Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
1234.982465
Write A Review
October 31, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

My husband is a severely disabled veteran and a client of PawPADs. He sustained significant brain damage that has left him paralyzed on his left side, unable to care for himself, and with a seizure disorder. Because of these issues, my husband requires full-time care and supervision. There is no way to sugar-coat the losses he and our family have suffered. It's hard, draining, and, at times, very ugly. The realities of war live with us every day and no aspect of our lives goea unaffected.

PawPADs came into our lives at a time when I was feeling extreme fatigue and doubt as a caregiver. Our local veteran community referred us to PawPADs and our lives haven't been the same since. Despite years long waits for a service dog at other organizations, PawPADs was able to get my husband into their training camp within just weeks of us starting the application process. The staff IMMEDIATELY made us feel like part of the PawPADs family and of something very special. Since Ranger was placed with my husband, our family has changed in ways I never imagined possible. Because of the supervision and assistance Ranger can provide, my role has been scaled back. For the first time since his injury, I've been able to leave my husband home alone and know that he's safe. I've been able to let him go out into the community on his own and know that Ranger is beside him to help him. I've seen Ranger in action and know that if my husband falls, Ranger can either help him up or he can go get help (both of which he's done on multiple occasions). I don't think we've ever gone somewhere (and we go a lot of places) without getting comments on Ranger's remarkable demeanor, his impressive obedience, his obvious intelligence, and his instantly loveable personality. He's truly a remarkable dog but PawPADs turned him into an invaluable companion.

Without Ranger, my husband wouldn't have the independence he has today. Neither would I. Ranger adds a level of safety and security to our lives that I am immensely grateful for. He is my husband's safety net and my peace of mind. I cannot imagine our family without him or where we would be if he didn't come into our lives. Thanks to PawPADs and to Ranger, I get to spend more time being a wife instead of being a caregiver. There are no sufficient words to thank PawPADs for giving back to us some of what war took.
October 30, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 8, 2012

I have volunteered at PawPads for eight months and have greatly enjoyed every minute of it.. I am on the Saturday morning canine care team where we feed, groom,train, exercise and play with the dogs ... more

October 30, 2014

I was a volunteer on a canine care team for two years and have been a board member for four months. It has been highly rewarding expanding my role and helping PawPADs meet the needs of our clients, dogs, staff and donors. For dog lovers, I can suggest no more important volunteer opportunity. For potential donors, your money will be wisely used to raise and train wonderful canine partners for our clients. We, dogs and staff, are a big, happy family (I know it is a cliche....but true). It has been the best volunteer gig of my life.
July 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered at PawPads for eight months and have greatly enjoyed every minute of it.. I am on the Saturday morning canine care team where we feed, groom,train, exercise and play with the dogs and puppies. The Directors, Board Members and Volunteers are a close-knit family. We are all asked for input in many levels of PawPads operations including dog-training, event planning, cost-control, fund-raising, volunteer recruitment and others. I have met and worked with incredible people, and the interaction with the dogs is life-changing. I would highly recommend PawPads as a wonderful place to volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

I am currently serving as the secretary on the Board of Director's at PawPADs. My first opportunity as a Board member was to coordinate an appreciation dinner for the ‘backbone’ of the organization: the volunteers. At the event, I was able to meet many of the volunteers and I was amazed at their dedication to the mission of PawPADs – to train service dogs for people with a variety of disabilities. Under the guidance of the Executive Director, Linda Ball, the volunteers keep the dogs fed, groomed and socialized every day of the year. In addition to meeting the volunteers, I have also had the pleasure of meeting clients who now have a service dog and the benefits the dog has brought to their lives. For example, the diabetic alert dogs are able to tell the person when their blood sugar is low, giving the person the chance to check their blood sugar and treat it without having to resort to emergency measures. The dogs accompany the clients everywhere: home, school, work, etc. It is truly amazing what these dogs are capable of, and I am so proud to be a part of this organization!
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

My husband is a wounded warrior...he lost a leg in Afghanistan and struggled with a lot before we got in touch with PawPADs a couple years ago. We were eventually partnered with Barkley just over six months later. Barkley is a dog who was rescued from a shelter and trained in a prison by PawPADs. Barkley changed our lives. There is not a piece of medical equipment on the planet that can do what this dog does for my husband. Barkley has given him a best friend and companion to share not only his struggles and hard times but his successes too. PawPADs has given us something we hadn't had in a few years and that's encouragement. Barkley can turn on the lights and pick things up but the best thing he does is watch out for and take care of my husband. The support we have received from PawPADs is beyond anything we have ever known. This is a nonprofit that is not only changing lives but changing the world while helping wounded warriors like my husband. I would give them more stars if I could.
October 17, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 31, 2013

PawPADs is a great organization and I'm proud to be associated with it! They take a main goal, training service dogs for people with physical mobility disabilities and Diabetic Alert Dogs, and use th... more

October 17, 2014

I have been a volunteer with PawPADs since 2011 and I am in my 2nd year as a member of the Board of Directors. I have had the great pleasure to see just how this organization changes lives through their many programs, some of which including working with veterans and youth at risk, as well as the clients with whom our dogs are ultimately placed.

PawPADs has touched so many lives in so many different ways thanks to the leadership and vision of Executive Director, Linda Ball.

I am so proud to be part of an organization that strives to make the lives of others better, four paws at a time.
October 31, 2013

PawPADs is a great organization and I'm proud to be associated with it! They take a main goal, training service dogs for people with physical mobility disabilities and Diabetic Alert Dogs, and use that to help a variety of people from veterans, to inmates, to youth at risk. I love the idea that the act of training is used to help others develop in their lives and the end result is enriching the lives of people with disabilities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

PAWPads is a great organization to volunteer at. My previous volunteer organziation shut their doors and I thought I'd never find a place I enjoyed working at more, until I met Randy & Linda. They welcomed me into their organization and I instantly felt like we'd been friends for life. As I learned more about their organization and all the different groups, from kids to vetrans to inmates, they help I knew this would be the place for me. They do great things with their dogs and for other people and I look forward to every day I get to work there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2014

more

October 16, 2014

Wow, what an organization! PawPADS has touched so many in the community and we are happy to be a contributor to this fabulous organization. Both Randy and Linda share their devotion, commitment, and hardwork for getting dogs in the hands on those who need it most. It's amazing seeing what how two people and several dogs can create a large community of supporters. We love PawPADS and enjoy their continuous growth and movement.
October 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 31, 2013

PawPADs is an amazing organization that does wonderful work for a broad range of people. I have worked with and interacted with some of the individuals who have had a service dog placed with them and ... more

October 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Hero is the School Resource Dog at Eastview Elementary School. Hero was trained as a service dog by the staff and volunteers at PawPADs. The amazing work that they did with this dog is now enabling Hero to enrich the lives of our students, make tough days better, help to make reading a little more exciting, offer a unique motivational tool and make our wonderful school even a little bit better! This is a small, but wonderful organization that helps to transform the lives of dogs and the people they interact with.
October 31, 2013

PawPADs is an amazing organization that does wonderful work for a broad range of people. I have worked with and interacted with some of the individuals who have had a service dog placed with them and I have observed an amazing positive change in the quality of life for these fortunate individuals. I have been privileged to work with PawPADs staff and volunteers as they worked with students in our schools. PawPADs has been extremely generous (especially for a group with limited financial resources) and brought dogs into our schools to work with students, provide unique educational experiences and positive experiences. Staff and students who have involved never stop talking about these opportunities and the difference this organization made in their lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase their access to financial resources

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
February 26, 2014

PawPads has made a world of difference in my life. My diabetic alert dog has really made a wonderful change in my life along with my husbands. I can not say enough about this organization. The ... more

October 13, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

My diabetic alert dog Sage is doing so wonderful. I have had him for less than one year and my A-1 C has gone down 1.2 points which is miraculous for me. He has learned to go and get my meter and bring it to me wherever I am, he fits in great at work, great out in the public and fits in with the family like he has always been here. I can't say enough to PawPADs then THANK YOU so so much for Sage
he is a wonderful wonderful boy Who for exceeds my expectations helping me with my diabetes.
Andre' A. Coleman
February 26, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

PawPads has made a world of difference in my life. My diabetic alert dog has really made a wonderful change in my life along with my husbands. I can not say enough about this organization. The assistance, the ongoing training, support and dedication has far exceeded my expectations along with my husbands. Thank you PawPads for all your do and all you've done. Brad and Andre'

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


3 previous reviews - show all
October 31, 2013

I've been a volunteer with PawPads since 2010. I have seen first hand how this organization not only helps by providing assistance dog to those who need them but also makes an impact by rescuing dogs... more

October 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As a volunteer for nearly four years and now a board member. I have seen firsthand the great work that PawPADs has done for not only its clients, but also the many participants in their ongoing programs that help troubled youth, veterans and inmates.

I can not begin to describe the
amount of good that has come from this organization. It's truly touched many lives and made them better due to the efforts of everyone involved.

I strongly encourage anyone to donate, whether it's time, money or just referring someone who could be helped by our services. PawPADs is a worthy organization that changes the lives of those that they serve and those that take it upon themselves to help PawPADs achieve its Mission, Strategy and Vision.

To find out more about PawPADs: http://pawpads.org/page20aboutus.html
To Donate: http://pawpads.org/page40donate.html
To become a Volunteer: http://pawpads.org/page41getinvolved.html
October 31, 2013

I've been a volunteer with PawPads since 2010. I have seen first hand how this organization not only helps by providing assistance dog to those who need them but also makes an impact by rescuing dogs and giving them purpose by training them as service dogs. A great group of people who strive to a greater purpose for both human and animal.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

PawPADS is an organization that strives to make the lives of those that need their services better by providing assistance dogs. As a volunteer; I've seen first hand the amazing results of the assistance dogs that are placed. Not only do the recipients benefit from the placement of the dogs, but all of those involved in the organization benefit as well.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 30, 2012

PawPADS is an organization that strives to make the lives of those that need their services better by providing assistance dogs. As a volunteer; I've seen first hand the amazing results of the assistance dogs that are placed. Not only do the recipients benefit from the placement of the dogs, but all of those involved in the organization benefit as well.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My name is Chris Barncard and with the help of service dogs and Xcel Energy voluntary employee contributions, veterans can receive the therapy they need to focus on positive interactions. Recently, General Counsel’s Legal Services Engagement Committee ran a campaign to raise donations from its employees to engage with and support Xcel Energy’s commitment to helping our armed services veterans.

The campaign started with an in-house presentation of the Pawsitive Perspectives Assistance Dogs (PawPADS) program on Aug. 11, 2014, with the campaign ending on Sept. 11, 2014, commemorative of this significant date in U.S. history. Co-founders Linda Ball and Randy Patrick, along with two of their dogs in training, Breezy and Coco, came to Xcel Energy to give a presentation of their nonprofit organization through videos, demonstrations from the dogs, and by providing information of all of their programs and taking questions from the employees who attended the presentation.

The Legal Services Engagement Committee’s goal was to reach $1,000 of donations, as well as to use Xcel Energy’s “Matching Gifts” program. The Legal Services committee not only reached its goal, but went over it. With the generous donations of $1,095 and $800.00 in matching gifts, a total of $1,895 was raised for this worthwhile organization.

As the initiator of this campaign, I would love to encourage other corporations, companies, families etc. to organize a fund raiser as we did in our Legal Services Department at Xcel Energy, Inc. in Minneapolis, MN. Linda Ball, Randy Patrick, Patrick Ziegler and their dogs are a wonderful visual for potential voluntary donors to educate themselves of this amazing organiziation through visuals, listening, education and an open forum for questions. PawPADS and their founders (and dogs) are amazing and I highly recommend supporting our armed services veterans and these beautiful, intelligent and amazing dogs who provide such the help and companionship needed.

Chris Barncard

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Be a part of a K9 Kare Team and take care of our service dogs in-training Volunteer