Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.909095
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

I have been a volunteer for Paws & Think for 1 year, and from the beginning of my communications with Brad Kupper & the other officers, I have been impressed with the level of excellence, dedication, passion and professionalism on the leadership team. When an organization is headed by such a team as this, it will thrive and make a difference in others' lives. I have witnessed that in the elementary school that my dog & I have volunteered in as part of the R.E.A.D. program (Reading Education Assistance with Dogs). Over the course of a school year, not only did the students gain in reading skills, but their confidence & enjoyment of reading to my dog increased. As Dr. Ben Carson has stated, reading is the key to a person's future. If you are thinking of donating to a worthy cause, or being involved in one, I can recommend this nonprofit with no reservations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get the volunteers together for support and exchange of ideas that are involved in the same project venue (like READ volunteers, nursing home visitation, Juvenile Ctr, etc).

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

As a teacher at Eleanor Skillen Elementary School 34, I can tell you that Paws and Think has made a huge difference in the lives of our students. Truly, it is amazing. The volunteers are well-trained, and the therapy dogs really fill a need with our students, not only because our students read with them once a week, but also because the dogs give the students unconditional love, support, and attention! We will be partnering with them again this year!






Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change a thing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

What a great group of volunteers committed to a great cause.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 31, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 29, 2013

Paws and Think is growing so quickly as the need to serve the Indianapolis community becomes so much greater. Our programs include Youth-Canine education workshops that help kids learn listening skil... more

July 31, 2014

As a volunteer for Paws and Think for the past six years, I have seen this organization blossom in a way that is so wonderful! The Youth-Canine program, always felt to be what set us apart from being just another Pet Therapy group, has enjoyed tremendous success this year at the Juvenile Detention Center. Touching the lives of these kids with the unconditional love of a dog produces amazing changes. Many of them have never known such love before. And the Reading Education Assistance Dogs (R.E.A.D.) are helping kids achieve grade-level reading, so critical to success in life. More volunteers are needed to serve additional Title 1 schools with this great program. I can't think of a more meaningful organization to devote my time and energies to!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Enhance communication with all volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Paws and Think is growing so quickly as the need to serve the Indianapolis community becomes so much greater. Our programs include Youth-Canine education workshops that help kids learn listening skills, following directions, and positive training benefits. They instill a sense of pride in children that may never felt successful before in their young lives. Paws and Think also provides Pet Therapy with registered, insured therapy teams. We work with memory care units, adult day care centers, libraries and schools. We have recently become affiliated with Reading Education Assistance Dogs (R.E.A.D.) and are bringing that program into the schools where the need is greatest.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 26, 2012

Paws and Think is a non-profit organization supporting the needs of the At-Risk community, with a focus on youth. We offer therapy dog teams for schools, libraries, hospitals, group therapy and other needs as they arise. Our teams volunteer their time for reading programs within schools as well. The second part of our mission is to match the potential of at-risk youth and canines to enhance the lives of both. We use temperament -tested shelter animals in programs for at-risk youth to demonstrate and teach the power of positive reinforcement and responsibility. This becomes a win-win when the dogs become more adoptable and the youth benefit from positive reinforcement and an increase in self respect and confidence.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

working with youth in at Brooke's Place for Grieving. Seeing the children be able to talk about the pain of their loss while gently stroking the dog was an amazing experience. The dog opened the door for them to communicate.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do a campaign to gain larger membersip.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Increased communication with all members.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It has broadened my social world, but most importantly it has given me a place to share the love of a wonderful, generous dog with others who are in some way less fortunate than me. The library kids love to read to Mater. And the Veterans and staff at the VA hospital relax so much more when he is there. Being able to give to the community in this way is very rewarding.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Like I can make a difference in someones life.

June 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Paws and Think has been apart of Joy's House for many years now. Each person that brings their pet in to visit with our Guests is always very respectful and sensitive to the needs and diagnosis of each individual that attends.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I work for a social service agency in Indianapolis and we partner with Paws to Think to provide opportunities for our clients and their children to practice reading in a calm, yet fun environment. It has been such a joy to see the kids become more confident, enthusiastic readers when they sit down with the loving dogs. I would encourage any parent or caregiver to make full use of this service for the development of their children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We work with Paws and Think, Inc. when we host them twice a month for "Paws to Read" a program with therapy dogs trained to listen intently as kids practice their reading skills. The kids who come for this love the dogs, and the dogs give the kids the chance to practice their reading skills in a non-threatening environment. The volunteers (both human and canine) always show up when expected, always with enthusiasm, which really relieves pressure on us in providing quality, free, regular programming for kids. They're truly a joy to work with.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I work in a kindergarten through fourth grade classroom for students with intensive behavioral and mental health needs. To further help address my students' needs, I reached out to Paws and Think to incorporate therapy dogs into our classroom. This is the best decision I have made since working in this classroom!!! We all look forward to Miss Susie and Lucy or Miss Kathy and Mater coming every week to spend time in our classroom. My students all have time to read with the therapy dog and adult as well as just talk, pet the dog, or have the therapy dog do tricks. ALL of my kids have improved their reading abilities SO much, which was not really the real reason we started this program. Two of my kids were afraid of dogs and hadn't had any interactions with dogs. Now they all know appropriate behavior with animals and always show respect to the dogs and their owners. I am so hopeful to continue this partnership next year with Paws and Think. Miss Susie and my kids have really bonded and she even brings gifts to the kids, picks out books for the kids and donated materials for our class. We can't wait for our end of the year celebration where, after hearing all about them, our parents can meet Miss Susie, Lucy, Miss Kathy, and Mater. Thank you Paws and Think!!! You all are so special and so awesome!!!
May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Paws and Think Inc has been a wonderful partnership for my students. Our 2nd graders look forward to every single visit from our doggie friends. This organization has made an important impact on reading in our school!

Elder W. Diggs, Indianapolis Public School #42
April 28, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 28, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

When we moved to Indianapolis a year or so ago, I started looking right away for places/causes with which to volunteer. I happily found Paws and Think, and am so pleased to be serving in an organization that is true to its vision, purpose, and goals. I have a Golden Retriever who has brought great joy into my life, and now I get to share him with others in meaningful ways. We go to elementary schools as part of the READ program where Sailor listens as children read aloud to him, we visit the VA Hospital weekly where Sailor comforts patients, staff, and visitors to the hematology unit, and we also visit area nursing homes and even colleges to help students de-stress during finals. As an organization, I was impressed right off the bat with the follow through from the staff -- I was contacted very soon after I applied to become a volunteer and was encouraged to get involved right away. I have developed a great respect for the other volunteers who spend a tremendous amount of effort and time in making the organization successful and run smoothly. The canine - human bond is an extraordinary relationship, and it's delightful to be a part of an organization that seeks to serve the Indianapolis area in creative ways through the utilization of well trained and well loved dogs. It's a win for the dogs and a win for the humans.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I still consider myself rather new to the organization, but it's my perspective that Paws and Think is in a place of potentially rapid growth. I think with this kind of opportunity, it will be very important to both attract new and keep seasoned staff and volunteers who can nurture the best and widest possible vision for expansion. There is a certain professionalism that I've come to expect from Paws and Think, and I would like this to continue to be prioritized.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help a child achieve greater love of and skills for reading. Volunteer