Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
34 Reviews
1234.117655
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
June 29, 2014

more

June 29, 2014

I am thoroughly concerned by this organization. Like the "tough love" and "experiential" programs in Arizona where members died due to dehydration, sleep deprivation and brainwashing, this program should be carefully monitored if not shut down. I feel bad for the clients who's only "family" is this organization which keeps draining them of money.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Pathways needs to be shut down.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014

more

June 26, 2014

Pathways is an experiental journey in achieving emotional maturity. Although it was by far the most difficult thing I have ever experienced, it was by far the best thing I could of done for my self. The experience taught me to believe in myself and to come away with real tools to help me manage the present, deal with my past and prepare a life plan for my future. Like anything else in life, you will get out of Pathways what you put into it. Not everyone will get the same results. I owe a big thank you to the people in that room that volunteer their hearts and their time for such a worthy cause. My son and I both attended Step Beyond and he has not been the same 16 year old. That puts a smile on my face and that is something every parent should experience.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 12, 2014
7 people found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2014
7 people found this review helpful

My biggest fear going in to Pathways was that my wife would meet someone else, that the grass would look greener on the other side, and that she would end up cheating on me... that’s exactly what happened. I would never send anyone that I actually cared about to Pathways.

The people at
Pathways are not bad people, they genuinely want to help people, and I believe feel that they are doing a positive work in people’s lives. Here are the issues I’ve found:

1. No moral compass in Pathways – Pathways is specifically and intentionally “non-religious”. They have such a watered down view of spirituality that they say a spiritual aspect is important, but that can be whatever you think it is or isn’t. This lack of Spiritual compass then flows through all that Pathways attempts to do. I’ve had classmates use the “empowerment” from Pathways to motivate them to leave their loving husbands and children – justifying these choices as something they just need to do to become their true self. I’ve seen first-hand how TA’s have entered in to inappropriate “sexting” relationships with trainees. This is just plain wrong, but is just a symptom of the lack of true moral direction. (If it’s right for me, who are you to say it’s wrong?)

2. Mixed gender, forced emotional closeness, but not with those closest to you. “Love looks different here” – is what you’re told, and indeed there is an artificially induced closeness that opens people up emotionally to each other very quickly and in ways that lowers your guard and opens you up to connect with people that you probably wouldn’t normally connect with. In my case, this is what lead directly to my wife’s affair with a member of her class. The affair lasted for over 2 years – and thankfully we have overcome the things that lead us down that road – no thanks to Pathways or its programs. There is a reason that you are told to not enter a sexual relationship with anyone in the class for 30 days after the training – because THIS IS AN ISSUE.

3. False Hope – Pathways offers a “type of hope”. That if I get these tools, and understand how to deal with my own pain, then I’ll be able to manage my life. The problem is – most pain in life is the result of sin – and sin doesn’t need to be managed – sin needs to be crucified and people need to be transformed – Pathways is un-capable of doing either… and so leaving Pathways, you actually feel really good about the tools that you’ve learned, the life plan that you can start putting in to practice – but it’s a false hope in the process (that you have learned to trust). The tools that you learn in Pathways aren’t bad in and of themselves, they just aren’t enough to save you. True freedom and transformation are available to anyone that asks (seek Jesus – and a scripturally healthy church to grow in and find freedom with!)

What would I change?

Go find a Bible based approach to freedom and transforming your life. The tools that you learn at Pathways are good, but they also aren’t unique to Pathways – these are tools that you can learn elsewhere.

Find a program where Husband and Wife can attend together. Something where the two of you can grow closer together. The biggest stress on marriages in Pathways happens right away – one spouse immediately feels left out (because they are). Find a program where the two of you can engage and grow at the same time, where what you learn will pull the two of you together – not pull you in different directions to your own class.

If husband and wife can’t attend together – they try to find a program with gender specific classes. Pathways could do this today if they really wanted to solve 90% of their issues. Have men only classes and women only classes – and have gender specific TA’s.

My experience going through Pathways was initially hard – then great – then extremely hard when the full truth of *everything* that had happened with my wife and the person in her class came out. Pathways didn’t help us, instead we were lured in to a false sense of “things getting better”– we both lowered out guard and let this person in to our lives (because – hey, he was a Pathways person). I know that our experience isn’t unique, nor uncommon in Pathways circles.

I don’t want this to sound like everything about Pathways was horrible. It wasn’t, and that’s the deceptive part. Many things in Pathways were amazing. I met some incredible friends, learned life tools that I still use to this day. I did discover a lot about myself that I never realized before… there were moments in the training that were beautiful and I actually thought to myself, “wow, this is what church is supposed to be like!” Think about that for a moment. The only thing missing from Pathways is Jesus… and I actually thought Pathways had something that Church needed, when the whole time it was the other way around.

I walked in to Pathways with plenty of my own issues – a life-long struggle with pornography, my wife already hated me, we’d grown farther and farther apart every year of our marriage – I was certainly not living out my faith in victory – and our whole family was suffering for it! I walked out of Pathways feeling free, and changed – not realizing that nothing outside of Jesus would truly set me free, and not realizing the snakes that had already latched on to our family through our “Pathways relationships”.

The great moments of Pathways had lulled us in to a false sense of freedom in our lives, when the whole time we were slipping farther in to bondage. The long term fruit of our Pathways training should be obvious when you look at the foundation – nothing. Because Pathways has no true spiritual foundation, there will never be the lasting change and freedom that only the Truth can bring.

My recommendation: you don’t need Pathways – you need a deeper, deeper truly honest walk with Jesus in your life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

- Have a Bible based approach to freedom and transforming your life. Jesus transforms lives. - Create a spouse friendly program - Create gender specific classes

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

I went through this training program over 6 years ago and I experienced long lasting lifetime effects in the most positive manner. I grew up in a dysfunctional family and this training taught me skills that were not afforded me in my own family of origin. I have learned to break the unhealthy taught strategies such as triangulation, conflict avoidance, denial and avoiding accountability as well as others. I learned the skills of healthy behaviors implementing them and passing them on to my own children. What I gained from this program is priceless and has impacted my household for generations. I have been volunteering since I graduated and have witnessed this organization grow in maturity, integrity and healthy behaviors over the last six years. The last two years I have seen the organization move into the purity of their mission of helping individuals one heart at a time. The current leadership is the best I have seen thus far operating with respect, compassion and great professionalism towards all individuals involved. I donate multiple days a month of my time to serve on a team because I 100% believe what happens at a core level with the individuals who choose to do the hard work is profoundly beneficial to their own lives as well as their children lives. I have personally have participated in every aspect of all of the Pathways training including step beyond, empowered parenting and teen and family camp. As a result of my own hard work through each training every aspect of my life is richer, full of color, and growing healthier daily. My relationships with my children and my husband have improved immensely. In fact they are better than I could have imagined. Most of all my relationship with God has dramatically grown in depth and meaning. I have sponsored all of my family members and numerous friends all experiencing good results. I have the utmost gratitude for the opportunity that Pathways provided me to seize and create the life I deserve.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would want to find a way to market it effectively. It is really hard to convey the value of this training to someone on the front end. A person entering really does have to take a leap of faith because of the changes that they have seen in your life. As you are going through the value increases every minute. Now six years out the value I see is a 1000 times greater than my investment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 12, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

more

June 12, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

Life changed dramatically for me after my journey through Pathways beginning in 2008. I have personally sponsored 9 of my closest friends and family and they, too, believe it was the best thing they have ever done/could ever do for themselves. Love looks different in that room -- and it is definitely life-changing LOVE.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 11, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

more

June 11, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

I was a bit skeptical when before I started the training.

After completing the 5 weekends it was transformative in my life. The key to the training. There is no formula to achieve success. They simply ask you...
1) what is important to you?
2) what does your life look like? If
this does not match up with what is important to you...
3) why are you not living the life you desire from number 1

The training is hard work. But the changes any given person obtains are that individuals goals. Not some recipe the organization has for you. Their goal is to get you to live the life you desire.

The training was a huge blessing to me. I have seen it bless many, many others. I can not give it a higher review.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It would be accessible to a larger number of people

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 11, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

more

June 11, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

I am alive today and married today because of this training. Moreover, my son is thriving and my best friend, sister in law and many friends have experienced profound life change. Finally, I have seen many fellow veterans experience freedom and healing from PTSD and the invisible wounds of war. To me the question is not if every person in the organization is perfect but rather did the training change your life. If the training changes everything, it is a very small thing to experience life together in an organization with less than perfect people. I challenge anyone reading this to find a graduate of the training who will say that they didnt find the training profounding life changing. If you are ready to make a change, Pathways is a great place to start.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Create an endowment so that it would be self sustaining without either relying upon tuition or donations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 11, 2014
7 people found this review helpful

more

June 11, 2014
7 people found this review helpful

I understand those who question and doubt the things this organization has the ability to do. For me personally, this organization saved my life. My story was a hard one to talk about, I had been suicdely depressed since the age of 10 and had family and social issues. I had incredible friends and family that loved me and would do anything for me yet I could mot find the will to live. At the age of 20 I had just moved to a new school, lost my best friend and broken up with my boyfriend of many years and was not able to handle my life. I found out about pathways from a family friend who was going through it at the time, I saw a difference in her and approached her about it. I joined two months later, this will have been three years ago last month. Yes the program is intense and grueling and hard, but isn't life? Don't you think that your life is worth working hard for? I did, I personally found out how to be a true adult, I found an incredible love and pride in myself, and have become truly independent. I have been able to accomplish things that I never really thought that I was able to acheive. I have such a love and zeal for life and most importantly when I get down and sad, I now have tools to pick myself back up. Is pathways a gamble both emotionally and financially? Yes, but it is one that I am so incredibly glad that I took that risk. It is only an added privelage to be able to thank the people who volunteer their time without pay, to change mine and others lives because they believe in this program and the power that it can have. The only people that are compensated are the 6 facilitators, the other 30 or so volunteers are not in any way compensated. That shows true love and belief in the program. This organization is anything but a cult, for a cult wants to dig their claws into you and never let go and pathways wants to give you wings so that you can fly. Don't be scared of things or people that are different just because you don't understand them and just remember, life itself is a gamble, the question is are you going to sit around being just ok with having an unhappy and unhealthy life? Or are you willing to take a leap of faith that could pay off in the most incredible way.

Hope this helps.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is kinda hard. I went trough this training and it DID help my life in so many ways.

But...I do not care right now for the organizations path. I get the feeling that extreme money hungry individuals are taking the lead, the board is composed of the wealthy that are "chosen", the
office staff is nothing short of rude at times, class numbers have gone from 70 and 60 a month while I was in training to now maybe 40 on a good month but yet they claim everything is fine and great, and the entire organization is clicks and more clicks.

I have several I would like to see go through this training but do not feel safe trusting my loved ones in an unstable organizations hands.

If you need a serious life change and you need it fast! Please do consider this but go into it knowing that there is a real chance that you will need to continue your "training" far away from the organization. And that is just FINE! The organization isn't there to hold your hand. But it can leave a sour taste in your mouth if you expect to easily stay involved.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Unsure

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

more

June 11, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

I attended this training because I heard from someone else that it changed her life. I had no expectations but I did have hope. I wasn't disappointed. The training saved my life. It gave me the tools and courage to change the things in my life that weren't working, what years of counseling didn't do!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be able to offer it at more locations.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers