Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
47 Reviews
1234.978725
| 1 2 3 45 |
Write A Review
October 2, 2013

more

October 2, 2013

I have been assisting the PawPads organization for several years now and have witnessed first hand the important impact these wonderful dogs have on the lives of their trainers and the folks that they are placed with upon completion of their training. The results and the impacts of the process are priceless for those they touch.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

Eric L:

PawPADs is a great organization to volunteer for!!!!! Linda and Randy are awesome and will drop everything to help the dogs and volunteers. I have volunteered ever since I had the training class in 2012 and I enjoy every min of it, I would never have imagined I would give so
much of my time to this great organization but this is an awesome program, And I will continue to donate my time to PawPADS as long as they allow me to.

Thank you Linda & Randy for allowing me and my fellow puppy parole officers the opportunity to participate in this program….

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

MORE PUPPYS !!!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 1, 2012

PawPADs, not only enriches the lives of those with whom the dogs are placed. The benefits of the canine-human bond extend to everyone who participates in the programs offered, as well as to those of ... more

September 5, 2013

PawPADs is a small organization, making a big, positive impact on the lives of many.

One of the differences that sets PawPADs apart from other service dog organizations are the programs we offer. One of my favorites is a Social Integration Therapy (SIT) program where we have been working
with an elementary school for the past two years. I worked with special education students and with students who did some on-on-one reading with dogs. The dogs helped to motivate students to work on tasks that might otherwise feel daunting: such as the child that had many tantrums when it was time to work on range of motion tasks from his wheelchair, but would happily push a block off his tray in exchange for a dog kiss from Recon after he retrieved the block and brought it back to the tray and the student who was not confident reading aloud and who, by mid-year was reading loudly and with great expression to Hero, Ranger, Iko and others. The student’s faces would light up when they saw the dogs and actually, so did the faces of the staff members! There were times when teachers would stop by just to get their “puppy fix” and they commented that, “they really needed that,” and that it would help them get through the rest of the day. The dogs are positively impacting many lives before they are even placed with their partners.

I feel very lucky to be part of the PawPADs family, to be able to work with the dogs – and reap the benefits of the human-canine bond and to be a part of a wonderful organization that enriches the lives of many people.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

PawPADs, not only enriches the lives of those with whom the dogs are placed. The benefits of the canine-human bond extend to everyone who participates in the programs offered, as well as to those of us who volunteer.

Volunteering at PawPADs has been very therapeutic to me; I enjoy
working with the dogs, the directors and the other volunteers.

When I first started at PawPADs, my shifts were two days a week for about a couple of hours each. Working with Linda and Randy and seeing their devotion to the dogs and their mission to not only train and place service dogs but also to develop programs that enable others in the community to work with the dogs and reap the associated rewards, has inspired me to come to the training center more and more and it has become a place I want and need to be. I see and feel the passion and it is contagious.

When I initially inquired about volunteering, one of my first questions was whether or not there would be other volunteers on my shift because I had just come from a situation where I was volunteering alone and it was an uncomfortable experience. Linda responded that I would definitely not be alone and that some of the other volunteers even stuck around after their shift to visit and enjoy coffee. It’s true, some of the other volunteers and I have become friends, and we socialize after getting our work done and even when we’re not at the training center. I have come to think of PawPADs as a second family.

Going to the training center, training the dogs on my own and working with students in the school programs has been very rewarding. I cannot help but get excited when the dogs respond to a command and seeing a student light up when the dog works for them feels even better. I am extremely fortunate to be a part of this organization and the great things we do!

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the recovery from a bout of severe depression and maintaining balance in my mental health.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have grown up with dogs as companions; however, I learned how to work with dogs in a way that I had not completely experienced before. Training the dogs via strictly positive reinforcement has been a positive experience. It is rewarding to work with the dogs and see them respond when given a command has been very powerful.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I feel empowered, that I make a difference and that I have a purpose and a passion. I feel more fulfilled than I did in my career of 12 years. I felt lost and now I feel like I have something to give and to people and and organization where it is appreciated.

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I am the Director of Operations/Development here at PawPADs.
I want to share a little about our Volunteers, Donors, and Supporters, and Clients: the people that really make PawPADs successful and make a difference in so many lives.
As we all know from our own experiences with people,
personal relationships can go a long way. These relationships increase our understanding of the people we work with, give us insight as to their motivations and capabilities, and develops mutual trust. Our “family” has gone far of their way to develop personal relationships with PawPADs, and we all share a joint vision of what we are and where we are headed. I hope you’ll share the vision too after reading our reviews.
Volunteers: many of our volunteers have been with us for months or years. Some came looking for a “one off” opportunity or a short term commitment and have become a family. Their “can-do, will-do” spirit is a valued attribute of Americans and sets a great example to all our neighbors. They have devoted thousands of hours…time off from work, weekends, mornings, evenings, holidays, day time…to caring for our service dogs, training them, and representing PawPADs in the public. They build and clean and laugh with each other and the dogs. Their commitment, teamwork, and enthusiasm energizes us!
Donors: The average cost of raising and training a service dog is between $20,000 and $25,000. Because of generous supporters like them, we're able to partner our service dogs with those who need them at minimal cost or for free. Their financial support provides the resources needed to team with our prison and school partners, veterans, and those with developmental and physical challenges. From individuals to foundations, families, organizations, and companies, their contributions in any amount plays a crucial role in getting the dogs from puppy to partner. It demonstrates yet another American quality: the spirit of generosity. Your generosity and good will inspires us!
Clients: Our clients’ lives are enriched and empowered by their partnership with skilled assistance dogs and diabetic alert dogs. Inmates, teachers, students, and veterans utilize the power of the human-canine bond as a therapeutic, educational, healing tool. We create powerful, life-enhancing experiences through working with dogs - as the very act of working with, being around and training these dogs can be therapeutic and life-altering in profound ways. Their confidence in PawPADs encourages us!
If not for all of the above, there would be no PawPADs. I sincerely hope that you, as a review reader, find what you are looking for in a nonprofit in PawPADs and want to become part of our family of Volunteers, Donors, Clients. Thanks, and Dog Bless You!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My initial contact with PawPADS began from just a love of dogs. I wasn't in a place where my life allowed me to have a dog so I thought being a PawPADS volunteer would give me a perfect "dog fix". Little did I know how much more this organization had to give. The passion that Linda, Randy and the rest of the staff and volunteers show is amazing! As a board member I have been able to watch from behind the scenes as PawPads has grown and touched lives not only in the local community but throught Minnesota and beyond. Watching the dogs work in their roles be it alerting to a blood sugar or opening a door always gives me to know what an amazing partner they will be for someone someday.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been touched by PawPADs personally and professionally. The impact I see these dogs have on the lives of those around me amazes me on a daily basis. Folks that come in to contact with these dogs are able to learn/strengthen skills of caring, compassion, humanity, patience, and many other variables that tend to erode over time with this specific subset of the population. Interactions with these dogs in training are soothing to the mind, body and soul. They inspire joy, warmth and growth for their handlers and everyone involved with the development of a serve dog to be.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

PAWPads staff and volunteers are awesome and fun to be around. My intention was to volunteer for roughly 3-6 months. But when I started getting to know Linda, Randy, and also the service dogs I realize that this is something I want to do for a very long time. I've been volunteering for over 2 years and will continue to do so for many more years.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I cannot find words to adequately express how amazing PawPADS is as an organization. The various programs touch so many people's lives. I have diabetes and have experienced the dogs-in-training, working, receiving 'alerts' 20 minutes before my low blood sugar registers on my glucometer. This is EXCITING. Linda and Randy are welcoming, appreciative and really care about people and the puppies/dogs (all creatures). Their positive approach to life, their organization and training is contagious.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

PawPads has been a huge part of my life recently! The dogs are so wonderful, but even more wonderful are Randy and Linda who run the day-to-day operations. The positive attitude, encouragement, and fabulous pups that we get by interacting with this organization has really enriched my life and that of my family. We are super lucky to get to contribute to shaping the lives of the dogs and those of future people in need through this organization. I'm also noticing that I say "yes! thank you!" a lot more! :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My husband and I have been involved with PawPads since their beginning in Minnesota. We have seen this organization grow and develop programs that are helping so many people in the community. We are proud donors and feel blessed to support such an outstanding organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Be a part of a K9 Kare Team and take care of our service dogs in-training Volunteer