Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
52 Reviews
1234.961545
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As a rehabber, I have occasionally needed advice on different species that I'm not familiar with. Mac & the good people at PAWS are always available.
They are always willing to take animals that I don't handle.
The time and care they put into their sanctuary is awesome. Even with the
number of animals in their care, they manage to provide specialized treatment for all.
I am amazed that they do it all on donations and their own out of pocket. I would definitely recommend this group if you ever find orphaned/injured wildlife. You won't find a more dedicated group.
January 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

A highly recommended rescue for charitable donations -- PAWS Animal Wildlife Rescue is top notch, honest, committed to the injured, dedicated to rescue, established and has loyally been rehabilitating wildlife for many years...

They accept PayPal donations - You can visit their website for
additional information on donating online. www.paws-sc.com

Checks may be mailed to:
Paws, Inc.
PO Box 157
Waterloo, SC 29384

They also take credit/debit card donations via phone at (864) 683-3190.

All donations are tax deductible! All work is done by volunteers so no money is spent on staffing or salaries!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would fund them more so that focus could solely be on the wildlife and add additional volunteers to help educate the public.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
June 5, 2013

Unfortunately I have only been to PAWS once to volunteer my time, but I promise to get back as soon as things settle down a bit. I had a wonderful experience while there. Mac is a down to earth compas... more

January 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Throughout my life I have been involved with several non-profit organizations and I have to say that Mac and PAWS has touched my heart more deeply than anything I've ever been involved with. The passion that Mac has for the animals is indescribable, it's something that has to be seen. I am so glad that I decided to make that first trip to PAWS to paint raptor houses in the rain and to wash feed buckets... I was awe struck from the very first day. I continue to give as much as I can to PAWS: my time, my labor, my money, my respect and mostly my love. I feel everything that Mac feels when she updates us on FB about animals that have been rescued, if she's happy because they're doing good - I'm happy, if she's worried because they should be doing better - I'm worried, if she's sad because despite everything she has tried the animal lost the battle - I'm sad... it's almost like she's my soul sister! :) I have watched this woman work until her body has given out, I have seen her go with out so that an animals WILL have. She is one of the most unselfish, most devoted, most compassionate women I have ever had the pleasure of working beside. I'm proud to say I'm a PAWS volunteer!! And love the fact that I can call Mac my friend!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Figure out a way to find more hands on volunteers to help with ALL the work that needs to be done at PAWS, all the work that Mac gets so frustrated about because she cannot humanly do it all by herself. It would also be nice to help her find a way to have a constant reliable amount of money coming in each month to keep things floating and maybe a little extra to get things moving. This organization is run solely on donations and we all know how unpredictable that can be.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Unfortunately I have only been to PAWS once to volunteer my time, but I promise to get back as soon as things settle down a bit. I had a wonderful experience while there. Mac is a down to earth compassionate woman and loves to talk about her rescues. I could have listened to her stories all day long but there was work to be done! I painted, as much as I could even tho it was drizzling rain in one of the rapture houses and it was too cool to be surrounded by birds, some who were inquisitive and some who were very quiet. The only animals I got to meet other than King Fido were the educational birds, which I understood completely. You can't rehab animals if they are too use to people, so even though I wanted to see the babies I knew better than to ask. I washed feed tubs and even though I'm not big into washing dishes I enjoyed the experience because I knew these tubs were used for a saving lives! I just can't say enough good things about Mac and PAWS.... you need to experience it yourself to understand. Thank you Mac for having me and I WILL be back!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There are no changes needed to the organization that a million dollar donation wouldn't fix. Mac does a fantastic job with what she has!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Great organization that provides special care to any wildlife that needs rehab. I help transport injured and/or orphaned wildlife to PAWS. After a few months of care, the animal is returned to be free. It's an awesome organization that helps preserve our wildlife.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Wonderful to work with! I often do volunteer work with them and I have taken rescues to them as well! Great work helping to save upstate south Carolina's wildlife!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I met Mac when i took a cooper hawk to her for help and was amazed at at what one women can do for so many animals ! She dedicates not just alot but every bit of her time with the animals that need help ! Saying she is amazing is an understatement ! Thank you so much Mac !

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have worked with Paws for over a year as a volunteer wildlife rehaber. I have found the experience very stimulating and well worth my time. This organization takes wildlife rescue very seriously. I will continue to offer my time and services to this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a licensed wildlife rehabilitator in Virginia, I worked with an outstanding organization. When I moved to South Carolina, I contacted two wildlife organizations, neither of which I was willing to donate my time or money to as they just didn't seem to be well organized. After speaking with PAWS several months ago and attending two classes, it reminded me of the great organization I had worked with in Virginia, that I still stay in touch with. I decided to offer PAWS my property as a release site for native wildlife ready for return to nature. I have been releasing squirrels so far, but plan to release other species as release cages are built. It takes a special person to do wildlife rehabilitation and a special person to organize, motivate, and lead a non-profit at the same time. PAWS is that organization worth committing to.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

classes I have attended, contact with other volunteers, and reviews of ongoing discussions posted on the PAWS website.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

add a habitat education component to their program. Habitat destruction, fragmentation of the land, and invasive species are the most critical factors contributing to the decline of most native species. Many rehabilitated animals are released back into a habitat that may not be suitable for their survival. Although an important component for reducing the need for rehabilitation and for increasing survival afterwards, habitat needs are not taught in any organization I have dealt with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Having more volunteers live closer to my property. I live 1.5 hours from PAWS, which makes it difficult for both of us to work with each other. There are no known volunteers in my area so distance is an impediment.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

After over 10 years of absence from working with wildlife, PAWS has provided an opportunity to renew that experience in a way that fits my current lifestyle and provides a rewarding way to meet new people and share my passion for nature. I hope to share my experience in habitat improvement practices with others and motivate them to improve the habitat in their own back yard.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It provides a way for me to release pent up energy and passion for nature. Unfortunately, few people today really care about the environment and its inhabitants and even fewer actually do anything to help it. Thus, I don't know many people with whom I can share this interest. PAWS provides an outlet for that interest.

September 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

PAWS is run by one very dedicated woman (MAC) and lot of volunteers. I first met MAC in Greenville at a fundraiser where she was handing out flyers with information about wildlife to passers-by. Since then, I've picked up a batch of orphaned opossums to care for, and am hoping to do more when time allows. I highly recommend her organization. If you have time, take a class with her and raise of batch of squirrels or opossums yourself! It's rewarding, and she could use the help! If you can't do that, please consider sending a donation for food.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been trained by PAWS to transport injured wildlife, and to care for baby squirrels. I have witnessed the care, love, and focus to rehabilitate wildlife and return them to their natural state. MAC makes use of every bit of help that she can. I have helped at an expo, Her posts also educate all of us in the proper care of wildlife (when they need help and when they don't!) I have picked up injured wildlife and brought to PAWS. picked up wildlife from another rehab center to transport to PAWS, helped pick up cages and a freezer that were being discarded. I personally have donated money to help in the care of these animals. This organization is truly dedicate to rehabbing wildlife. I look forward to volunteering more when I retire at the end of this school year.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

power wash cages or other cleaning, do data entry, hand out brochures at a public educational booth, or a variety of other things, depending on whatever projects are in work. Volunteer