Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
1234.982465
Write A Review
February 27, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 27, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

There is nothing worse than finding someone you love in a state in which you are so helpless. Having been a diabetic for nearly 40 years, and over the last few years having episodes of extremely low blood glucose levels to the point of being found unresponsive. My wife and I finally decided it was time to look into a Diabetic Alert Dog for her.

Because most of our research had to be done on-line we had to sort out which reviews where honest reviews from people and which were put up on websites because it's just good marketing. During our long 6 months of searching we found plenty of operations that had what we thought we wanted, but discovered that they didn't really have what we needed. We found plenty that will give you their next available “puppy” no matter how far away you are, and with books and a general lessen send you on your way to complete the training and a couple times a year they might check on you to see if the dogs training is going ok. Then there were those that will give you a dog that is older and has more training. But again distance was no big deal for them. After speaking with a couple of these places we felt more like a number not people. Others even had pretty big ego’s and wanted us to know how good they were and how many dogs they place every year. Either may have gotten us a D.A.D. which is not what we needed.

We finally found PawPads. From our first contact we knew they were the right choice. There was no feeling like a number, there was no ego, just a love and passion for what they do. Finally we had found what we needed not just what we wanted. From the application process to finally visiting their facility, we could feel the passion behind the voice and in the smile on the face. Linda and Randy have surrounded themselves with loving, compassionate volunteers who share the same passion and goal, to make a difference in some one’s life. The love shows in the way the dogs are loved and cared for as if they were everyone's child. And it continues with the time and energy spent on the training the dogs receive.

Andre’ was partnered with D.A.D. Sage after an intense "Partner Training Camp". We learned that we weren't just given the next dog available, we had options, just in case a dog just doesn't take to their potential new partner. Because after all this is for life, the dog has to equally like the person. We found out that Sage was named after a local young boy whom was taken much too young. Of course this makes Sage even more special and is just another example of how PawPads shows their love and is there to a part of the community. After training camp was complete we didn't feel like we were just sent on our way home. Instead we felt as if we had become a part of something much larger....we were now part of the PawPads family and we couldn’t be happier. We left knowing that no matter what kind of question we may have, someone would be there to answer. Even if it’s just to call and say Hi.

We've been home with Sage now for about a month and his skills and training have far exceeded our expectations at this point. He has on multiple occasions alerted to both high and low blood glucose levels, often well before the meter can tell. We have no doubt that he will continue to educate us with his intelligence and just get better with time. His unconditional love even brings a calming to what is normally a hectic day.

It's hard to describe in words the happiness, the joy, the thankfulness we have for what PawPads has given us. But because of their efforts we rest a little easier knowing we have a new family member in our home to keep a watchful "nose" on Andre’s wellbeing.

Thank You so much Linda, Randy and all your volunteers, because what you do Makes a difference.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

How do you fix Awesomeness. But it would be great to get them a larger donor list.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 31, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

There are truely not enough words to describe the gift we have been given by this incredible organization. My son Kyler was diagnosed with Juvenile Diabetes 3 years ago. It has been an uphill battle of constant care and sleepless nights. Low blood sugars have controlled every aspect of our lives since the day he was diagnosed. The constant fear that your child is going to have a severe low blood sugar episode and having to check to make sure he is still breathing in his sleep is overwhelming to say the least. You never stop worrying. With jobs suffering and a marriage feeling the strain we were desperate for relief. It was then we found PawPads! We were Placed with a Diabetic Alert Dog just over six months ago. This dog has transformed our lives. Recon was the missing link in Kyler's care! He has given us what we never thought possible...Piece of mind! We still eat, sleep and breathe diabetes but we are no longer struggling for relief. Recon let's us know if kyler is low and most times he alerts before the low actually happens. There is not a piece of medical equipment on the planet that can do what this dog does and that's only part of what Recon does. for a 10 year old Boy who is feeling different and is beyond sick of missing out on life because he lives with a chronic illness. Recon has given him reason to embrace this horrific disease that will follow him for life. This dog has given him a best friend and companion to share not only his trials and tribulations but his triumphs. Kyler has a new outlook on life because of his Diabetic Alert Dog and I have piece of mind knowing that Recon is there to look out for him. PawPads has given us something we haven't had in 3 years and that's hope! The support we have received from them is beyond anything I have ever known. The selflessness of Those who run PawPads is the most inspiring thing I have ever had the opportunity to be witness to in all my life. This is a nonprofit that is not only changing lives but changing the world with their positive outlook and devotion to others.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have had the pleasure of working with PawPADs for the last few years. During that time I have been impressed by the care they provide for their dogs, their willingness to adopt rescued dogs into their program, their involvement in the prison training program, the dedication they display to their mission and the positive impact they have had on their community. The assistance provided by PawPADs trained service dogs is truly life changing for those suffering from a variety of disabilities. If you are looking for a worthwhile organization to receive your donated time and/or money, PawPADs deserves your consideration.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This is a wonderful organization that is helping dogs and people alike. They are providing a great service to our state by training dogs to be able to help people with disabilities, veterans and people with diabetes! They are also helping our state by having their dogs be trained by prisoners throughout the state. Prisoners benefit greatly from this experience and it helps them to become better citizens!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a volunteer. This organization is honest , and works very hard in the care and training of their dogs. They are a "Great Non-Profit" and I look forward to their on going success.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

My family was looking for a volunteer opportunity and was refered to PawPads by another volunteer. As dog lovers, we expected to enjoy the experience, but we became inspired by the passion of the founders and the mission of the organization. From sensing blood sugar levels to doing laundry, it is amazing to watch these incredible dogs in action! Our family also had the honor to attend a graduation ceremony for a group of PadPad dogs. We met the individuals and families the PawPad dogs are helping, and heard their stories of how these dogs are making a significant difference in their lives (there wasn't a dry eye in the room). Our family is so proud to play a part in helping this wonderful organization!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

From everything we've seen and heard this organzation is extremely well run, but ore domations would help the founders to do more of the wonderful work they are doing and help even more people in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 15, 2012

Almost 3 years ago I was looking to volunteer some of my time somewhere. It was then that I saw an article about PawPADs in our local paper. Since I have a love of dogs, I found it to be very intere... more

October 31, 2013

I have been a volunteer at PawPADs for almost 4 yrs. They are such a great organization!! Randy & Linda's love for what they are doing is obvious! They work so hard to help people with the training of their special dogs. This is what they do 7 days a week. I love seeing the puppies grow & it's amazing all that they are trained to do. Randy & Linda treat everyone like family & the dogs are treated like royalty. Placing the dog with the right person is most important to them. They love each & every dog & want to make sure they do what is absolutely the best for that particular dog. I wouldn't continue volunteering 3 mornings a week if I didn't absolutely believe in them!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Almost 3 years ago I was looking to volunteer some of my time somewhere. It was then that I saw an article about PawPADs in our local paper. Since I have a love of dogs, I found it to be very interesting & they were looking for volunteers!! I contacted them, went to a volunteer meeting, & that's where it all started. Randy & Linda's enthusiasm is contagious!! You can see/feel it in the dogs, the other volunteers. Randy & Linda give 1000%. They have devoted themselves to train dogs to help other people, & this is what they do 7 days a week ... no days off. I know my life has been enriched. I'm typically at PawPADs 3 mornings a week. We have so much fun getting the dogs ready for their day. I also feel like I have an extended family, & that Randy or Linda would do anything to help me if I should ever need it. I feel that way with the other volunteers as well. I can't say enough good things about PawPADs & what Randy & Linda are doing!! Of course it's fun to be around the dogs, but volunteering for Randy & Linda is really fulfilling as well. They really appreciate everything everyone does & it shows!! I just couldn't have found a better place to volunteer!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

Great people! Amazing impact on the community! I have personally seen the amazing joy their animals have brought to others.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I'm a special education teacher in the south metro and our program at school has had PawPADs come into our classroom to work with our students for the last 3 years. PawPADS volunteers haul the dogs to our school where they instruct our students with mental health conditions and behavior disorders on training these beauties to some day assist others with disabilities. We have assisted in training dogs that have been placed with Veterans, children with diabetes, and others with physical impairments.

As you can imagine, "dog day" is one of the favorite days of the week in our building. I could tell stories of how students have had terrible days, until the dog enters the room. The unconditional love of these pooches and how they change attitudes, demeanors and feelings is indescribable. The lessons our students have learned about training, has been transfered to how to treat people, learn patience, persistance, increase self-esteem, and self-control. I hope we can continue to keep this organization around for a very long time, so we can sustain our training in helping others in our communities....SS- Lakeville

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I was looking for an organization where I could volunteer on a regular basis but hadn't found anything I was enthusiastic about until our UPS driver mentioned that he volunteered with service dogs every Saturday. He told me more about it and I contacted PawPads through their website and got an email back right away. I went to the training and have been volunteering weekly since April 2012. I'm impressed with the dedication of the founders and the volunteers and with the wonderful, brilliant service dogs they train. I love being part of an organization that does something positive for animals and for humans at the same time. I can't say enough good things about PawPads.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Be a part of a K9 Kare Team and take care of our service dogs in-training Volunteer