Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.214295
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
January 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Being a volunteer with Pawmetto Lifeline is so gratifying! The employees of Pawmetto Lifeline truly care about these animals and are making a difference. I would encourage every one to get involved to help save even more lives. I love the fact that there is no pressure or schedule and you choose the time you want to volunteer. It's also fun! If you are looking for a pet please check out all the wonderful ones we have looking for their Fur-ever homes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2014

more

November 9, 2014

We brought our dog to this organization to have a spay procedure performed. A month after the procedure she had some issues in which we took her to a specialist for at that time they found that she had an infection requiring immediate surgery and 24hr aftercare while performing the surgery to fix her the specialist stated there was no doubt the inflection was due to the improper spay procedure but he would not get involved his concern was to get the dog fixed. None the less $4700 later we now cannot get Pawmetto Lifeline to pay for their mistake since I wouldn't bring her to them where they nearly killed her the first time and they didn't have the proper facility to take care of her immediately. after countless emails and phone calls and reviews I have yet to hear from anyone other than their lawyer who tells me they will place lengthy and costly injunction against me for harming Pawmetto Lifelines economic advantage because I have written reviews everywhere to ensure no one else has the same experience. Since I put the sign on my truck I have found out of the avg 2 phoncalls a day 1 of them is usually a horror story similar to mine about this organization. HOW CAN I HARM THE ECONOMIC ADVANTAGE OF A NON PROFIT ORGANIZATION??? This organization is incompetent and irresponsible.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

SHUT IT DOWN

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My review is actually a comment in response to some of the reviews I've read on this website about this non-profit and others. I think whoever decides to rescue a pet, does so with the understanding there will likely be expense involved for veterinary care, not just feeding the pet. Many of the negative reviews have commented about the health of the adopted pet, and the unexpected veterinary expense. People, when you adopt a rescue from either an animal rescue or humane society, you do so without knowing the pet's health. You are not given a guarantee of health as you would from a reputable breeder. All of our pets have been rescues with the exception of our last. We have spent in excess of $70,000 in the last 9 years because we accepted the responsbility for providing our pets with a better life than they had before us. I realize not everyone can afford to spend thousands of dollars on veterinary care, but you cannot expect to adopt a pet and have the expense end with the adoption fee. We didn't have an extra $70,000 in our savings - we made sacrifices by not taking vacations, and driving cars that are 10 years old. If you cannot afford to give your new family member a better life than he/shet previously had, or you are unwilling to make sacrifices for your new addition, than don't rescue - buy a fish instead.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 24, 2013

more

August 24, 2013

We adopted a female cat about a year and a half ago. Since we got her she has been sick so often, and right now we're starting to wonder if she was even spayed properly. We cannot afford to keep taking her to the vet. We feel that Pawmetto Lifeline lied about her health so she would get adopted. I would not adopt another animal from them. When I emailed them about this they ignored my email.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Tell the truth about the animal.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Somewhat badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
June 14, 2012

I am a volunteer at Pawmetto life line and have been very impressed with the efforts the staff and volunteers give each and every day for this great cause. I would think the pay is not outstanding but... more

October 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Reading some of the comments here felt I had to respond to some that were not as positive....Anything A volunteer can and will do saves $$ that go to the animals. I do not mind a bit doing that , in fact find great reward I can do something to help with my spare time... Perhaps some have had situations that have not been positive( or so it seems reading some of the comments) but there are always two sides and reasons for the way this organization is run..and yes some people are denied acess to our animals. The ANIMALS are the priority here. I have met only one employee that is not ALWAYS smiling . The rest do so besides being helpful , personable,and gives of their time so freely and unselfishly at Pawmetto...There may be some that have "decent" pay but I can assure you for all they do and the time they give for most that is not the case. The saddest thing is although everyone has a right to comment the negative ones hurt no one but those beautiful dogs and cats waiting for homes.. I will go up against any one to debate about the good Pawmetto does and I have been in every area there. I am extremely honest and would not back anything or anyone I felt did not deserve the praise/respect I give today...and by the way I am not paid a thing except the extreme pleasure of knowing I am helping some animal in some small way. But isnt that really the only goal any associated with Pawmetto should have?Thank you and good night!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a volunteer at Pawmetto life line and have been very impressed with the efforts the staff and volunteers give each and every day for this great cause. I would think the pay is not outstanding but I have never heard a complaint for the very long hours and time each puts forth for these animals. These people work long hours each day weekends and holidays. They love the animals and that is their focus. This is not a place anyone can be approved to adopt but only because each animal becomes a part of their hearts. The goal is not ONLY to have them adopted but have them go to the very best matched family and they work hard to ensure that is the result for each and every animal . I had no idea how my own heart would soar when a animal is walked or carried out the door with a new home and how many there are still . I am proud to give my time and be a part of this organization and the people I have met at Pawmetto. My last comment is only be kind to animals ,PLEASE spay and neuter, and come by and see our beautiful family at Pawmetto!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered with Pawmetto Lifeline (formerly Project Pet) for almost 3 years before moving to attend grad. School in FL. I just have to say that there isn't another organization that cares so much about each and every animal they rescue more than the staff and volunteers here do. Each animal is treated like a family member and when one finds their forever home it brings so much excitement and hope, it's amazing. Great organization, staff, and such deserving pets!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 16, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Pawmetto lifeline is a scam. The numbers of pets adopted are shown but not the number of RETURNED PETS. I also found out that they get animals from different rescue organizations that have already treated the animals for any severe illness, get them back to health then, Pawmetto lifeline steps in and gets the rescue. They takes credit for the rescue in order to make the numbers they need to continue different grants which should be going to the groups that actually rescued and treated the sick animal. Had I known that their CEO make over $100,000. annually I would never have given a dime, I support animals not someones lifestyle.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

June 11, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

You're volunteering in positions that they should be paying someone to do, which is fine, that's how most volunteering works. However, the truth is that they have a paid staff and they pay their staff handsomely, think 70k+ a year. Why bother with paying someone to run the in-house pet-store, take proper care of the animals, ect. when they have spent hundreds of thousands (if not a million plus) dollars on publicity and marketing to you so you would volunteer and they wouldn't have to pay you salary/ benefits. I'm writing this because it's important that the public stop rolling over for organizations like these. Pawmetto Lifeline does not save all and any animals from kill shelters. Pawmetto Lifeline only saves the animals with no-very minimal health issues. Do you know how easy it is to 'save' a healthy animal from a shelter *for free* and then sell it to the public for $300 (which is their adoption fee for puppies). Just think, $150-300 per dog they sell. Another $100.00 plus for the cats and kittens. Then they have a store and tons of private & public funding/contributions. You'd have a decent amount of money by the end of the day and then to top it off you've a very small paid staff that's funded by the board of trustees-- trustees who are among the wealthiest in South Carolina.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 15, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

May 15, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

My experience with Pawmetto Lifeline was extremely disappointing. I submitted an adoption application with them for a particular dog on their website. I have several other dogs, and they were not on heartworm preventative at the time I filled out the application. I foolishly told the truth about that on my application, even though I was in the process of having my dogs tested then placed on preventative. After Pawmetto got my adoption application, I received a call from someone there informing me that my application was rejected due to the heartworm medication issue. I told the person that I had already had one of my three dogs tested and put on preventative, and was about to have the other two tested and placed on it also. SO, I asked the person if I brought in the paperwork for my dogs' negative heartworm tests and the receipts for the Heartgard I had purchased, would I then be allowed to adopt a dog from Pawmetto. His answer? "Well, probably not. They would have to do a home visit and everything to make sure that our policies were being followed. But you can go to the shelter out off Bluff Rd and find a dog there." WHAT???? I mean, I totally understand them having a policy requiring that all pets be on heartworm preventative, but even if I brought in all paperwork proving that my dogs had been put on preventative, THEY STILL WOULDN"T ALLOW ME TO ADOPT???? UNBELIEVABLE!!!.... I could have easily lied and then probably moved smoothly through their adoption process......I didn't press the issue any further with the person on the phone because it was obvious to me that Pawmetto's main concern is not finding loving homes for their animals, and that is not the type of place I want to work with. I went to Pets Inc who were TERRIFIC and adopted a dog who has become a wonderful part of our family. Meanwhile, the little dog at Pawmetto that I wanted to adopt languishes in that shelter for who knows how long. So sad!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The pressure was on and everyone in the home could feel it.
The eldest son was about to turn 12 and we all knew what he wanted for his birthday.
The librarians at the school knew what he wanted. He researched for it online and in books.
The teachers and even the lunchroom staff at the
school knew what he wanted. He polled other people about it.
God knew what he wanted for his birthday. Our son prayed for it for months.
Everyone, it seemed, knew what he wanted.
It was not a fancy video game. It was not a cool pair of heelies.
He wanted a dog.
Did not have to be a fancy dog, or papered. Did not have to be photogenic.
It just had to be a great dog.
After weeks of scouring at the Humane Society and the internet, after visits to about 30 dogs who for some sad reason or another, just didn’t seem to be able to fit into our family, we finally went to Petsmart for the Project Pet adopt-a-thon. On May 5th, just 2 days before he turned 12, my son practically drooled over every dog and cat in Petsmart. His dad and I read all the info on the dogs listed on the cages. At first, I scratched all the dogs behind the ears and then talked to them.
There was one particular older dog who, as soon as I touched his fur, leaned his graying muzzle into my hand and laid down.
I called my husband over and asked him his opinion; however, my mind was made up. I called my son over and let him visit with the 8-year-old dog. Tail wagging, droopy eyed with one cataract forming, this red furred beagle basset hound mix fell in love with my son and vice versa. Even the fact that the dog had heartworms didn’t deter us. Project Pet affirmed to us that they were treating the dog and he should be fine.
With that in mind, Tundra became an integral part of our family. Tundra is such a laid-back dog, it’s almost comical. He doesn’t chew on anything except his food and his tail. Always wags his tail happily, sleeps on the pillow with the self-confidence of one who knows his innate right to be there. Housebroken, though he isn’t exactly excited about the crate, Tundra accepts the times we need to leave without him, and is excited when we come home. He loves to go for walks and explore. He enjoys meeting other people and dogs. He isn’t aggressive, but neither is he a scaredy dog. He’s a self confident old man who doesn't look for trouble, just friendship and fun. Tundra gets along with cats, fish, birds, people, other dogs…but he does not like flies for some reason.
Every night, when I check on my boys as they sleep, I find Tundra on one or the other boy’s beds, cuddled and happy in their arms, with his head firmly on the pillow. When I wake up in the morning, Tundra is at the foot of my bed, usually snoring. He’s a loyal companion who has made our hearts and home a happier place. Tundra’s sunshine personality brightens my sons’ world and ours as well.
We were a little nervous when we looked for dogs because our eldest son has autism, but our fears proved groundless. Tundra could not be a better dog for our son, who adores every hair on his dog’s graying muzzle. They are inseparable, and it truly has made a lasting impact on our family’ life.
We cannot thank Project Pet enough for helping us find the right one for us! We want to adopt again soon, now we have bought our first home. Tundra enjoys his yard, and has recently made his presence known to all in the neighborhood. The kids adore him almost as much as we do, and the parents like him for being such a great playmate for the children. Tundra is now almost 15 and we have had some of the best years of our lives, thanks to Pawmetto lifeline and the great work they do.

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers