Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
123.8666745
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
May 1, 2013

In the summer of 2011 I was diagnosed with Breast Cancer and underwent surgery. I then had to face the daunting prospect of "chemo" with the worry of cost above my Medicare Advantage plan. I applied to Patient Advocate Foundation for co-pay assistance. The process was fast, efficient, smooth and culminated in a 12 month grant to aid in my treatment.

It was great to be able to focus on the medical aspects of my condition with out the additional worry of finance! My experience with this caring foundation was very positive.

Thank You,

Marvelle Smith

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 24, 2013

I was the recipient of generous financial assistance from Patient Advocate Foundation (PAF) in the treatment of osteoporosis. My prescription medication was a very expensive daily injection medication over a two-year period. I was awarded $3,000 by PAF for each of those years. The staff at PAF handled the payment of invoices directly in an efficient manner was always most kind in my contacts with them. I am truly impressed with the services of PAF and will always be grateful for their assistance.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 22, 2013

April 18, 2013

I am, most sincerely, just one of the “many” Presidents of Patient Advocate Foundation, and Cheryl Nowell Fan Club.. In addition to walking me through my first bout with Colon Cancer bills and medical confusion, PAF (through Cheryl Nowell) also helped me a second time
through the same after my treatments for small bowel cancer. What PAF did for me, was to take the confusing state of mind that I or anyone else would be in after such medical trauma, and help it make to make some sense. The end result, from BOTH times, was that ALL of my medical bills (except one) were written off. This state does not just happen---it is through incredibly diligent work and a caring heart, which PAF exhibited to the nth degree—and way beyond. I cannot possible put into mere words the gratitude I feel for this organization, which helps ALL people through different kinds of “medical and mental” trauma. I most highly recommend PAF to anyone who needs a sincerely caring voice and heart on the other end of the telephone, during such confusing and trying times. Thank You PAF! All of you are WONDERFUL!!

Sincerely from the bottom of my heart,
Bonnie West

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 18, 2013

more

April 18, 2013

I would recommend the Co-Pay Relief program because it’s a quick, simplified process with a staff that truly cares. When you are sick and down you don’t need nor can you deal with the stress of the huge financial burden our medical system throws and you. It’s really nice to work with a group of professionals who make you feel like you are a part of their family and really want to help. I am grateful to the PAF/Co-Pay Relief Program and the staff who have given me a chance to finish my treatment. I am also grateful for the donors who support this program which helped me and has helped so many others. Thank you all very much for your excellent work and for being such kind and caring people.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 17, 2013

Try to understand the feeling and dismay when you are informed that the problem you are facing has no cure and that a certain program, if successful,will prolong your life. Then, you discover the costs of this program, knowing that you do not have the funds nor are able to raise the necessary funds to begin the program.
That is what happened to me 3 months ago.
Fortunately for me, I was able to access information on my PC and discovered Patient Advocate Foundation and their helpful and compassionate people who really cared. The Foundation has been so very helpful and because of their decision to help, I am being treated and improving.
Without the Foundation's help, I would not be able to receive the necessary treatments and my life expectancy would be cut short, and I would not be able to write this review.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 17, 2013

After I was diagnosed with Multiple Myeloma in 2008 I began to pay my huge co-pays for medications. It became unbearable. I was introduced to PAF by my PCP and filled application. The Co-Pay Assistance Program helped me to stay on. With cancer treatment so expensive I could not survive without the help of PAF. I greatly appreciate their help and hope they will continue to provide assistance to cancer survivors. Victor Sloosky, Ashton, MD

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 17, 2013

I am a 54 year old breast cancer survivor. PAF really saved me at the hospital. The co-pays were crazy and thanks to PAF I can hold my head up high because I paid off Virtua Hospital Voorhess, NJ. I don't know what I could have done without them but the professionalism of the staff was a big help since I paid with them directly. Thank you to all who got me through the taxotere and carboplatin (the chemo that makes you lose your hair). Better days are coming since my hair is growing back now. Since PAF absorbed the costs after Medicare which I pay myself, I am not losing anything. Thank you friends. Sincerely, Debbie Kidd-Beswick.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 2, 2013

My wife was diagnosed with gastrointestinal stromal tumor (a rare form of sarcoma) in September of 2009. We belonged to an employer sponsored health maintenance organization (HMO) which has very strict rules about going out of network. It became evident that the expertise available within the HMO was insufficient to treat my wife's type of cancer. Only a handful of experts in treating this type of cancer were available, all requiring travel to get to. In July of 2010 my wife and I attended a support group function and Patient Advocate Foundation had a couselor and display at the meeting. It was here that I met Laurel, a counselor with the Patient Advocate Foundation. Laurel took me under her wing and provided every assistance I would need to fight the HMO for a referral outside of the HMO network.

When I made the initial request on behalf of my wife for a referral, the request was denied. We had to go through the entire appeals process and were denied each time, which I am told, happens with some frequency. In my state, after the appeals process with the insurance company is exhausted, there can be an appeal for an external review. When I requested the external review, the HMO capitulated and granted the referral to the ouside expert.

Laurel was behind me 100% and provided letters and backing to whether the appeals process with the HMO. Without the assistance and encouragement of the Patient Advocate Foundation, and specifically our wonderful counselor, Laurel, we may have never been granted the referral.

I know that the Patient Advocate Foundation helps out in many areas to support and advocate for paients as they struggle for treatment, payment assistance and approvals. Having been through this, I can tell you that it is very important to have someone help you advocate just to get noticed in the medical/insurance system.

I highly recommend Patient Advocate Foundation. My wife and I had a successful outcome with their assistance. I believe they will go to great lengths to provide any assistance they can and is within their means to provide.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 1, 2013

I started my initial contact with the Patient Advocate Foundation in November of 2011 when I found out that I needed to have a surgery for a gastrointestinal issue. I am without insurance and have been for quite some time and the surgery that I needed to have was done by a doctor almost 3 hours away. The surgery was very expensive and in my initial contacts with the hospital and the company who makes the device that I needed to get to have the surgery I failed at getting financial assistance approval.

After an online search for patient services I stumbled upon PAF and was able to get a case manager within a week. The case managers communication was always consistent and when communication was needed with an outside person she was always on conference with me, it made it much easier to deal with.

It took almost a year with phone calls between us and the hospital, my doctor and the company who makes the device, but I was finally able to have the surgery. Prior to the surgery, my case manager was able to assist me with finding transportation and housing. I owe everything to PAF for sticking with me through this long process that seemed like would never get resolved and for following up with me to make sure everything was good to go.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 1, 2013

My name is Patricia Adkins and I am 27 year old cancer survivor! Last year (2012) I became a client with PAF after I was diagnosed with a rare cancer. My case manager , Tanya Walker was and still is fabulous!!! Tanya and I share a special bond in that we are both nurses. I knew that the person on the other end of the phone truly understood what I was going through. Tanya helped me navigate through the ever changing insurance world, checking on claims to see what their status was, and she explained what would happen next, as far as what I would have to pay once everything settled out and how long it may take for claims to actually finish filing. A year later I can say without a doubt I couldn't have done it without her. It was so comforting to know that I had someone else in my corner paying attention to all the "yucky" stuff so I could focus on recovery! Thanks Tanya! you rock!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers