Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
1234.888895
Write A Review
November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

Pax Christi Metro New York (PCMNY) plays an invaluable role in making Catholics in and around New York aware of peace and justice issues. There are many aspects of PCMNY's work that I admire, but the event that I appreciate the most is the annual Pax Christi Way of the Cross. Each year Pax Christi volunteers remind hundreds of New Yorkers of the profound connection between Jesus's death on the cross and peacemaking by leading them through the fourteen stations of the cross on the streets of Manhattan. The diversity of the participants and the power of the experience had a lasting impact on me. In many ways, the Stations of the Cross is Pax Christi's signature event, proclaiming the group's mission to the city.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

Pax Christi Metro New York helps me to keep current regarding the issues of Peace and Justice that are happening in our nation and in the world. I am grateful for the commitment of the staff and board of directors who keep this organization running on a shoe string during difficult economic times. It is an inspiring organization that encompasses the elements of prayer, study and action that are the foundation of Pax Christi

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

Whenever there is a local, national and/or international incident which sets communities against each other, demonizing some and glorifying others, I look to Pax Christi Metro New York (PCNY) to disseminate a voice of reason and manifest a consciousness that we are all ONE, sisters and brothers sharing this planet with all creatures. From this posture, PCNY encourages decisions on local and national budgets and speaks out for marginal communities who have been silenced while encouraging them to regain their Voice.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

As an author of novels that deal with issues of peace and social justice, I’m impressed with how Pax Christi Metro New York gets out in front of the issues, raises public awareness of them, and organizes events that involve the community in promoting change. I have participated in a number of these events, including a recent commemoration of the anniversary of our dropping atomic bombs on Hiroshima and Nagasaki. I believe that the work of Pax Christi will influence political leaders to change their policies and bring the world closer to peace. I’m proud to be a member of this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

In this tumultuous era of continual war, with our nation's budgetary priorities focused more on weaponry than on human needs, we more than ever need citizens willing to stand courageously for peace and nonviolence. In Pax Christi Metro New York, I have found a thoughful, dedicated community whose members are willing to step beyond their comfort zones to tackle the critical issues of the day. Pax Christi members study and stand publicly against military excess; endeavor respectfully to engage with others who hold different viewpoints; and share insights, information, and practical information about how effectively to respond to situations, both local and global, in which violence needs to be countered. Being faithful to the Gospel injunction to love one's neighbor isn't always easy. It takes patience and practice. Pax Christi Metro New York shares with its members practical tools for living non-violently; nourishes its members with focused retreats by noted peacemakers; and helps equip its members to go into the world with a message of peace. I can think of no more important undertaking, nor any organization better suited to that task -- notwithstanding its small size and budget. Nor can I think of any organization from which I have personally derived, or witnessed, greater learning or benefit.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

Pax Christi Metro New York is a small powerhouse nonprofit poised to become so much more!
A multi-talented, resourceful Executive Director, generous volunteers and supporters/donors and a committed board produce a solid offering of diverse peace and justice events/programs throughout the year
that logically should not come from such a small organization. Its modus operandi of prayer, study and action ensure the entire person grows and participates in the ways of peacemaking; the interfaith collaborations facilitate community-wide actions for justice and opportunities to incarnate that unity is not sameness.
If I headed up a private equity fund and Pax Christi Metro New York was a private start-up, instead of a Catholic nonprofit spreading the peace of Christ, I would definitely be the first in line for the IPO. In fact, if I were a venture capitalist, I would invest heavily in Pax Christi Metro New York right now.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers