Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
47 Reviews
1234.978725
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 4, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 6, 2012

My first experience with PawPADs was as a volunteer more than two years ago. From that first day as a volunteer to today as a volunteer and board member I cannot say enough great things about this or... more

October 4, 2013

As a board member and volunteer for several years now I have witnessed firsthand the difference PawPADs is making in the lives of clients, students and volunteers. PawPADs diabetic alert dogs work each day and night alerting their partners to drastic changes in their blood sugar levels giving them and their loved ones one more layer of security and confidence. Other PawPADs service dogs aid their partners with everyday tasks from picking up dropped items to steadying them while they walk. In the past few years I’m happy to say PawPADs has also grown and expanded to include two prison programs in Sandstone and Duluth, MN. Inmates in both these facilities train service dogs with a dedication and enthusiasm they would never have an opportunity to express without the PawPADs prison program. This is why I think PawPADs changes lives each and every day.

It is my hope that after reading this and other reviews on this site that you feel inspired to help PawPADs grow by supporting us with your tax-deductible donation. Your donation will support these and future efforts at PawPADs and help change the lives of those in our community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My first experience with PawPADs was as a volunteer more than two years ago. From that first day as a volunteer to today as a volunteer and board member I cannot say enough great things about this organization. The commitment of Linda and the other staff is unrivaled in their drive and dedication to better the lives of people with physical disabilities and other medical conditions with the help of K9 partners. In the past few years PawPADs has grown from one litter of rescue dogs to an organization with two prison training programs, several school programs and a variety of other community outreach initiatives. Their work has touched the lives of veterans, school children, prisoners and volunteers alike with the help of the human K9 bond. The easiest part about volunteering at PawPADs is meeting new puppies and knowing what a huge difference they will one day make to someone who just needs some four legged assistance in their lives. The hardest part is saying good bye to those once puppies as they start their new lives with their human partners. Getting started at PawPADs is easy attend an information session and experience for yourself what a difference a few hours of your time can make.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2013

more

October 2, 2013

PawPADs is a labor of love! I know because, as the founder, it became my dream while working overseas in 2005. After attending the Assistance Dog Institute (now Bergin University of Canine Studies) for an AS degree in Assistance Dog Training I began the long journey of building an organization that I am extremely proud of!

I believe that the PROCESS of training these amazing dogs holds incredible therapeutic and educational value and it has been a joy to see those results time and time and time again whether it be with:

- the emotionally damaged Vietnam Veteran rolling around on the floor with a dog and joy in his heart
- the child unknowingly completing his physical therapy by walking and grooming a dog
- the adolescent on the verge of getting kicked out of school for the day due to repeated temper tantrums sitting calmly reading to a dog and, again unknowingly, releasing oxytocin (a calming hormone) through their system as they pet the dog
- the inmates who are became not only more humane, but more human, through the process of training their dogs, giving back to society and making a positive difference!

All of these populations are learning life lessons through the magic of working with our dogs -- they are learning emotional regulation, self-control, empathy, parenting skills and a myriad of other lessons.

And, after the worry and joy, the challenges and triumphs, the highs and the lows, to hear from the partners of the dogs we've placed sharing what an impact the dogs have made .... well, it continues to make my heart sing!

I'm EXTREMELY proud of PawPADs .... I take great pride in our ethics, our ethos and all of the hard work that EVERYONE involved with creating this organization has undertaken!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

wish that more resources were available so that a few people didn't have to wear so many different "hats" .... allowing people to focus on what their strengths are.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My initial contact with PawPADS began from just a love of dogs. I wasn't in a place where my life allowed me to have a dog so I thought being a PawPADS volunteer would give me a perfect "dog fix". Little did I know how much more this organization had to give. The passion that Linda, Randy and the rest of the staff and volunteers show is amazing! As a board member I have been able to watch from behind the scenes as PawPads has grown and touched lives not only in the local community but throught Minnesota and beyond. Watching the dogs work in their roles be it alerting to a blood sugar or opening a door always gives me to know what an amazing partner they will be for someone someday.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Be a part of a K9 Kare Team and take care of our service dogs in-training Volunteer