Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
1234.941185
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

I was a homeless female veteran that lost everything I owned in a storage unit. I had nothing! But when the VA finally settled the Pension portion of my disability claim, I was able to finally afford to get my own place after living in a series of rooms with some very undesirable roommates. However, I did not have any furniture or houseware to make a real "home."
I was referred to 'Patriots and Paws' and while I had to wait until my name came up, I did not have a very long wait. When I was called and told to come in and pick out my furniture, I was very relieved and happy! When I did come in, the volunteers were very friendly and helpful. They assisted me to pick out what I needed and often asked to make sure that I did not need anything else. They made the whole experience very enjoyable. I received everything I needed and more. 'Patriots and Paws' also assisted me in getting my new Service Dog from WAGS at no cost to me, as well as assist me in training my Service Dog.
I will highly recommend 'Patriots and Paws' to every veteran that I know that needs furniture or assistance in helping to locate a Service Dog or a Companion Animal. The staff is all volunteers, and for the most part, they are all veterans! They are professional, friendly, caring and very accommodating. I would also highly encourage businesses and private donors to donate to this great nonprofit because 100% of what they do are done to the betterment of our veterans! God bless 'Patriots and Paws.'

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them a much bigger facility and more volunteers.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As a Navy Veteran, served on the US Kittyhawk, I was surprised to learn about Patriots and Paws - Fountain Valley. The Director Penny, is very patriotic and supportive to the needs of all veterans. I was given a few donated items that relieved my stress, since I am unemployed at the moment and have not received any money from UI for quite some time now. My moral and outlook to the future have been lifted by this simple gesture. I truly appreciate all who donate and for Penny and her cause.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would store these donations in a larger warehouse.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My roomate and I are both veterans, we just moved into an apt and didnt have furniture. Patriots and Paws gave us alot of help. Its a great organization which supports local vets. highly reccomended

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Patriots and Paws is a true godsend for us veterans. My husband and I were homeless for many years, and received our VASH/Section 8 voucher. Penny was so helpful in getting us the furniture and household appliances we needed to make this house a home, and at no cost to us. We appreciate this organization for all of the help they've given us, and every one of our comrades who have contacted them. God Bless Patriots and Paws

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them find more storage space and move them closer to me so I could volunteer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I first heard of Patriots and Paws from a social worker at the VA. This is truly a grass root organization that has no agenda other than helping veterans and service members. I was in need of a couple items. I was allowed to look through boxes and storage units.

There was no
limitation on what I could have other then just a need. My sons drove me to the place Patriots and Paws are currently at. My sons especially my youngest enjoyed being there more then any of us. There were many small items that he was thrilled with especially a new pair of work gloves.

I went back to my place to make it a better home for my sons and me. The couch, we picked up needed a little work. My youngest gave it a good scrubbing. I couldn't believe it was the same couch. My son is very proud of "his" couch. I am very proud to be a veteran and mom. Most 18 year old boys wouldn't want a "handy down." My son is glad it save us money so we could use the money saved to care for us.

Penny emails me on occasion when she gets to things that I have on my wish list. I can't often make the scheduled time because of transportation. Penny is awesome in what she has set out to do and that is to help veterans, service members and their families.

Please make a donation; volunteer or contact if you can help or need help. I love that the organization provides a four legged friend if you are in need. My son has a cat and Patriots and Paws were able to give him litter which was a true blessing.

Just knowing that total strangers have come together to help us is pretty awesome. It is extremely hard to live in the streets because people look at you like you are trash. Places like P&P helps with self esteem by unconditional kindness. Keep up the great work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

That a business or organization would provide them with a permanent place for them to have their items available to service members. Currently there is a lot of unpacking and packing again.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a service connected vet who was homeless for two years. I finally got transitional housing. Now I needed furniture and household appliances. I contacted Patriots and Paws and before long I had all I needed 100% free. They really do help vets as they say.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Great organization. Me and my wife recently moved into an appartment and had only our previous bed and kitchen appliances. We contacted Patriots and Paws and informed them that we were in need of a living room sofa . within a days time we received and email and follow up phone call and was given the address were we could pick up the item . Wonderful people and a great cause ! Thank you so much !

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Patriots and Paws is a blessing to us homeless Veterans. We receiving a VASH housing voucher, but then have no means as we are just getting back on our feet. My husband and I have taken a disabled, senior Veteran to Patriots and Paws, and they fully furnished his apartment with beautiful couches, a bed, dressers, dining table and entertainment center. And, Penny even gave us a few odd things that made our kitchen complete.
We have many friends who have used Patriots and Paws and are treated with kindness and respect. Patriots and Paws is an organization that truly shows their love for us Veterans.
I also commend Patriots and Paws for recognizing the importance that a service/therapy dog has in a Veterans life, especially for us suffering from PTSD. For them to offer that service is unique in itself.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 10, 2013

more

March 10, 2013

I just learned of Patriots and Paws through other veterans that I work with. They are genuinely concerned with helping veterans and have a deep passion. They also help with networking veterans together. Thanks much!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We learned of Patriots and Paws through another military family that they helped. They have a genuine passion for helping the military and their families that is awe inspiring. Those who work for and with Patriots and Paws understand the difficulties many military families face and want to help in whatever way they can. The organization and its affiliates actively work to provide not just the necessities but simple luxuries that families would otherwise go without. When I contacted Penny she was caring, friendly and eager to help however she could. When we arrived to the location it was obvious her work came straight from her heart. She helped us to get bookshelves, a desk, a refrigerator, and furniture for our son’s room. She was even able to get us patio furniture, something I had dreamed of owning since moving to California, but would never have been able to get on our own. Their generosity has touched the lives of my family as well as the lives of many I know. I am eternally grateful for all they do. Patriots and Paws is a true Godsend.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with picking up of the donations. Help with organization of the items that are to be given away. Help a Veteran/active Military shop in our cash FREE thrift store. Help with phone calls, marketing, scheduling and making appointments.