Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
52 Reviews
1234.961545
Write A Review
September 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am an animal lover from Laurens SC. PAWS is known to me as the 'go to' for injured wildlife. They have a track record that backs up what they say.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I met Mac when i took a cooper hawk to her for help and was amazed at at what one women can do for so many animals ! She dedicates not just alot but every bit of her time with the animals that need help ! Saying she is amazing is an understatement ! Thank you so much Mac !

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have worked with Paws for over a year as a volunteer wildlife rehaber. I have found the experience very stimulating and well worth my time. This organization takes wildlife rescue very seriously. I will continue to offer my time and services to this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a licensed wildlife rehabilitator in Virginia, I worked with an outstanding organization. When I moved to South Carolina, I contacted two wildlife organizations, neither of which I was willing to donate my time or money to as they just didn't seem to be well organized. After speaking with PAWS several months ago and attending two classes, it reminded me of the great organization I had worked with in Virginia, that I still stay in touch with. I decided to offer PAWS my property as a release site for native wildlife ready for return to nature. I have been releasing squirrels so far, but plan to release other species as release cages are built. It takes a special person to do wildlife rehabilitation and a special person to organize, motivate, and lead a non-profit at the same time. PAWS is that organization worth committing to.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

classes I have attended, contact with other volunteers, and reviews of ongoing discussions posted on the PAWS website.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

add a habitat education component to their program. Habitat destruction, fragmentation of the land, and invasive species are the most critical factors contributing to the decline of most native species. Many rehabilitated animals are released back into a habitat that may not be suitable for their survival. Although an important component for reducing the need for rehabilitation and for increasing survival afterwards, habitat needs are not taught in any organization I have dealt with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Having more volunteers live closer to my property. I live 1.5 hours from PAWS, which makes it difficult for both of us to work with each other. There are no known volunteers in my area so distance is an impediment.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

After over 10 years of absence from working with wildlife, PAWS has provided an opportunity to renew that experience in a way that fits my current lifestyle and provides a rewarding way to meet new people and share my passion for nature. I hope to share my experience in habitat improvement practices with others and motivate them to improve the habitat in their own back yard.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It provides a way for me to release pent up energy and passion for nature. Unfortunately, few people today really care about the environment and its inhabitants and even fewer actually do anything to help it. Thus, I don't know many people with whom I can share this interest. PAWS provides an outlet for that interest.

September 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

PAWS is a well run organization that gets the most out of every donated dollar. They provide top notch and wildlife-sensitive rehabilitation, always looking to do what's best for the animal in the long run. Sometimes that means euthnasia, but most often it means care given in such a way that the animal can return to the wild with a high probability of success.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

caring for wildlife in a way that facilitates their successful return to their wild life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

provide them with more money and better facilties.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

Facebook

September 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am amazed that is in this day and times that people will give all of theirselves to help poor little animals (no matter what kind of animals). And Mrs. Curry gets nothing back except to see the animals released back to the wild, healthy and full of life. I love to watch her facebook page on all the great and some sad stories. But she does keep you inform on the progress of the animals. I am so proud to have her in my community and great honor to know her.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

PAWS is run by one very dedicated woman (MAC) and lot of volunteers. I first met MAC in Greenville at a fundraiser where she was handing out flyers with information about wildlife to passers-by. Since then, I've picked up a batch of orphaned opossums to care for, and am hoping to do more when time allows. I highly recommend her organization. If you have time, take a class with her and raise of batch of squirrels or opossums yourself! It's rewarding, and she could use the help! If you can't do that, please consider sending a donation for food.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been trained by PAWS to transport injured wildlife, and to care for baby squirrels. I have witnessed the care, love, and focus to rehabilitate wildlife and return them to their natural state. MAC makes use of every bit of help that she can. I have helped at an expo, Her posts also educate all of us in the proper care of wildlife (when they need help and when they don't!) I have picked up injured wildlife and brought to PAWS. picked up wildlife from another rehab center to transport to PAWS, helped pick up cages and a freezer that were being discarded. I personally have donated money to help in the care of these animals. This organization is truly dedicate to rehabbing wildlife. I look forward to volunteering more when I retire at the end of this school year.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have contacted PAWS for a few problems I was having and I was needing some advice. Mac freely gave her time and expertise when I needed it. I have been watching and following Paws for about 2 years now and it seeme to me to be a very well operated rehab center

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 19, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 19, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I attended a class to learn about raising baby squirrels and opossums a few months ago and although I work at another Wildlife Rehabilitation Center like PAWS, I learned alot from the class. I also took information from the class to my rehabilitation center and everyone was eager to hear new ideas about squirrel and opossum rehabilitation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

power wash cages or other cleaning, do data entry, hand out brochures at a public educational booth, or a variety of other things, depending on whatever projects are in work. Volunteer