Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
1234.982465
Write A Review
October 30, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 8, 2012

I have volunteered at PawPads for eight months and have greatly enjoyed every minute of it.. I am on the Saturday morning canine care team where we feed, groom,train, exercise and play with the dogs ... more

October 30, 2014

I was a volunteer on a canine care team for two years and have been a board member for four months. It has been highly rewarding expanding my role and helping PawPADs meet the needs of our clients, dogs, staff and donors. For dog lovers, I can suggest no more important volunteer opportunity. For potential donors, your money will be wisely used to raise and train wonderful canine partners for our clients. We, dogs and staff, are a big, happy family (I know it is a cliche....but true). It has been the best volunteer gig of my life.
July 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered at PawPads for eight months and have greatly enjoyed every minute of it.. I am on the Saturday morning canine care team where we feed, groom,train, exercise and play with the dogs and puppies. The Directors, Board Members and Volunteers are a close-knit family. We are all asked for input in many levels of PawPads operations including dog-training, event planning, cost-control, fund-raising, volunteer recruitment and others. I have met and worked with incredible people, and the interaction with the dogs is life-changing. I would highly recommend PawPads as a wonderful place to volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

I am currently serving as the secretary on the Board of Director's at PawPADs. My first opportunity as a Board member was to coordinate an appreciation dinner for the ‘backbone’ of the organization: the volunteers. At the event, I was able to meet many of the volunteers and I was amazed at their dedication to the mission of PawPADs – to train service dogs for people with a variety of disabilities. Under the guidance of the Executive Director, Linda Ball, the volunteers keep the dogs fed, groomed and socialized every day of the year. In addition to meeting the volunteers, I have also had the pleasure of meeting clients who now have a service dog and the benefits the dog has brought to their lives. For example, the diabetic alert dogs are able to tell the person when their blood sugar is low, giving the person the chance to check their blood sugar and treat it without having to resort to emergency measures. The dogs accompany the clients everywhere: home, school, work, etc. It is truly amazing what these dogs are capable of, and I am so proud to be a part of this organization!
October 17, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 31, 2013

PawPADs is a great organization and I'm proud to be associated with it! They take a main goal, training service dogs for people with physical mobility disabilities and Diabetic Alert Dogs, and use th... more

October 17, 2014

I have been a volunteer with PawPADs since 2011 and I am in my 2nd year as a member of the Board of Directors. I have had the great pleasure to see just how this organization changes lives through their many programs, some of which including working with veterans and youth at risk, as well as the clients with whom our dogs are ultimately placed.

PawPADs has touched so many lives in so many different ways thanks to the leadership and vision of Executive Director, Linda Ball.

I am so proud to be part of an organization that strives to make the lives of others better, four paws at a time.
October 31, 2013

PawPADs is a great organization and I'm proud to be associated with it! They take a main goal, training service dogs for people with physical mobility disabilities and Diabetic Alert Dogs, and use that to help a variety of people from veterans, to inmates, to youth at risk. I love the idea that the act of training is used to help others develop in their lives and the end result is enriching the lives of people with disabilities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

PAWPads is a great organization to volunteer at. My previous volunteer organziation shut their doors and I thought I'd never find a place I enjoyed working at more, until I met Randy & Linda. They welcomed me into their organization and I instantly felt like we'd been friends for life. As I learned more about their organization and all the different groups, from kids to vetrans to inmates, they help I knew this would be the place for me. They do great things with their dogs and for other people and I look forward to every day I get to work there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


3 previous reviews - show all
October 31, 2013

I've been a volunteer with PawPads since 2010. I have seen first hand how this organization not only helps by providing assistance dog to those who need them but also makes an impact by rescuing dogs... more

October 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As a volunteer for nearly four years and now a board member. I have seen firsthand the great work that PawPADs has done for not only its clients, but also the many participants in their ongoing programs that help troubled youth, veterans and inmates.

I can not begin to describe the
amount of good that has come from this organization. It's truly touched many lives and made them better due to the efforts of everyone involved.

I strongly encourage anyone to donate, whether it's time, money or just referring someone who could be helped by our services. PawPADs is a worthy organization that changes the lives of those that they serve and those that take it upon themselves to help PawPADs achieve its Mission, Strategy and Vision.

To find out more about PawPADs: http://pawpads.org/page20aboutus.html
To Donate: http://pawpads.org/page40donate.html
To become a Volunteer: http://pawpads.org/page41getinvolved.html
October 31, 2013

I've been a volunteer with PawPads since 2010. I have seen first hand how this organization not only helps by providing assistance dog to those who need them but also makes an impact by rescuing dogs and giving them purpose by training them as service dogs. A great group of people who strive to a greater purpose for both human and animal.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

PawPADS is an organization that strives to make the lives of those that need their services better by providing assistance dogs. As a volunteer; I've seen first hand the amazing results of the assistance dogs that are placed. Not only do the recipients benefit from the placement of the dogs, but all of those involved in the organization benefit as well.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 30, 2012

PawPADS is an organization that strives to make the lives of those that need their services better by providing assistance dogs. As a volunteer; I've seen first hand the amazing results of the assistance dogs that are placed. Not only do the recipients benefit from the placement of the dogs, but all of those involved in the organization benefit as well.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 4, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 6, 2012

My first experience with PawPADs was as a volunteer more than two years ago. From that first day as a volunteer to today as a volunteer and board member I cannot say enough great things about this or... more

October 4, 2013

As a board member and volunteer for several years now I have witnessed firsthand the difference PawPADs is making in the lives of clients, students and volunteers. PawPADs diabetic alert dogs work each day and night alerting their partners to drastic changes in their blood sugar levels giving them and their loved ones one more layer of security and confidence. Other PawPADs service dogs aid their partners with everyday tasks from picking up dropped items to steadying them while they walk. In the past few years I’m happy to say PawPADs has also grown and expanded to include two prison programs in Sandstone and Duluth, MN. Inmates in both these facilities train service dogs with a dedication and enthusiasm they would never have an opportunity to express without the PawPADs prison program. This is why I think PawPADs changes lives each and every day.

It is my hope that after reading this and other reviews on this site that you feel inspired to help PawPADs grow by supporting us with your tax-deductible donation. Your donation will support these and future efforts at PawPADs and help change the lives of those in our community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My first experience with PawPADs was as a volunteer more than two years ago. From that first day as a volunteer to today as a volunteer and board member I cannot say enough great things about this organization. The commitment of Linda and the other staff is unrivaled in their drive and dedication to better the lives of people with physical disabilities and other medical conditions with the help of K9 partners. In the past few years PawPADs has grown from one litter of rescue dogs to an organization with two prison training programs, several school programs and a variety of other community outreach initiatives. Their work has touched the lives of veterans, school children, prisoners and volunteers alike with the help of the human K9 bond. The easiest part about volunteering at PawPADs is meeting new puppies and knowing what a huge difference they will one day make to someone who just needs some four legged assistance in their lives. The hardest part is saying good bye to those once puppies as they start their new lives with their human partners. Getting started at PawPADs is easy attend an information session and experience for yourself what a difference a few hours of your time can make.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2013

more

October 2, 2013

PawPADs is a labor of love! I know because, as the founder, it became my dream while working overseas in 2005. After attending the Assistance Dog Institute (now Bergin University of Canine Studies) for an AS degree in Assistance Dog Training I began the long journey of building an organization that I am extremely proud of!

I believe that the PROCESS of training these amazing dogs holds incredible therapeutic and educational value and it has been a joy to see those results time and time and time again whether it be with:

- the emotionally damaged Vietnam Veteran rolling around on the floor with a dog and joy in his heart
- the child unknowingly completing his physical therapy by walking and grooming a dog
- the adolescent on the verge of getting kicked out of school for the day due to repeated temper tantrums sitting calmly reading to a dog and, again unknowingly, releasing oxytocin (a calming hormone) through their system as they pet the dog
- the inmates who are became not only more humane, but more human, through the process of training their dogs, giving back to society and making a positive difference!

All of these populations are learning life lessons through the magic of working with our dogs -- they are learning emotional regulation, self-control, empathy, parenting skills and a myriad of other lessons.

And, after the worry and joy, the challenges and triumphs, the highs and the lows, to hear from the partners of the dogs we've placed sharing what an impact the dogs have made .... well, it continues to make my heart sing!

I'm EXTREMELY proud of PawPADs .... I take great pride in our ethics, our ethos and all of the hard work that EVERYONE involved with creating this organization has undertaken!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

wish that more resources were available so that a few people didn't have to wear so many different "hats" .... allowing people to focus on what their strengths are.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My initial contact with PawPADS began from just a love of dogs. I wasn't in a place where my life allowed me to have a dog so I thought being a PawPADS volunteer would give me a perfect "dog fix". Little did I know how much more this organization had to give. The passion that Linda, Randy and the rest of the staff and volunteers show is amazing! As a board member I have been able to watch from behind the scenes as PawPads has grown and touched lives not only in the local community but throught Minnesota and beyond. Watching the dogs work in their roles be it alerting to a blood sugar or opening a door always gives me to know what an amazing partner they will be for someone someday.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Be a part of a K9 Kare Team and take care of our service dogs in-training Volunteer