Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.214295
Write A Review
April 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My review is actually a comment in response to some of the reviews I've read on this website about this non-profit and others. I think whoever decides to rescue a pet, does so with the understanding there will likely be expense involved for veterinary care, not just feeding the pet. Many of the negative reviews have commented about the health of the adopted pet, and the unexpected veterinary expense. People, when you adopt a rescue from either an animal rescue or humane society, you do so without knowing the pet's health. You are not given a guarantee of health as you would from a reputable breeder. All of our pets have been rescues with the exception of our last. We have spent in excess of $70,000 in the last 9 years because we accepted the responsbility for providing our pets with a better life than they had before us. I realize not everyone can afford to spend thousands of dollars on veterinary care, but you cannot expect to adopt a pet and have the expense end with the adoption fee. We didn't have an extra $70,000 in our savings - we made sacrifices by not taking vacations, and driving cars that are 10 years old. If you cannot afford to give your new family member a better life than he/shet previously had, or you are unwilling to make sacrifices for your new addition, than don't rescue - buy a fish instead.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 15, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

May 15, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

My experience with Pawmetto Lifeline was extremely disappointing. I submitted an adoption application with them for a particular dog on their website. I have several other dogs, and they were not on heartworm preventative at the time I filled out the application. I foolishly told the truth about that on my application, even though I was in the process of having my dogs tested then placed on preventative. After Pawmetto got my adoption application, I received a call from someone there informing me that my application was rejected due to the heartworm medication issue. I told the person that I had already had one of my three dogs tested and put on preventative, and was about to have the other two tested and placed on it also. SO, I asked the person if I brought in the paperwork for my dogs' negative heartworm tests and the receipts for the Heartgard I had purchased, would I then be allowed to adopt a dog from Pawmetto. His answer? "Well, probably not. They would have to do a home visit and everything to make sure that our policies were being followed. But you can go to the shelter out off Bluff Rd and find a dog there." WHAT???? I mean, I totally understand them having a policy requiring that all pets be on heartworm preventative, but even if I brought in all paperwork proving that my dogs had been put on preventative, THEY STILL WOULDN"T ALLOW ME TO ADOPT???? UNBELIEVABLE!!!.... I could have easily lied and then probably moved smoothly through their adoption process......I didn't press the issue any further with the person on the phone because it was obvious to me that Pawmetto's main concern is not finding loving homes for their animals, and that is not the type of place I want to work with. I went to Pets Inc who were TERRIFIC and adopted a dog who has become a wonderful part of our family. Meanwhile, the little dog at Pawmetto that I wanted to adopt languishes in that shelter for who knows how long. So sad!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Pawmetto Lifeline is a wonderful organization FULL of volunteers and staff members deeply committed to this very deserving cause. Not only do they have big, compassionate hearts that tend to the physical needs of these pets, but they campaign tirelessly to make sure that these pets find good forever homes. They make sure that the animals' needs are specifically understood by the new potential home ensuring that the forever home will be a good fit. I have personally witnessed them go above and beyond time and time again...what a fabulous group ofeople!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Pawlmetto Lifeline makes me proud to be from South Carolina. The amazing people who make this rescue work are one of a kind. They go above and beyond every single day to save innocent animals lives. Each individual who works for this rescue organization truly does everything that can be done to educate the public, save animals, and give the people of South Carolina a place for genuine help concerning their animals. Columbia SC is a better city now that Pawlmetto lifeline has opened their doors~

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We adopted Beezer, a little brown tabby, at the end of December. He is healthy, happy and absolutely lighting up our home. Our 12 year old cat has adopted him as his little brother. When we got him he was clean with no fleas, no smell and all his shots. We took him to our vet and she gave him a clean bill of health and played with him a little bit because he's just so cute. Thanks to all the good foster homes at Pawmetto Lifeline. (PS His name was Foxx when we got him. He looked more like a Beezer to us.)

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers