Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
1234.944445
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
August 29, 2014

more

August 29, 2014

Patriots and Paws is an amazing nonprofit organization that has went out of there way to help me even though i'm just a volunteer. This is one of the few places where you go and can volunteer doing a lot of manual labor and it never gets tiresome. The greatest part about this place isn't just the friendly caring volunteers but also seeing the smiles on the faces of all the veterans we have helped and those yet to come. If you are a vet looking for assistance it is a great place to come. If your looking to volunteer your help will be actually appreciated and what better way to help then to give time to those who risked it all.
June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

I was a homeless female veteran that lost everything I owned in a storage unit. I had nothing! But when the VA finally settled the Pension portion of my disability claim, I was able to finally afford to get my own place after living in a series of rooms with some very undesirable roommates. However, I did not have any furniture or houseware to make a real "home."
I was referred to 'Patriots and Paws' and while I had to wait until my name came up, I did not have a very long wait. When I was called and told to come in and pick out my furniture, I was very relieved and happy! When I did come in, the volunteers were very friendly and helpful. They assisted me to pick out what I needed and often asked to make sure that I did not need anything else. They made the whole experience very enjoyable. I received everything I needed and more. 'Patriots and Paws' also assisted me in getting my new Service Dog from WAGS at no cost to me, as well as assist me in training my Service Dog.
I will highly recommend 'Patriots and Paws' to every veteran that I know that needs furniture or assistance in helping to locate a Service Dog or a Companion Animal. The staff is all volunteers, and for the most part, they are all veterans! They are professional, friendly, caring and very accommodating. I would also highly encourage businesses and private donors to donate to this great nonprofit because 100% of what they do are done to the betterment of our veterans! God bless 'Patriots and Paws.'

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them a much bigger facility and more volunteers.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As a Navy Veteran, served on the US Kittyhawk, I was surprised to learn about Patriots and Paws - Fountain Valley. The Director Penny, is very patriotic and supportive to the needs of all veterans. I was given a few donated items that relieved my stress, since I am unemployed at the moment and have not received any money from UI for quite some time now. My moral and outlook to the future have been lifted by this simple gesture. I truly appreciate all who donate and for Penny and her cause.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would store these donations in a larger warehouse.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My roomate and I are both veterans, we just moved into an apt and didnt have furniture. Patriots and Paws gave us alot of help. Its a great organization which supports local vets. highly reccomended

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Great organization that help active or retired military with household items and of course the dog(paws).
We got involved when my (estate sales & liquidations)company needed to donate items and most of the charties could not take very many items. So we looked around and heard from my senior
mover and she told me about them. We got hold of Patriots and Paws and history was made. Reaching out to our clients and with their donations. They have made a huge difference for ths charity. We have been working with them for almost a year now. We enjoy the reward of making a difference to our Military in any way we can. My family was very involved in the military and I wanted to keep that alive in memory of them, but mostly for the Vets that are here and for the ones who are gone and should never be forgotten! Freedom is not Free! They all have given their time for us to have the lives we all enjoy. Some gave the ultimate sacrifice! God Bless all of them!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Patriots and Paws is a true godsend for us veterans. My husband and I were homeless for many years, and received our VASH/Section 8 voucher. Penny was so helpful in getting us the furniture and household appliances we needed to make this house a home, and at no cost to us. We appreciate this organization for all of the help they've given us, and every one of our comrades who have contacted them. God Bless Patriots and Paws

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them find more storage space and move them closer to me so I could volunteer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I first heard of Patriots and Paws from a social worker at the VA. This is truly a grass root organization that has no agenda other than helping veterans and service members. I was in need of a couple items. I was allowed to look through boxes and storage units.

There was no
limitation on what I could have other then just a need. My sons drove me to the place Patriots and Paws are currently at. My sons especially my youngest enjoyed being there more then any of us. There were many small items that he was thrilled with especially a new pair of work gloves.

I went back to my place to make it a better home for my sons and me. The couch, we picked up needed a little work. My youngest gave it a good scrubbing. I couldn't believe it was the same couch. My son is very proud of "his" couch. I am very proud to be a veteran and mom. Most 18 year old boys wouldn't want a "handy down." My son is glad it save us money so we could use the money saved to care for us.

Penny emails me on occasion when she gets to things that I have on my wish list. I can't often make the scheduled time because of transportation. Penny is awesome in what she has set out to do and that is to help veterans, service members and their families.

Please make a donation; volunteer or contact if you can help or need help. I love that the organization provides a four legged friend if you are in need. My son has a cat and Patriots and Paws were able to give him litter which was a true blessing.

Just knowing that total strangers have come together to help us is pretty awesome. It is extremely hard to live in the streets because people look at you like you are trash. Places like P&P helps with self esteem by unconditional kindness. Keep up the great work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

That a business or organization would provide them with a permanent place for them to have their items available to service members. Currently there is a lot of unpacking and packing again.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a service connected vet who was homeless for two years. I finally got transitional housing. Now I needed furniture and household appliances. I contacted Patriots and Paws and before long I had all I needed 100% free. They really do help vets as they say.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Great organization. Me and my wife recently moved into an appartment and had only our previous bed and kitchen appliances. We contacted Patriots and Paws and informed them that we were in need of a living room sofa . within a days time we received and email and follow up phone call and was given the address were we could pick up the item . Wonderful people and a great cause ! Thank you so much !

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Patriots and Paws is a unique organization that assists US veterans and rescues animals from shelters by pairing them up with veterans' families. The Carousel Inn and Suites is a hotel located 100 yards from Disneyland's main entrance. We have donated mattresses to Patriots and Paws who provide furniture for veterans. Ms. Penny who runs the organization has been great. She has helped move the mattresses herself! Her volunteers have been super to work with.

Mimi Jeng
General Manager

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with picking up of the donations. Help with organization of the items that are to be given away. Help a Veteran/active Military shop in our cash FREE thrift store. Help with phone calls, marketing, scheduling and making appointments.