do it themselves; what is important that they are out there every day giving all they have in time and devotion to the hands-on work. I don't think $90,000 annually for two people is a lot. I am sure this just covers their home, utilities and absolute necessities. Why, I'm sure they don't even have time to spend money on anything else. I am a volunteer animal (pets) rescuer and TNR practitioner myself and I understand and admire what they do.
February 3, 2014
11 people found this review helpful

more

February 3, 2014
11 people found this review helpful

After checking some charity ratings sites, I'm having some doubts about how money is spent, and I totally applaud the work the Meyers' have done. The thought of neglected and abused donkeys makes me sick, and I think donkeys and burros are totally worthy of everyone's donations, the most folks can afford. However, the Meyers' draw a combined $90,000 salary (as of 2012). Frankly, I think that's a lot. You can think me wrong on that, okay. And it does bug me that about half our donations goes to fundraising. Can't there be a better way to get the word out? The last plea I got this week even included six 1¢ stamps to supposedly help me when postage goes up. (?) Why waste even six cents this way? And unless they have printing costs donated, all the glossy postcards of donkeys cost money too. I don't know, I'm just feeling a little conflicted. As an ex-marketing person myself, I hate seeing donations going to greedy PR b@stards.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 5, 2013
11 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 5, 2013
11 people found this review helpful

I really admire Mark and Amy Meyers for spending their lives helping animals as stodgy and unglamorous as the donkeys and burros. They care deeply for these animals and I want to help them. However, I have a huge problem with the amount ot money they spend on fundraising. According to Charity Navigator, they spend more money on fundraising (46%) than they spend on the donkeys (44%). This is unacceptable! I sent them $300 so far this year. It bugs me to think that nearly half of my money went into the pockets of the over-priced middle men.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

1. To save money on fundraising, try to get people to donate online as much as possible. Look into a website called networkforgood. They only charge 3% to process donations. 2. In your mailled solicitations, have the return envelopes addressed to your own farm instead of the rip-off processing centers.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 12, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

September 12, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

I cry thinking about the suffering, neglected, abused and forgotten donkeys. Mark and Amy Meyers who founded Peaceful Valley Donkey Rescue are the true hero's. in addition to all the huge amount of work they do, they still have the time to keep us informed of what's going on every step of the way! Please read Marks' books, Talking With Donkeys' and you will understand why He does what He does! "El nombre de burro es Melquiades."

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

more

September 5, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

I am very choosy about who I give money to. I researched and found these people to truly care and help donkeys and a few other critters. You don't hear of many rescue's going above and beyond as they do at PVDR. My goal is to visit them in person one day and meet them and all those wonderful donkeys. Moneys goes to help the animals and thats what counts. Hopefully they will be able to continue this wonderful rescue and continue to help donkeys everywhere. It's hard work both physically and mentally. It takes special people to do what they do. They should be proud to call themselves rescuer's. A wonderful way to help is to have a automatic amount taken from your credit card monthly. It gets done without having to think about it, it's a good donation for a great cause.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep putting out those U-Tube video's. We need more. :-)

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

September 5, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

My love of donkeys lead me to PVDR and all the great work that they do. It's something special when you can see your donated monies at work. Mark Meyers, family, staff, and Burr Collies run a first rate operation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Wish them closer to me so that I may visit their open house days.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

November 18, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

November 18, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I hope that people will consider that more money may need to go towards fundraising when the need and the cause are less well known. When you look at the amazing work this charity does and how impactful they are in rescuing abused donkeys, I believe this charity is very worthy of donations. I am truly grateful that Peaceful Valley Donkey Rescue works tirelessly to provide a safe haven for the ever increasing number of donkeys in need.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 17, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

more

November 17, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

Who would think donkeys? But when it comes to abandoned and abused animals, no creature should have to live in deplorable conditions. Mar and Amy Myers have taken it upon themselves, traveling throughout the country to rescue these beautiful animals and give them a chance to heal physically as well as emotionally and live out their lives with dignity and without the fear of torture. While on a mission visiting one of their sanctuaries in Florida, Mark and Amy made a special visit to us to show their personal appreciation as donors. It is something we didn't expect, nor was it necessary, but it demonstrates their heartfelt thanks for all the support that they receive. You can be sure that your donations are going to a great cause and Peaceful Valley Donkey Rescue is run by truly dedicated people.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 18, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 18, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

I appreciate what this rescue does--donkeys are so smart and not appreciated enough. I do wish that a smaller percentage went to fundraising--I get so many envelopes, complete with postage stamps--but the founders are not taking huge salaries and I like that.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 10, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

July 10, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

I’ve donated before and I almost did again until I saw that sappy sentence on the envelope: ”I care about donkeys; Please tell Floyd I care.” I hate crap like this. Sappy story on the front of the envelope it was mailed in to.. This is a shame - way too much money coming up with sappy fund raising stuff and not enough on what’s really important. Oh what the heck, I’ll send in $5.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers