Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
1234.982465
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I cannot find words to adequately express how amazing PawPADS is as an organization. The various programs touch so many people's lives. I have diabetes and have experienced the dogs-in-training, working, receiving 'alerts' 20 minutes before my low blood sugar registers on my glucometer. This is EXCITING. Linda and Randy are welcoming, appreciative and really care about people and the puppies/dogs (all creatures). Their positive approach to life, their organization and training is contagious.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

PawPads has been a huge part of my life recently! The dogs are so wonderful, but even more wonderful are Randy and Linda who run the day-to-day operations. The positive attitude, encouragement, and fabulous pups that we get by interacting with this organization has really enriched my life and that of my family. We are super lucky to get to contribute to shaping the lives of the dogs and those of future people in need through this organization. I'm also noticing that I say "yes! thank you!" a lot more! :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

PawPADs is a great organization to volunteer with. Linda and Randy are great leaders and will drop everything to help the volunteers and the dogs. I have volunteerd over 1,000 hours in this organization and I love every minute of it.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The wonderful staff at PawPads have impressed me with their overwhelming dedication and drive to bring assistance dogs to the people that need them. Attached is a group picture of some of our hardworking trainee dogs.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

A friend introduced me to PawPADS a few years ago while we were volunteering together at a different non-profit. I was immediately inspired by the passion of Linda and Randy. I found out it was more than training service dogs for people with disabilities. School programs, the prison program and other community interests fill their days. Their positive approach to the dogs and the volunteers keep me coming back and I have learned a lot about how therapeutic a dog can be.

I truly look forward to my volunteer days at PawPADS. The volunteers are highly valued and our input and ideas are always welcome and encouraged. I also feel fortunate to volunteer with an amazing group of people (& dogs!)
I do get attached to the dogs, but the positive feedback puts me at ease when I hear about their new lives.

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I started out at PawPADs in 2010 as a dog walker and now I've learned so much that I feel comfortable doing almost any task that might be asked of me. The people that run it are absolutely wonderful teachers (and just plain wonderful!). I have volunteered for many years at different places and PawPADs is by far the very best because of the people (incl. other volunteers) and atmosphere of the place- there is so much fun to be had and anyone that wants to volunteer can settle into whatever position they feel comfortable in. I highly recommend this organization to anyone looking to support a nonprofit in any way. They're real people with real values helping people in need by training great assistance dogs that really do change lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 8, 2012

I have volunteered at PawPads for eight months and have greatly enjoyed every minute of it.. I am on the Saturday morning canine care team where we feed, groom,train, exercise and play with the dogs ... more

October 30, 2014

I was a volunteer on a canine care team for two years and have been a board member for four months. It has been highly rewarding expanding my role and helping PawPADs meet the needs of our clients, dogs, staff and donors. For dog lovers, I can suggest no more important volunteer opportunity. For potential donors, your money will be wisely used to raise and train wonderful canine partners for our clients. We, dogs and staff, are a big, happy family (I know it is a cliche....but true). It has been the best volunteer gig of my life.
July 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered at PawPads for eight months and have greatly enjoyed every minute of it.. I am on the Saturday morning canine care team where we feed, groom,train, exercise and play with the dogs and puppies. The Directors, Board Members and Volunteers are a close-knit family. We are all asked for input in many levels of PawPads operations including dog-training, event planning, cost-control, fund-raising, volunteer recruitment and others. I have met and worked with incredible people, and the interaction with the dogs is life-changing. I would highly recommend PawPads as a wonderful place to volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 1, 2012

PawPADs, not only enriches the lives of those with whom the dogs are placed. The benefits of the canine-human bond extend to everyone who participates in the programs offered, as well as to those of ... more

September 5, 2013

PawPADs is a small organization, making a big, positive impact on the lives of many.

One of the differences that sets PawPADs apart from other service dog organizations are the programs we offer. One of my favorites is a Social Integration Therapy (SIT) program where we have been working
with an elementary school for the past two years. I worked with special education students and with students who did some on-on-one reading with dogs. The dogs helped to motivate students to work on tasks that might otherwise feel daunting: such as the child that had many tantrums when it was time to work on range of motion tasks from his wheelchair, but would happily push a block off his tray in exchange for a dog kiss from Recon after he retrieved the block and brought it back to the tray and the student who was not confident reading aloud and who, by mid-year was reading loudly and with great expression to Hero, Ranger, Iko and others. The student’s faces would light up when they saw the dogs and actually, so did the faces of the staff members! There were times when teachers would stop by just to get their “puppy fix” and they commented that, “they really needed that,” and that it would help them get through the rest of the day. The dogs are positively impacting many lives before they are even placed with their partners.

I feel very lucky to be part of the PawPADs family, to be able to work with the dogs – and reap the benefits of the human-canine bond and to be a part of a wonderful organization that enriches the lives of many people.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

PawPADs, not only enriches the lives of those with whom the dogs are placed. The benefits of the canine-human bond extend to everyone who participates in the programs offered, as well as to those of us who volunteer.

Volunteering at PawPADs has been very therapeutic to me; I enjoy
working with the dogs, the directors and the other volunteers.

When I first started at PawPADs, my shifts were two days a week for about a couple of hours each. Working with Linda and Randy and seeing their devotion to the dogs and their mission to not only train and place service dogs but also to develop programs that enable others in the community to work with the dogs and reap the associated rewards, has inspired me to come to the training center more and more and it has become a place I want and need to be. I see and feel the passion and it is contagious.

When I initially inquired about volunteering, one of my first questions was whether or not there would be other volunteers on my shift because I had just come from a situation where I was volunteering alone and it was an uncomfortable experience. Linda responded that I would definitely not be alone and that some of the other volunteers even stuck around after their shift to visit and enjoy coffee. It’s true, some of the other volunteers and I have become friends, and we socialize after getting our work done and even when we’re not at the training center. I have come to think of PawPADs as a second family.

Going to the training center, training the dogs on my own and working with students in the school programs has been very rewarding. I cannot help but get excited when the dogs respond to a command and seeing a student light up when the dog works for them feels even better. I am extremely fortunate to be a part of this organization and the great things we do!

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the recovery from a bout of severe depression and maintaining balance in my mental health.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have grown up with dogs as companions; however, I learned how to work with dogs in a way that I had not completely experienced before. Training the dogs via strictly positive reinforcement has been a positive experience. It is rewarding to work with the dogs and see them respond when given a command has been very powerful.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I feel empowered, that I make a difference and that I have a purpose and a passion. I feel more fulfilled than I did in my career of 12 years. I felt lost and now I feel like I have something to give and to people and and organization where it is appreciated.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Be a part of a K9 Kare Team and take care of our service dogs in-training Volunteer