Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
34 Reviews
1234.647065
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Although I believe their hearts are in the right place, there were a lot of problems with my adoption. I love my dog more than anything and wouldn't trade her for the world, but she ended up having a very serious heart problem that easily could have been discovered before adopting her out, but was not. Also, the day I brought her home she went into heat, even though she had supposedly been spayed. Obviously not. She was in heat for a month. After that, the organization offered to have her spayed, but I would have had to bring her to a vet quite a distance away who worked at a dog track. I was absolutely not going to do that, especially since I now knew that she had a very bad heart and would not get the care she needed. So I spent a lot of money to have her spayed at Angell Memorial in Boston, and PAWS only refunded me what the dog track vet would have charged. I also have spent a lot of money and worry on my dog's heart condition. After initially being diagnosed, PAWS offered to take her back and put her in a permanent foster, but there was no way I was going to do that. Oh, and she also had two tick-borne diseases that had to be treated, and mammary tumors that had to be removed. This was immediately after I adopted her, so these conditions also should have been discovered and I should not have had to pay for them.

I again want to say that I love my dog more than anything, and I do believe that the PAWS volunteers really care. But my experience was very difficult, and I think there were things about my dog that should have been known and disclosed. I still donate to PAWS, though, because I want to help the dogs and I believe they do too.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I believe they need to give the dogs more thorough medical examinations and treatment before putting dogs up for adoption.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Unsure

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Okay

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

August 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We recently adopted a dog through PAWS New England. We are very impressed with how thoroughly they checked our references and how quickly the adoption process was completed. The foster parents of our new "furbaby"were the folks that we dealt with the most and they were terrific!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 9, 2012

more

August 9, 2012

I adopted my dog Jethro in 2010 from Paws NE and they were wonderful!! I found them to be caring, kind and professional! The adoption process was easy and quick!! Less that a week after our application was approved we got to take our Jethro home!!! Thank you paws for all that you do!!! I had such a great experience with Paws NE that I am thinking about becoming a volunteer myself!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I adopted my beautiful Crystal from PAWS. It was the best experience ever. It was not a business transaction; it was an adoption. I was amazed by the heart, compassion and dedication of all the PAWS volunteers. But I was especially amazed by how PAWS always puts the dog FIRST. It's not your looks, your money, your tantrums or your level of education what gets you accepted as a PAWS adoptive parent. It's your ability to put the dog first too, even if that means that you cannot adopt the dog that you want, or you have to return the dog because it is no longer working, or you cannot pick up the dog on the day you planned. The pups come first. Period.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am a foster mommy for Paws of New England here in Memphis TN., and there are no words for how wonderful this group of people are!! They are the most caring people in the world when it comes to our for legged babies!! They work truly hard everyday, and even have full time jobs, and spend time at work, and even work all hours of the night to coordinate happy homes for these angels that people have thrown out like common trash!!! I have NEVER EVER had anyone even come close to being rude, and have always done everything they said that they would, and I live 1200 miles away!!!!! I can't begin to tell you how many lives they save without a question asked on a day by day basis!!! It's soooo amazing!!! That being said if you are NOT a right fit for these babies, and they don't place one of angels with you, then there is a reason, and a damn good one, and fully trust ANY placing or nonplacing of these babies!!! Keep fighting the GREAT fight ladies, because each and EVERYONE of you are amazing in my book ;)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have never been more impressed by a nonprofit dog rescue as I am with PAWS NE. They have so many amazing volunteers that are able to manage to coordinate and orchestrate the rescuing of animals from numerous states, give them the health care that they need, find foster homes and then get these dogs to their forever homes where they can be part of a family instead of society's castoffs. My first experience adopting my Teddy was such an amazing experience that I then adopted two more, one from a puppy mill rescue in Tennessee where PAWS was amazing enough to take in 30 special needs dogs and managed to tirelessly give them all of the healthcare they needed and found proper homes for these special dogs. I am FOREVER grateful to this group of volunteers who live to help these angels!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 8, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

August 8, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I adopted my beautiful Trinity Ryleigh from PAWS NE and was so impressed with the process and the organization that I now foster and volunteer for them all the time. I have rescued and fostered dogs for over 20 years and dealt with many groups....this group goes above and beyond. Everyone I dealt with was so helpful and kind. Now as a volunteer and foster I work closely with so many members and am proud to say I am part of the PAWS NE family. They will do whatever is needed above and beyond for any dog and I am so touched by the support they offer adopters and fosters. Absolutely an outstanding organization.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

more ways than I can express. I adopted my amazing Trinity from them and so enjoyed the process and support. They ensure every dog goes to the best home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help add more volunteers and I am personally recruiting some

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

none it is great

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have rescued/fostered for over 20 years and my experiences with PAWS NE have changed my life and renewed my effort to continue saving dogs.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It is so rewarding for me and my entire family

August 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

This was the worst experience I've ever had with any business.. My girlfriend and I were days away from getting a new puppy that we were really excited for, when we were given false information about the pick up which was hours away from us.. When we questioned it, we were treated with in the most disrespectful and rude way I've ever Ben treated.. They would not admit any wrong doing even after we gave them written documentation of the agreed upon time.. It resulted in them making threats and eventually terminating the contract two days prior of us picking up the dog. It was the worst experience I've had to date and I would never use this group of unprofessional people ever again.. And I suggest those that do to proceed with caution. Absolutely horrible experience.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 21, 2012

more


1 previous review
February 19, 2011

As a woman on disability with ill health, it was nearly impossible for me to to go local shelters to search for a special pooch to adopt. Through on-line research, I discovered Paws New England. The... more

February 21, 2012

I adopted two dogs in 2010. Though I believed my family to be complete, I fell in love with another of their pooches in 2011 and also adopted her buddy. Four special dogs who always make me smile. PAWS New England is a rescue a cut above the rest. They are accommodating and so willing to do ANYTHING to make sure that each and every animal finds the best possible forever home. Their volunteers are tireless in fighting to improve the lives of pooches (and sometimes cats too!). I hold them in the highest regard and would not hesitate to urge you to donate your time, energy, and/or money to this worthwhile organization. I am a very particular person, particularly in terms of who I donate to and I can assure you that every dollar you send to PAWS New England will be put to very good use.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 19, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

As a woman on disability with ill health, it was nearly impossible for me to to go local shelters to search for a special pooch to adopt. Through on-line research, I discovered Paws New England. They were very thorough, professional, and supportive in assisting me with adopting a dog who would be the perfect match for me and my older dog. The coordinator and the foster mother did everything possible to help me through the adoption process. I am thrilled with my Tennessee pooch, Cooper. When my Molly died last October, I again returned to this site and found another special dog, Cali, to join my small family. I have the ultimte respect for this organization and hightly recommend them to one and all.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The staff/volunteers are dedicated and make every effort to save the lives of as many animals as possible while finding an appropriate and loving "forever" home for these deserving animals. Those involved with this organization dedicate their lives to animal advocacy and do so on their own time with little or no recognition. They are truly "angels".

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not make any changes except to reach out to others and implore them to donate to this worthy organiation. I wish a business or foundation would take them under their wings and provide financial security.

March 11, 2011

more

March 11, 2011

When we decided to adopt our first dog, we searched away on petfinder.com, and submitted an application to PAWS. The first pup got snapped up right away, but the ladies at PAWS jumped right in and helped us find the PERFECT little guy for us!! Its 2 years later, and we try to help PAWS whenever we can, my boyfriend said it best last week "I still feel so indebted to them" PAWS, we can't thank you enough for finding us Oliver!!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my everyday life, when I come home to that adorable smooshy face pup!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love to be able to give them more money!

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

We’re always looking for people to foster dogs or volunteer their time. Adoption Coordinators are our volunteers who see each adoption through from start to finish. They play a vital role at PAWS! Learn more at http://www.pawsnewengland.com/volunteer Volunteer