Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
1234.888895
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
June 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Paws and Think has been apart of Joy's House for many years now. Each person that brings their pet in to visit with our Guests is always very respectful and sensitive to the needs and diagnosis of each individual that attends.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I work for a social service agency in Indianapolis and we partner with Paws to Think to provide opportunities for our clients and their children to practice reading in a calm, yet fun environment. It has been such a joy to see the kids become more confident, enthusiastic readers when they sit down with the loving dogs. I would encourage any parent or caregiver to make full use of this service for the development of their children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We work with Paws and Think, Inc. when we host them twice a month for "Paws to Read" a program with therapy dogs trained to listen intently as kids practice their reading skills. The kids who come for this love the dogs, and the dogs give the kids the chance to practice their reading skills in a non-threatening environment. The volunteers (both human and canine) always show up when expected, always with enthusiasm, which really relieves pressure on us in providing quality, free, regular programming for kids. They're truly a joy to work with.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I work in a kindergarten through fourth grade classroom for students with intensive behavioral and mental health needs. To further help address my students' needs, I reached out to Paws and Think to incorporate therapy dogs into our classroom. This is the best decision I have made since working in this classroom!!! We all look forward to Miss Susie and Lucy or Miss Kathy and Mater coming every week to spend time in our classroom. My students all have time to read with the therapy dog and adult as well as just talk, pet the dog, or have the therapy dog do tricks. ALL of my kids have improved their reading abilities SO much, which was not really the real reason we started this program. Two of my kids were afraid of dogs and hadn't had any interactions with dogs. Now they all know appropriate behavior with animals and always show respect to the dogs and their owners. I am so hopeful to continue this partnership next year with Paws and Think. Miss Susie and my kids have really bonded and she even brings gifts to the kids, picks out books for the kids and donated materials for our class. We can't wait for our end of the year celebration where, after hearing all about them, our parents can meet Miss Susie, Lucy, Miss Kathy, and Mater. Thank you Paws and Think!!! You all are so special and so awesome!!!
May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Paws and Think Inc has been a wonderful partnership for my students. Our 2nd graders look forward to every single visit from our doggie friends. This organization has made an important impact on reading in our school!

Elder W. Diggs, Indianapolis Public School #42
April 28, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 28, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

When we moved to Indianapolis a year or so ago, I started looking right away for places/causes with which to volunteer. I happily found Paws and Think, and am so pleased to be serving in an organization that is true to its vision, purpose, and goals. I have a Golden Retriever who has brought great joy into my life, and now I get to share him with others in meaningful ways. We go to elementary schools as part of the READ program where Sailor listens as children read aloud to him, we visit the VA Hospital weekly where Sailor comforts patients, staff, and visitors to the hematology unit, and we also visit area nursing homes and even colleges to help students de-stress during finals. As an organization, I was impressed right off the bat with the follow through from the staff -- I was contacted very soon after I applied to become a volunteer and was encouraged to get involved right away. I have developed a great respect for the other volunteers who spend a tremendous amount of effort and time in making the organization successful and run smoothly. The canine - human bond is an extraordinary relationship, and it's delightful to be a part of an organization that seeks to serve the Indianapolis area in creative ways through the utilization of well trained and well loved dogs. It's a win for the dogs and a win for the humans.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I still consider myself rather new to the organization, but it's my perspective that Paws and Think is in a place of potentially rapid growth. I think with this kind of opportunity, it will be very important to both attract new and keep seasoned staff and volunteers who can nurture the best and widest possible vision for expansion. There is a certain professionalism that I've come to expect from Paws and Think, and I would like this to continue to be prioritized.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

It is hard for me to imagine my life without Paws and Think as I LOVE being a volunteer here! I have been with Paws and Think (P&T) as a volunteer since 2008, when I became friends over the internet with the founder Gayle Hutchens. I enjoy the great group of friends, 2 legged and 4, that I have met here and the great strides that we have made in the past year to bring our programs to ALL of Indy and it's surrounding areas and those in our communities that need our programs the most. I have two registered therapy dogs with P&T, each with their own preferred places that they like to go! So that is nice as I like to visit senior citizens at memory care and nursing facilities and my dog Eddy will go with me there. My other dog Dickens is a child's best friend and will do lots of tricks AFTER our R.E.A.D., reading session when they ask him to. Not only do I enjoy visiting with my therapy dogs, but I also like to help our new volunteers train their dogs, volunteer on our grant writing, event planning and any committee where I can help out!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would increase our visibility by planning in advance more fun(d)-raising events for our organization! We did a lot when our founder was alive and right now we seem to be stuck in a rut.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 31, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I just recently joined the Board of Directors of Paws & Think and am excited to be part of a team that values the importance of the bond between humans and dogs and has the passion, drive and knowledge to develop programming that benefits all involved while aquiring the impactful data that is needed to support our mission so we can expand on what we are doing. Thrilled to be engaged and excited to continue and build the organization!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I just started volunteering with Paws and Think this year and am greatly enjoying it! The people who run the organization are very wonderful, nice, welcoming, and so excited about what they do to help our community! As a veterinarian, I enjoy working with dogs to help people in need, whether it be children who need encouragement developing reading skills or at-risk youth who can gain valuable life skills. This is a wonderful organization to work with whether or not you have a dog (which I don't)!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My family has owned an Italian Restaurant in Indianapolis, IN for 35 years and for the past three years we have now become dog friendly in our courtyard. In those three years I have had the pleasure of having Paws and Think at my establishment to help raise funds towards their continued efforts. I must say that this organization is one of the Best I've come to know. I commend them for what they do in the community and will continue to support them in the coming years. The Pups are amazing and their Owners equally committed to their Cause.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help a child achieve greater love of and skills for reading. Volunteer