Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
1234.982465
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
February 26, 2014

PawPads has made a world of difference in my life. My diabetic alert dog has really made a wonderful change in my life along with my husbands. I can not say enough about this organization. The ... more

October 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

My diabetic alert dog Sage is doing so wonderful. I have had him for less than one year and my A-1 C has gone down 1.2 points which is miraculous for me. He has learned to go and get my meter and bring it to me wherever I am, he fits in great at work, great out in the public and fits in with the family like he has always been here. I can't say enough to PawPADs then THANK YOU so so much for Sage
he is a wonderful wonderful boy Who for exceeds my expectations helping me with my diabetes.
Andre' A. Coleman
February 26, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

PawPads has made a world of difference in my life. My diabetic alert dog has really made a wonderful change in my life along with my husbands. I can not say enough about this organization. The assistance, the ongoing training, support and dedication has far exceeded my expectations along with my husbands. Thank you PawPads for all your do and all you've done. Brad and Andre'

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

My husband is a severely disabled veteran and a client of PawPADs. He sustained significant brain damage that has left him paralyzed on his left side, unable to care for himself, and with a seizure disorder. Because of these issues, my husband requires full-time care and supervision. There is no way to sugar-coat the losses he and our family have suffered. It's hard, draining, and, at times, very ugly. The realities of war live with us every day and no aspect of our lives goea unaffected.

PawPADs came into our lives at a time when I was feeling extreme fatigue and doubt as a caregiver. Our local veteran community referred us to PawPADs and our lives haven't been the same since. Despite years long waits for a service dog at other organizations, PawPADs was able to get my husband into their training camp within just weeks of us starting the application process. The staff IMMEDIATELY made us feel like part of the PawPADs family and of something very special. Since Ranger was placed with my husband, our family has changed in ways I never imagined possible. Because of the supervision and assistance Ranger can provide, my role has been scaled back. For the first time since his injury, I've been able to leave my husband home alone and know that he's safe. I've been able to let him go out into the community on his own and know that Ranger is beside him to help him. I've seen Ranger in action and know that if my husband falls, Ranger can either help him up or he can go get help (both of which he's done on multiple occasions). I don't think we've ever gone somewhere (and we go a lot of places) without getting comments on Ranger's remarkable demeanor, his impressive obedience, his obvious intelligence, and his instantly loveable personality. He's truly a remarkable dog but PawPADs turned him into an invaluable companion.

Without Ranger, my husband wouldn't have the independence he has today. Neither would I. Ranger adds a level of safety and security to our lives that I am immensely grateful for. He is my husband's safety net and my peace of mind. I cannot imagine our family without him or where we would be if he didn't come into our lives. Thanks to PawPADs and to Ranger, I get to spend more time being a wife instead of being a caregiver. There are no sufficient words to thank PawPADs for giving back to us some of what war took.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

My husband is a wounded warrior...he lost a leg in Afghanistan and struggled with a lot before we got in touch with PawPADs a couple years ago. We were eventually partnered with Barkley just over six months later. Barkley is a dog who was rescued from a shelter and trained in a prison by PawPADs. Barkley changed our lives. There is not a piece of medical equipment on the planet that can do what this dog does for my husband. Barkley has given him a best friend and companion to share not only his struggles and hard times but his successes too. PawPADs has given us something we hadn't had in a few years and that's encouragement. Barkley can turn on the lights and pick things up but the best thing he does is watch out for and take care of my husband. The support we have received from PawPADs is beyond anything we have ever known. This is a nonprofit that is not only changing lives but changing the world while helping wounded warriors like my husband. I would give them more stars if I could.
October 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 31, 2013

PawPADs is an amazing organization that does wonderful work for a broad range of people. I have worked with and interacted with some of the individuals who have had a service dog placed with them and ... more

October 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Hero is the School Resource Dog at Eastview Elementary School. Hero was trained as a service dog by the staff and volunteers at PawPADs. The amazing work that they did with this dog is now enabling Hero to enrich the lives of our students, make tough days better, help to make reading a little more exciting, offer a unique motivational tool and make our wonderful school even a little bit better! This is a small, but wonderful organization that helps to transform the lives of dogs and the people they interact with.
October 31, 2013

PawPADs is an amazing organization that does wonderful work for a broad range of people. I have worked with and interacted with some of the individuals who have had a service dog placed with them and I have observed an amazing positive change in the quality of life for these fortunate individuals. I have been privileged to work with PawPADs staff and volunteers as they worked with students in our schools. PawPADs has been extremely generous (especially for a group with limited financial resources) and brought dogs into our schools to work with students, provide unique educational experiences and positive experiences. Staff and students who have involved never stop talking about these opportunities and the difference this organization made in their lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase their access to financial resources

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 27, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 27, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

There is nothing worse than finding someone you love in a state in which you are so helpless. Having been a diabetic for nearly 40 years, and over the last few years having episodes of extremely low blood glucose levels to the point of being found unresponsive. My wife and I finally decided it was time to look into a Diabetic Alert Dog for her.

Because most of our research had to be done on-line we had to sort out which reviews where honest reviews from people and which were put up on websites because it's just good marketing. During our long 6 months of searching we found plenty of operations that had what we thought we wanted, but discovered that they didn't really have what we needed. We found plenty that will give you their next available “puppy” no matter how far away you are, and with books and a general lessen send you on your way to complete the training and a couple times a year they might check on you to see if the dogs training is going ok. Then there were those that will give you a dog that is older and has more training. But again distance was no big deal for them. After speaking with a couple of these places we felt more like a number not people. Others even had pretty big ego’s and wanted us to know how good they were and how many dogs they place every year. Either may have gotten us a D.A.D. which is not what we needed.

We finally found PawPads. From our first contact we knew they were the right choice. There was no feeling like a number, there was no ego, just a love and passion for what they do. Finally we had found what we needed not just what we wanted. From the application process to finally visiting their facility, we could feel the passion behind the voice and in the smile on the face. Linda and Randy have surrounded themselves with loving, compassionate volunteers who share the same passion and goal, to make a difference in some one’s life. The love shows in the way the dogs are loved and cared for as if they were everyone's child. And it continues with the time and energy spent on the training the dogs receive.

Andre’ was partnered with D.A.D. Sage after an intense "Partner Training Camp". We learned that we weren't just given the next dog available, we had options, just in case a dog just doesn't take to their potential new partner. Because after all this is for life, the dog has to equally like the person. We found out that Sage was named after a local young boy whom was taken much too young. Of course this makes Sage even more special and is just another example of how PawPads shows their love and is there to a part of the community. After training camp was complete we didn't feel like we were just sent on our way home. Instead we felt as if we had become a part of something much larger....we were now part of the PawPads family and we couldn’t be happier. We left knowing that no matter what kind of question we may have, someone would be there to answer. Even if it’s just to call and say Hi.

We've been home with Sage now for about a month and his skills and training have far exceeded our expectations at this point. He has on multiple occasions alerted to both high and low blood glucose levels, often well before the meter can tell. We have no doubt that he will continue to educate us with his intelligence and just get better with time. His unconditional love even brings a calming to what is normally a hectic day.

It's hard to describe in words the happiness, the joy, the thankfulness we have for what PawPads has given us. But because of their efforts we rest a little easier knowing we have a new family member in our home to keep a watchful "nose" on Andre’s wellbeing.

Thank You so much Linda, Randy and all your volunteers, because what you do Makes a difference.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

How do you fix Awesomeness. But it would be great to get them a larger donor list.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 31, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

There are truely not enough words to describe the gift we have been given by this incredible organization. My son Kyler was diagnosed with Juvenile Diabetes 3 years ago. It has been an uphill battle of constant care and sleepless nights. Low blood sugars have controlled every aspect of our lives since the day he was diagnosed. The constant fear that your child is going to have a severe low blood sugar episode and having to check to make sure he is still breathing in his sleep is overwhelming to say the least. You never stop worrying. With jobs suffering and a marriage feeling the strain we were desperate for relief. It was then we found PawPads! We were Placed with a Diabetic Alert Dog just over six months ago. This dog has transformed our lives. Recon was the missing link in Kyler's care! He has given us what we never thought possible...Piece of mind! We still eat, sleep and breathe diabetes but we are no longer struggling for relief. Recon let's us know if kyler is low and most times he alerts before the low actually happens. There is not a piece of medical equipment on the planet that can do what this dog does and that's only part of what Recon does. for a 10 year old Boy who is feeling different and is beyond sick of missing out on life because he lives with a chronic illness. Recon has given him reason to embrace this horrific disease that will follow him for life. This dog has given him a best friend and companion to share not only his trials and tribulations but his triumphs. Kyler has a new outlook on life because of his Diabetic Alert Dog and I have piece of mind knowing that Recon is there to look out for him. PawPads has given us something we haven't had in 3 years and that's hope! The support we have received from them is beyond anything I have ever known. The selflessness of Those who run PawPads is the most inspiring thing I have ever had the opportunity to be witness to in all my life. This is a nonprofit that is not only changing lives but changing the world with their positive outlook and devotion to others.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I can't say enough about what PawPADS has meant to me and my students! While we have had an animal-assisted intervention program at Kenwood Trail Middle School for quite a few years, last year was our first working with the Project YES staff, and it was clearly our best year yet. The staff is dedicated to helping others, and their hard work has resulted in smiles, enthusiasm, and motivation on the faces of our students.

The PawPADS and Project YES team is clearly a class act, and I look forward to working with them for many years to come!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

This is an awesome organization run by exceptional people. Our son was matched with a wonderful lab and they are absolute best buds. It has been amazing to watch them grow together. Pawpads helps so many families and I wouldn't hesitate to refer anyone to them. They train amazing pups!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I am writing to express my sincere thanks and appreciation for all of the work and dedication of the Project YES staff. The 2013-2014 school year, marked our 9th year of running an Animal Assisted Intervention program at Kenwood Trail Middle School. While it was our first year working with the Project YES team, it was by far our best!

Our program is made up of male and female students in 6th, 7th and 8th grade who have social-emotional and/or behavioral disabilities. They have more obstacles than their peers and we have always felt they were in need of out of the box support and programming to meet their individual goals in life. Our students quickly became fans of the service animals in training that came weekly to our school. I lost count of how many times during the week students would ask “is it a dog day,” “are the dog’s coming Thursday?”

While most of our students had been exposed to dog’s from our former programs we saw quickly the student’s increased motivation and interest in working with dog’s that would eventually be placed with to help someone with a disability. Our student’s seemed more invested in training the dog’s “correctly” and showed ownership in their work. I have numerous anecdotal stories of student’s growth as a result in working with our four legged friends. Students improved their frustration tolerance, communication, and team work as a result of training the dog’s for a higher purpose.

Our program’s success would not have been possible without the professionalism, expertise, and flexibility of the amazing volunteers and staff working with Project YES. Our partnership with PawPADs for the past three year has added so much to our program. The entire staff is top notch and doing great work.

I look forward to continuing our partnership with PawPADs and the Project Yes team at Kenwood. It has been a phenomenal year and I am grateful to all of the staff that made this possible.
Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been touched by PawPADs personally and professionally. The impact I see these dogs have on the lives of those around me amazes me on a daily basis. Folks that come in to contact with these dogs are able to learn/strengthen skills of caring, compassion, humanity, patience, and many other variables that tend to erode over time with this specific subset of the population. Interactions with these dogs in training are soothing to the mind, body and soul. They inspire joy, warmth and growth for their handlers and everyone involved with the development of a serve dog to be.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Be a part of a K9 Kare Team and take care of our service dogs in-training Volunteer