Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
47 Reviews
1234.978725
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I'm a special education teacher in the south metro and our program at school has had PawPADs come into our classroom to work with our students for the last 3 years. PawPADS volunteers haul the dogs to our school where they instruct our students with mental health conditions and behavior disorders on training these beauties to some day assist others with disabilities. We have assisted in training dogs that have been placed with Veterans, children with diabetes, and others with physical impairments.

As you can imagine, "dog day" is one of the favorite days of the week in our building. I could tell stories of how students have had terrible days, until the dog enters the room. The unconditional love of these pooches and how they change attitudes, demeanors and feelings is indescribable. The lessons our students have learned about training, has been transfered to how to treat people, learn patience, persistance, increase self-esteem, and self-control. I hope we can continue to keep this organization around for a very long time, so we can sustain our training in helping others in our communities....SS- Lakeville

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 17, 2012

PAWPads is a great organization to volunteer at. My previous volunteer organziation shut their doors and I thought I'd never find a place I enjoyed working at more, until I met Randy & Linda. They w... more

October 31, 2013

PawPADs is a great organization and I'm proud to be associated with it! They take a main goal, training service dogs for people with physical mobility disabilities and Diabetic Alert Dogs, and use that to help a variety of people from veterans, to inmates, to youth at risk. I love the idea that the act of training is used to help others develop in their lives and the end result is enriching the lives of people with disabilities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

PAWPads is a great organization to volunteer at. My previous volunteer organziation shut their doors and I thought I'd never find a place I enjoyed working at more, until I met Randy & Linda. They welcomed me into their organization and I instantly felt like we'd been friends for life. As I learned more about their organization and all the different groups, from kids to vetrans to inmates, they help I knew this would be the place for me. They do great things with their dogs and for other people and I look forward to every day I get to work there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I was looking for an organization where I could volunteer on a regular basis but hadn't found anything I was enthusiastic about until our UPS driver mentioned that he volunteered with service dogs every Saturday. He told me more about it and I contacted PawPads through their website and got an email back right away. I went to the training and have been volunteering weekly since April 2012. I'm impressed with the dedication of the founders and the volunteers and with the wonderful, brilliant service dogs they train. I love being part of an organization that does something positive for animals and for humans at the same time. I can't say enough good things about PawPads.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

PawPADs is an amazing organization that does wonderful work for a broad range of people. I have worked with and interacted with some of the individuals who have had a service dog placed with them and I have observed an amazing positive change in the quality of life for these fortunate individuals. I have been privileged to work with PawPADs staff and volunteers as they worked with students in our schools. PawPADs has been extremely generous (especially for a group with limited financial resources) and brought dogs into our schools to work with students, provide unique educational experiences and positive experiences. Staff and students who have involved never stop talking about these opportunities and the difference this organization made in their lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase their access to financial resources

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I began volunteering with PawPADs 3 1/2 years ago. I knew immediately it was an organization that I wanted to be part of. I saw the passion and commitment that Linda and Randy had for this labor of love and felt an instant connection with them and the dogs. Seeing puppies come and trained dogs go can be hard at times......we grow to love them so!!........but we know what the objective/goal is - to provide well-trained dogs that will help change a life for someone. I do feel that I GET more than I can GIVE. I agree totally with others that said the PawPADs volunteers and staff are like family. I love going to "work" 3 mornings a week to be with the dogs and be with my second family! Linda and Randy always listen to our thoughts, ideas, and concerns. Together, we do hope to make a difference in lives that need hope, help and lots of love (doggie kisses!). I plan to be a volunteer with PawPADs for many years to come!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I can't say enough about what PawPADS has meant to me and my students! While we have had an animal-assisted intervention program at Kenwood Trail Middle School for quite a few years, last year was our first working with the Project YES staff, and it was clearly our best year yet. The staff is dedicated to helping others, and their hard work has resulted in smiles, enthusiasm, and motivation on the faces of our students.

The PawPADS and Project YES team is clearly a class act, and I look forward to working with them for many years to come!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

This is an awesome organization run by exceptional people. Our son was matched with a wonderful lab and they are absolute best buds. It has been amazing to watch them grow together. Pawpads helps so many families and I wouldn't hesitate to refer anyone to them. They train amazing pups!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I am writing to express my sincere thanks and appreciation for all of the work and dedication of the Project YES staff. The 2013-2014 school year, marked our 9th year of running an Animal Assisted Intervention program at Kenwood Trail Middle School. While it was our first year working with the Project YES team, it was by far our best!

Our program is made up of male and female students in 6th, 7th and 8th grade who have social-emotional and/or behavioral disabilities. They have more obstacles than their peers and we have always felt they were in need of out of the box support and programming to meet their individual goals in life. Our students quickly became fans of the service animals in training that came weekly to our school. I lost count of how many times during the week students would ask “is it a dog day,” “are the dog’s coming Thursday?”

While most of our students had been exposed to dog’s from our former programs we saw quickly the student’s increased motivation and interest in working with dog’s that would eventually be placed with to help someone with a disability. Our student’s seemed more invested in training the dog’s “correctly” and showed ownership in their work. I have numerous anecdotal stories of student’s growth as a result in working with our four legged friends. Students improved their frustration tolerance, communication, and team work as a result of training the dog’s for a higher purpose.

Our program’s success would not have been possible without the professionalism, expertise, and flexibility of the amazing volunteers and staff working with Project YES. Our partnership with PawPADs for the past three year has added so much to our program. The entire staff is top notch and doing great work.

I look forward to continuing our partnership with PawPADs and the Project Yes team at Kenwood. It has been a phenomenal year and I am grateful to all of the staff that made this possible.
Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 6, 2012

My first experience with PawPADs was as a volunteer more than two years ago. From that first day as a volunteer to today as a volunteer and board member I cannot say enough great things about this or... more

October 4, 2013

As a board member and volunteer for several years now I have witnessed firsthand the difference PawPADs is making in the lives of clients, students and volunteers. PawPADs diabetic alert dogs work each day and night alerting their partners to drastic changes in their blood sugar levels giving them and their loved ones one more layer of security and confidence. Other PawPADs service dogs aid their partners with everyday tasks from picking up dropped items to steadying them while they walk. In the past few years I’m happy to say PawPADs has also grown and expanded to include two prison programs in Sandstone and Duluth, MN. Inmates in both these facilities train service dogs with a dedication and enthusiasm they would never have an opportunity to express without the PawPADs prison program. This is why I think PawPADs changes lives each and every day.

It is my hope that after reading this and other reviews on this site that you feel inspired to help PawPADs grow by supporting us with your tax-deductible donation. Your donation will support these and future efforts at PawPADs and help change the lives of those in our community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My first experience with PawPADs was as a volunteer more than two years ago. From that first day as a volunteer to today as a volunteer and board member I cannot say enough great things about this organization. The commitment of Linda and the other staff is unrivaled in their drive and dedication to better the lives of people with physical disabilities and other medical conditions with the help of K9 partners. In the past few years PawPADs has grown from one litter of rescue dogs to an organization with two prison training programs, several school programs and a variety of other community outreach initiatives. Their work has touched the lives of veterans, school children, prisoners and volunteers alike with the help of the human K9 bond. The easiest part about volunteering at PawPADs is meeting new puppies and knowing what a huge difference they will one day make to someone who just needs some four legged assistance in their lives. The hardest part is saying good bye to those once puppies as they start their new lives with their human partners. Getting started at PawPADs is easy attend an information session and experience for yourself what a difference a few hours of your time can make.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2013

more

October 2, 2013

PawPADs is a labor of love! I know because, as the founder, it became my dream while working overseas in 2005. After attending the Assistance Dog Institute (now Bergin University of Canine Studies) for an AS degree in Assistance Dog Training I began the long journey of building an organization that I am extremely proud of!

I believe that the PROCESS of training these amazing dogs holds incredible therapeutic and educational value and it has been a joy to see those results time and time and time again whether it be with:

- the emotionally damaged Vietnam Veteran rolling around on the floor with a dog and joy in his heart
- the child unknowingly completing his physical therapy by walking and grooming a dog
- the adolescent on the verge of getting kicked out of school for the day due to repeated temper tantrums sitting calmly reading to a dog and, again unknowingly, releasing oxytocin (a calming hormone) through their system as they pet the dog
- the inmates who are became not only more humane, but more human, through the process of training their dogs, giving back to society and making a positive difference!

All of these populations are learning life lessons through the magic of working with our dogs -- they are learning emotional regulation, self-control, empathy, parenting skills and a myriad of other lessons.

And, after the worry and joy, the challenges and triumphs, the highs and the lows, to hear from the partners of the dogs we've placed sharing what an impact the dogs have made .... well, it continues to make my heart sing!

I'm EXTREMELY proud of PawPADs .... I take great pride in our ethics, our ethos and all of the hard work that EVERYONE involved with creating this organization has undertaken!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

wish that more resources were available so that a few people didn't have to wear so many different "hats" .... allowing people to focus on what their strengths are.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Be a part of a K9 Kare Team and take care of our service dogs in-training Volunteer