Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.432435
Write A Review
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I adopted a dog from PAWS in April, and I love her to bits - but her temperament is VERY different from what was described. This was the second dog I had applied for through this rescue. After going through an interview, and having all of my references checked, I was not chosen to adopt the first dog. This was after some confusion where I was lead to believe that I was going to be able to adopt no problem (the foster arranged a time for me to come meet and pick-up the dog!). This was very upsetting, but I figured they were just trying to do their best to arrange the very best home for the dog.

Several months later I applied for a different dog. I spoke with the foster and the dog seemed to meet all of my criteria (good with all people and kids, great with dogs, would be ok living with a pet rabbit). Again I went through the interview process, they contacted my references again, and this time I was approved to adopt. PAWS does not allow you to meet the dog until you have been approved to adopt, and this dog was being fostered 4 hours from our home. So we basically had to take her home with no idea what her temperament was really like. But based on the fact that they didn't think the first dog was a good fit, I figured they were doing their best to make sure that this dog would fit perfectly into our home.

We quickly found out she was very different than what we had expected and prepared for. She is very skittish around new people, and extremely dog reactive. She also has an insanely high prey drive - not conducive to living in harmony with a pet rabbit. These are all behaviors that I noticed in the first week of her being at our home, so I would assume it is something the foster should have noticed. I contacted the foster several weeks after having the dog at home to see if she had noticed any of these behaviors and how she dealt with them, and she just said that she didn't notice any of those things and that the dog just needs to settle into our home. It has now been 6 months, and I have spent over $1000 on private training and special reactivity classes. The dog trainer that we use has a lot of experience with reactive dogs and is now suggesting that the only way to calm her down would be to medicate.

I am just baffled on how they could have been so far off the mark with just general personality traits. I partly blame myself for not insisting we meet the dog before bringing her home. I guess I have learned my lesson!
October 5, 2014

more

October 5, 2014

The dog we wanted to adopt had tested heart worm positive. We were told that she needed to have treatment before we could adopt, but since the vaccinations are over a period of a couple of weeks, maybe we could take her early and they'd provide transportation to the vet. They wanted to use a vet in Connecticut who was much less expensive - as in $300.00. I called our vet (suburb of Boston) and his price for antibiotics, first vaccination, and follow up vaccination was nearly $1,500.00. That set up red flags. Why/how could this vet do it correctly for a third the price. Plus our vet said after the treatment the dog had to be kept very quiet for three months - only on leash for bathroom breaks. The concern is that exercise causes the heart to pound and any residual worms could pass to the lungs. PAWS said - "don't worry about that - I've had dogs treated and they're perfectly okay to run and play." More and final red flags.

I am questioning the proliferation of these animal rescue organizations and how or if they are regulated. There is a significant amount of money flowing in. Cutting costs for treatment should not be necessary.
July 20, 2014

more

July 20, 2014

I understand that this organization is volunteer-run but I found the entire process to be extremely drawn-out and frustrating. The adoption coordinator let our adoption application drop for over a week after the phone interview before we had to scramble to get everything done for the puppy's arrival. The woman who came to do the home visit was unfriendly and rather rude. Then, after three weeks of being given the run-around, they called us and told us we had two hours to confirm that we wanted the dog! Since we were in the hospital with our grandmother at the time, we missed this ridiculous deadline. After all that work we had lost the puppy that we had started to think of as ours- very frustrating for me and disappointing for my children.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Unlikely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Somewhat badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 6, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Although I believe their hearts are in the right place, there were a lot of problems with my adoption. I love my dog more than anything and wouldn't trade her for the world, but she ended up having a very serious heart problem that easily could have been discovered before adopting her out, but was not. Also, the day I brought her home she went into heat, even though she had supposedly been spayed. Obviously not. She was in heat for a month. After that, the organization offered to have her spayed, but I would have had to bring her to a vet quite a distance away who worked at a dog track. I was absolutely not going to do that, especially since I now knew that she had a very bad heart and would not get the care she needed. So I spent a lot of money to have her spayed at Angell Memorial in Boston, and PAWS only refunded me what the dog track vet would have charged. I also have spent a lot of money and worry on my dog's heart condition. After initially being diagnosed, PAWS offered to take her back and put her in a permanent foster, but there was no way I was going to do that. Oh, and she also had two tick-borne diseases that had to be treated, and mammary tumors that had to be removed. This was immediately after I adopted her, so these conditions also should have been discovered and I should not have had to pay for them.

I again want to say that I love my dog more than anything, and I do believe that the PAWS volunteers really care. But my experience was very difficult, and I think there were things about my dog that should have been known and disclosed. I still donate to PAWS, though, because I want to help the dogs and I believe they do too.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I believe they need to give the dogs more thorough medical examinations and treatment before putting dogs up for adoption.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Unsure

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Okay

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

August 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We recently adopted a dog through PAWS New England. We are very impressed with how thoroughly they checked our references and how quickly the adoption process was completed. The foster parents of our new "furbaby"were the folks that we dealt with the most and they were terrific!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 9, 2012

more

August 9, 2012

I adopted my dog Jethro in 2010 from Paws NE and they were wonderful!! I found them to be caring, kind and professional! The adoption process was easy and quick!! Less that a week after our application was approved we got to take our Jethro home!!! Thank you paws for all that you do!!! I had such a great experience with Paws NE that I am thinking about becoming a volunteer myself!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I adopted my beautiful Crystal from PAWS. It was the best experience ever. It was not a business transaction; it was an adoption. I was amazed by the heart, compassion and dedication of all the PAWS volunteers. But I was especially amazed by how PAWS always puts the dog FIRST. It's not your looks, your money, your tantrums or your level of education what gets you accepted as a PAWS adoptive parent. It's your ability to put the dog first too, even if that means that you cannot adopt the dog that you want, or you have to return the dog because it is no longer working, or you cannot pick up the dog on the day you planned. The pups come first. Period.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am a foster mommy for Paws of New England here in Memphis TN., and there are no words for how wonderful this group of people are!! They are the most caring people in the world when it comes to our for legged babies!! They work truly hard everyday, and even have full time jobs, and spend time at work, and even work all hours of the night to coordinate happy homes for these angels that people have thrown out like common trash!!! I have NEVER EVER had anyone even come close to being rude, and have always done everything they said that they would, and I live 1200 miles away!!!!! I can't begin to tell you how many lives they save without a question asked on a day by day basis!!! It's soooo amazing!!! That being said if you are NOT a right fit for these babies, and they don't place one of angels with you, then there is a reason, and a damn good one, and fully trust ANY placing or nonplacing of these babies!!! Keep fighting the GREAT fight ladies, because each and EVERYONE of you are amazing in my book ;)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have never been more impressed by a nonprofit dog rescue as I am with PAWS NE. They have so many amazing volunteers that are able to manage to coordinate and orchestrate the rescuing of animals from numerous states, give them the health care that they need, find foster homes and then get these dogs to their forever homes where they can be part of a family instead of society's castoffs. My first experience adopting my Teddy was such an amazing experience that I then adopted two more, one from a puppy mill rescue in Tennessee where PAWS was amazing enough to take in 30 special needs dogs and managed to tirelessly give them all of the healthcare they needed and found proper homes for these special dogs. I am FOREVER grateful to this group of volunteers who live to help these angels!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 8, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

August 8, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I adopted my beautiful Trinity Ryleigh from PAWS NE and was so impressed with the process and the organization that I now foster and volunteer for them all the time. I have rescued and fostered dogs for over 20 years and dealt with many groups....this group goes above and beyond. Everyone I dealt with was so helpful and kind. Now as a volunteer and foster I work closely with so many members and am proud to say I am part of the PAWS NE family. They will do whatever is needed above and beyond for any dog and I am so touched by the support they offer adopters and fosters. Absolutely an outstanding organization.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

more ways than I can express. I adopted my amazing Trinity from them and so enjoyed the process and support. They ensure every dog goes to the best home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help add more volunteers and I am personally recruiting some

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

none it is great

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have rescued/fostered for over 20 years and my experiences with PAWS NE have changed my life and renewed my effort to continue saving dogs.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It is so rewarding for me and my entire family

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

We’re always looking for people to foster dogs or volunteer their time. Adoption Coordinators are our volunteers who see each adoption through from start to finish. They play a vital role at PAWS! Learn more at http://www.pawsnewengland.com/volunteer Volunteer