Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.954555
Write A Review
September 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I first heard of Patriots and Paws from a social worker at the VA. This is truly a grass root organization that has no agenda other than helping veterans and service members. I was in need of a couple items. I was allowed to look through boxes and storage units.

There was no
limitation on what I could have other then just a need. My sons drove me to the place Patriots and Paws are currently at. My sons especially my youngest enjoyed being there more then any of us. There were many small items that he was thrilled with especially a new pair of work gloves.

I went back to my place to make it a better home for my sons and me. The couch, we picked up needed a little work. My youngest gave it a good scrubbing. I couldn't believe it was the same couch. My son is very proud of "his" couch. I am very proud to be a veteran and mom. Most 18 year old boys wouldn't want a "handy down." My son is glad it save us money so we could use the money saved to care for us.

Penny emails me on occasion when she gets to things that I have on my wish list. I can't often make the scheduled time because of transportation. Penny is awesome in what she has set out to do and that is to help veterans, service members and their families.

Please make a donation; volunteer or contact if you can help or need help. I love that the organization provides a four legged friend if you are in need. My son has a cat and Patriots and Paws were able to give him litter which was a true blessing.

Just knowing that total strangers have come together to help us is pretty awesome. It is extremely hard to live in the streets because people look at you like you are trash. Places like P&P helps with self esteem by unconditional kindness. Keep up the great work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

That a business or organization would provide them with a permanent place for them to have their items available to service members. Currently there is a lot of unpacking and packing again.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a service connected vet who was homeless for two years. I finally got transitional housing. Now I needed furniture and household appliances. I contacted Patriots and Paws and before long I had all I needed 100% free. They really do help vets as they say.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Great organization. Me and my wife recently moved into an appartment and had only our previous bed and kitchen appliances. We contacted Patriots and Paws and informed them that we were in need of a living room sofa . within a days time we received and email and follow up phone call and was given the address were we could pick up the item . Wonderful people and a great cause ! Thank you so much !

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Patriots and Paws is a unique organization that assists US veterans and rescues animals from shelters by pairing them up with veterans' families. The Carousel Inn and Suites is a hotel located 100 yards from Disneyland's main entrance. We have donated mattresses to Patriots and Paws who provide furniture for veterans. Ms. Penny who runs the organization has been great. She has helped move the mattresses herself! Her volunteers have been super to work with.

Mimi Jeng
General Manager

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Patriots and Paws was born out of a need that was discover when my son came home from his first tour in Iraq. His unit had a Family Readiness Group (FRG) and I learned firsthand that these veteran families were in need of help with the everyday essentials that we take for granted. It has grown by the hard work of Penny Lambright along with all of the other volunteers and board members that have gotten their hands dirty to help give back to our active military, veterans and their families that served our county and have kept us out of harm’s way. I am proud to be a part of a charity that gives back 100% and in turn has seen life-changing results because of the efforts of all who are involved.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I approached this organization while working with americorps and I was thoroughly impressed with the responsiveness to the organization. Since I am also a vet I have received a warm welcome from the founder, Penny and have since then continued to volunteer with the organization by bringing vet clients that come to our offices in search of support. The feedback I get from our clients is overwhelmingly unanimous in the rise in morale and it is the kind of organization that I would like to continue to make allies in the quest to answer to the veteran homeless conflict that our society but most importantly our countries servicemen and servicewomen are faced with today. Thank you once again, Patriots and Paws.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was asked to be part of this moving charity over a year ago. First hand I have seen how many families (over 275) we have helped to date. It takes a small village of volunteers to help bring home furnishings, household goods and pets to deserving active military and veteran families! Please show your support by donating to a good cause that helps these families and their daily struggles feel a little bit more normal. Thank you.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Patriots and Paws is a blessing to us homeless Veterans. We receiving a VASH housing voucher, but then have no means as we are just getting back on our feet. My husband and I have taken a disabled, senior Veteran to Patriots and Paws, and they fully furnished his apartment with beautiful couches, a bed, dressers, dining table and entertainment center. And, Penny even gave us a few odd things that made our kitchen complete.
We have many friends who have used Patriots and Paws and are treated with kindness and respect. Patriots and Paws is an organization that truly shows their love for us Veterans.
I also commend Patriots and Paws for recognizing the importance that a service/therapy dog has in a Veterans life, especially for us suffering from PTSD. For them to offer that service is unique in itself.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am honored to be a part of this board. I see how vets and active military families are helped on a daily basis. We are an army of volunteers doing our best to bring home furnishings and goods to these families. Vets are on our board too, so they know the struggles are real. Please consider donating! Every bit helps!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering with Patriots and Paws for just a couple weeks now but I have to say that It is so fulfilling for me. In the short amount of time I have spoken to many of our vets that are in great need of help. Patriots and Paws is doing just that by assisting service members with home furnishings & uniting companion pets with a new forever home.
I have the honor of speaking to Vets who have lost everything and are working in different ways to restart their lives. I hear stories of homelessness & humility & gratitude.
Patriots and Paws is always looking for help or donations. Its a privilege for me to help the men & women who protect or have protected this great country of ours. I look forward to doing more. Thank you Patriots and Paws for allowing me this honor.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with picking up of the donations. Help with organization of the items that are to be given away. Help a Veteran/active Military shop in our cash FREE thrift store. Help with phone calls, marketing, scheduling and making appointments.