Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
54 Reviews
1234.962965
Write A Review
October 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Having volunteered for several years, at another wildlife facility, I easily recognize the superior skills demonstrated through what happens at Paws Animal Wildlife Sanctuary. Taking time to keep the public informed (for me, through facebook posts), the "Paws" facility has described care regimens and issued enough animal progress reports to yield evidence of consistent and conscientious care. Further posts by this facility focus on awareness education valuable to the general public, who are most often the first people to come across wild animals in distress and need the information so that wildlife caregivers might achieve best outcome for sick, orphaned, and/or displaced wildlife, and to prevent unnecessary admissions of animals. Wildlife rehabilitation is time-consuming, with few breaks and long hours. It's grueling work and deeply rewarding, and it encompasses amazing rehabilitation victories at the same time as it delivers heartbreaking experiences. As soon as she finds the time, the director of the "Paws" facility writes summaries for her new admissions and disseminates them to the public, with follow-up reports and relevant education items--all essential, if we are to learn and realize how significant is the work of keeping our wildlife healthy. For several years I have been an avid reader of all that has been posted, and I highly commend the folks at Paws Wildlife Animal Sanctuary. They perform a needed service during an era when wildlife is rapidly vanishing and needs all skills available to meet their needs during compromise.
March 15, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 15, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

I absolutely love the work done by Paws. I am a monthly donor and would gladly give more if I could. The care they give to wildlife is outstanding. The educational information offered is great too. It is difficult to know what to do when faced with hurt or abandoned wildlife. Mac, the rehabber at Paws has provided lots of information on determining if an animal has been abandoned or not and what to do if one is hurt. Recently, I had the opportunity to put some of that educational information to use. We were in Leesville, SC, when a tree fell in the woods behind our house. I heard the tree fall and went to investigate. There were three baby squirrels in the remains of the nest on the ground. Thankfully, they did not appear to be hurt. I called and got instructions on how to reunite the babies with the mama but after 4 hours she had not returned. I then took them to Carolina Wildlife Care in Columbia. Because of the information offered by Paws, I knew not to feed them and where to get instructions for a attempt to reunite them with their Mom. Thanks to Paws, I knew what to do and these babies will have a good chance of growing up!
February 27, 2015

more

February 27, 2015

Paws is one of the best Wildlife educators out there. Tremendous care is always given to each individual animal needing rescue and rehabilitation. Tireless to teach the youth by giving wonderful outreach in the public and private schools, their education helps the next generation to respect and care for our wildlife. Many lil frail animal lives have been saved by their careful hands.
October 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
June 5, 2013

I can't say enough good about this organization. It was first brought to my attention by my daughter-in-law who volunteers for Carolina Wildlife Care. The work done by PAWS is outstanding. I know o... more

October 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is one of two wildlife organizations I donate to. The care for the animals is excellent; the funds are used in an appropriate manner; and I love the way the organization does it's best to make sure the wildlife are rehabbed to go back into the wild. I would donate more to them if I had it! Excellent management, excellent facility. I am forever glad I found them.
June 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I can't say enough good about this organization. It was first brought to my attention by my daughter-in-law who volunteers for Carolina Wildlife Care. The work done by PAWS is outstanding. I know of nowhere else in the State where fawns, raptors, and other wildlife can be cared for so well. The goal of this organization is to return the animals back to the wild where they can live wild and free. They do great work. Many animals that would have died horrible deaths have been nursed back to health and released in protected areas. When it is impossible to save one, it is assisted in crossing the "rainbow bridge" with the smallest amount of trauma and pain possible. They manage their finances well. Paws keeps all of it's fans/donors well informed about the status of the animals and the organization at all times. I know when I donate funds to PAWS, it will be put to the best use possible. This is truly a GREAT nonprofit organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It is well-run. I, and they (I'm sure), would like to have more funding. Wish I could provide it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I am a donor to this organization because I believe in the work it does. They are a wonderful resource in that part of the state. Their finances are always in order. They use every dollar they receive in the most efficient way possible. It is a compasionate, caring, organization that strives to help injured wildlife to survive and thrive once returned to the wild. They provide updates on the different animals and their progress, with picture as well as words. We have many organizations that help domestic pets (and they are needed) but few can do the extremely difficult and important wildlife rehabilitation done in this area. This is an example of wonderful work that could be expanded if enough funds were available.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

My daughter-in-law, who is a Vet-tech, told me about it and the work they did. She knows I am concerned about wildlife rehabilitation and suggested I look into this one. I investigated and was extremely impressed.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

I know they always have needs and when I can afford to donate, I do. Since I don't have a lot of money, I try to put my donations where they are most needed.

What would you tell others about this organization?

Support it! If you care about wildlife in the upstate, help this organization help wildlife. Even a small amount can make a difference.

October 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Were very compassionate and eager to help. Great people!
October 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The team there has a true heart for the animals brought to them. They have helped numerous animals and I am so grateful for their services to our feathered, furry, and scaley creatures.
October 12, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 12, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Being an advocate for all animals, I follow Paws Animal Wildlife Sanctuary on Facebook and so look forward to Mac Mercedes' daily postings on what's new at the sanctuary. Sometimes the news is happy, sometimes sad. But knowing that this wonderful rehabber and group of volunteers is there doing their best to save and rehabilitate these creatures is comforting. Not long ago, my dog found a baby racoon in the yard. It was a weekend and I tried connecting with rehabbers in my area, to no avail. I finally reached out to Mac at Paws for advice. Not only did she guide me, but in the end, because I was so desperate, she arranged for a transport for me to connect with to bring the racoon to her. There is no animal rescue group in South Carolina who is more dedicated and deserving of respect than Mac Mercedes, Paws Animal Wildlife Sanctuary and volunteers.
October 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As a rehabber, I have occasionally needed advice on different species that I'm not familiar with. Mac & the good people at PAWS are always available.
They are always willing to take animals that I don't handle.
The time and care they put into their sanctuary is awesome. Even with the
number of animals in their care, they manage to provide specialized treatment for all.
I am amazed that they do it all on donations and their own out of pocket. I would definitely recommend this group if you ever find orphaned/injured wildlife. You won't find a more dedicated group.
October 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I do not know how PAWS manages to do all that they do. Every penny donated goes directly to the care of the wildlife they take in. The operators and management work tirelessly, often around the clock to provide needed medical assistance. Volunteers are treated with respect and know that they are valued and all donations whether in kind or monetary are put to use. The owner/operator posts regular updates on the animals which allows those of us living far away to track the progress of these beautiful creatures both great and small.
September 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have never needed PAWS assistance, but I appreciate the work they do. I live within 30 miles of their physical location. Sadly, in this area, wildlife is considered expendable. I love that they take in, mend, and release wildlife; or permanently house the animals that are non- releasable. All lives are precious, despite the species!
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

power wash cages or other cleaning, do data entry, hand out brochures at a public educational booth, or a variety of other things, depending on whatever projects are in work. Volunteer