Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
1234.888895
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 7, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 27, 2012

For close to 40 years Pax Christi Metro New York has been leading the way to helping Catholics and many others in their desire to follow the non-violent Jesus. Through many activities such as the Goo... more

October 7, 2013

Pax Christi works tirelessly to present programs and activities that highlight the Gospel message of peace and reconciliation. The members are dedicated to self knowledge and personal growth as well as community education and activism. Although this is the international Catholic movement for peace people of all faiths are welcome. The goal of Pax Christi is to work with others to stem the tide of violence, intolerance and poverty in our own neighborhoods as well as in our global communities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more ways to attract the younger generation. Make global restoration one of the primary goals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2012

For close to 40 years Pax Christi Metro New York has been leading the way to helping Catholics and many others in their desire to follow the non-violent Jesus. Through many activities such as the Good Friday Walk for Peace in Manhattan and annual retreats and conferences members can put their desire for peace into action. There is no limit to the efforts of the many local groups supported by this regional center. We can always depend upon Metro New York for support, education and inspiration.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 22, 2011

Learning how to live as a nonviolent follower of Jesus, I have found Pax Christi Metro New York to be an excellent source for opportunities to meet with like minded people and learn how to do more and... more

October 5, 2013

This organization works for peace and justice and helps me sort through all the information available to see what is really happening. By working with them I am able to have an impact, where by myself I feel powerless to fight against injustice. I also have found out about how to follow in Jesus' nonviolent footsteps - learning through their conflict resolution workshops the context of Jesus' words about 'turning the other cheek' and 'walk another mile, if asked to walk one mile', what they really meant. And Kerux, their newsletter, always has great writing as well. I hope you can join us! Margaret A. Flanagan

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have a group in every parish in the dioceses of Brooklyn and New York.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 22, 2011

Learning how to live as a nonviolent follower of Jesus, I have found Pax Christi Metro New York to be an excellent source for opportunities to meet with like minded people and learn how to do more and be an active person choosing non violence in our troubled world. The retreats each year challenge me to grow in my understanding of how to follow Jesus and give peace to everyone I meet. The Way of the Cross across 42nd Street is my favorite part of Good Friday, the way the various groups tie in the theme each year is more powerful than the last. The networking helps me to find out what is really going on.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 3, 2013

more

October 3, 2013

This nonprofit has one paid staff member, who leads a couple of hundred volunteers in many initiatives throughout the calendar year. The initiatives center on prayer, study, and action, true to the mission of the national and international umbrella Pax Christi organizations.

Highlights
include a weekend prayerful retreat, a daylong study of a theme having to do with peace-building, a fast to remember the victims of atomic war, and a public witness with a dramatic Good Friday peace walk across Manhattan's 42nd Street. Local smaller groups are relatively autonomous and choose their own activities along the prayer, study, action spectrum.

Pax Christi has fostered my own call to peace-building, pointing me toward becoming a volunteer mediator with the New York Peace Institute. And it has led to close friendships with like-minded peace-builders!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...need more money! If we could hire another staff member, we could recruit a more diverse membership -- more youths, more minorities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2013

more

October 3, 2013

Pax Christi Metro NY has helped me focus on problems being faced by people, and inspired me to act for justice on their behalf and to work for peace for us all. Faithful, over the years, this group keeps me going. As a matter of fact it keeps many of us going together, towards a vision of a better future by trying to live this out right now.
Jean Fallon

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2013

more

October 3, 2013

This organization has inspired me to be a better person and contribute to the cause for peace in the world through the practice of nonviolence in my everyday life.
This has enabled me to be a person who reaches out to others and see them as fellow Christians on a journey.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

Pax Christi New York (PCMNY) has inspired and nourished me for over twenty-five years. Part of the international and national Catholic peace movement, PCMNY follows a model of prayer, study, action. In all it does, PCMNY is set on a solid foundation of a scripture based spirituality of non-violence. It is an excellent source of education on topics relating to peace and justice and it provides oppportunities to take action on these topics. The annual retreat, Fall Assembly, Good Friday Peace Walk, Hiroshima Day Remembrance and other events provide time for people to gather, support and energize each other to continue the work of peace building in our city and our world. Participating in PCMNY activities and volunteering on committees has allowed me to meet many people fully dedicated to nonviolence and peace building and they have inspired me to do more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

Pax Christi Metro New York has been an inspiration to me for many years, and a great support in my belief that a peaceful world is possible. I have been encouraged by the example of members participating in protests against violence, particularly war and nuclear weapons; advocating for policies that promote peace; and educating themselves and others about situations that need attention and nonviolent conflict resolution techniques. The annual awards events honor people engaged in such diverse expressions of peace as participating in Christian Peacemaking Teams that work with Palestinians and Israelis; teaching alternatives to violence in prisons; celebrating and teaching peace through the arts; educating for all cultures and religions, and creating local organizations to help those most in need.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

This is a chapter of the international Catholic peace movement. I am not a Catholic but I am inspired by the faith, commitment and activism of the beautiful people I have met in this organization. They do amazing things on a partial shoestring. The dedication is astonishing. The approach is faith, study and a action. That balance keeps the group focused in a way that makes them the change they are trying to create for a peaceful world of justice and mercy that reflects the peace of Christ.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 23, 2012

more

November 23, 2012

Pax Christi Metro New York is the New York face of the national and international Pax Christi movement. It provides coordination services for the many local Pax Christi groups in the greater New York metropolitan area, including my own, Downtown Brooklyn Pax Christi. PCMNY disseminates information about local activities relating to peace and justice. It provides opportunities, such as the Good Friday Stations of the Cross in central Manhattan, for a public expression of our spiritual commitment to peace. And it reaches out to other religious groups to strengthen the interfaith community's search for justice. Without peace, there is no justice; without justice there is no peace.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

My inolvement with PAX CHRISTI METRO NEW YORK keeps me open to a deepening awareness of our common humanity and the kinship between economic justice, freedom and harmony amongst peoples. My background is in Communications and Pastoral Care and I experience PAX CHRISTI as an extension of my livelhood and personal goals. Faith can only be vindicated by action and PAX CHRISTI METRO NEW YORK continues to expand awareness of its presence and engage people in its universal human values throughout the New York City area. Highlight events include the Annual Public STATIONS OF THE CROSS throughout the Wall Street neighborhood with over 2,000 witnesses drawing attention to the suffering in our city, country and world while identifying the very real obstacles to peace and equal opportunity that are omnipresent in our society; a multi-denominational and multi-Faith March each Spring in Queens that fosters solidarity among people of all faiths and walks of life as it witnesses to our need for more dialogue and understanding; annual Awards Dinner acknowledging significant contributions to peace and reconciliation (last year's award winners included a Rabbi who reconciled a violent racist to dialogue and conversion, a young woman completing a PhD in International Justice issues whose activities fueled an impressive dissertation offering tools for social change). Pax Christi offers Christian Conflict Resolution Programs and Speaker Events in schools, churches and other organizations and sponsors an annual weekend of spiritual retreat to refresh and inspire people in the fields of peace and justice. With increased efforts for further collaboration with other like-minded organizations, PAX CHRISTI METRO NEW YORK will continue to help keep my faith in action and inspire others to do the same.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers