Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

I have met some of the wonderful people who run this organisation They deserve all the financial help they can get because the good they are doing is just amazing. Both the Samburu people and the inhabitants of the Maasai Mara have been helped immeasurably by their efforts. Just a little bit every month from all of us goes a very long way in supporting this worthy cause.
October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

This great nonprofit is less than 2 years old and I’m very impressed with the impact its programs have had so far in the communities it serves. I’m also comforted to know that my donations go directly towards programs that improve the lives of girls who deserve a better life. The monthly newsletters always have positive and impressive news, and pictures of the good work Pastoralist Child Foundation is doing. This nonprofit is a true blessing to the people in rural Kenya because the staff, board, mentors, volunteers and expert workshop facilitators are truly dedicated and caring. I will always financially support this wonderful organization. Thanks for all you do!
September 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Fabulous organization! It's amazing that in 2014 practices such as FGM are happening. I commend this organization for taking a stand and supporting these young girls so they can have a chance to a more fulfilling life.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I’ve known Sayydah Garret both personally for over 15 years and now, as Samburu cultural adviser for her organization, the Pastoralist Child Foundation (PCF). It is my honor to unreservedly support the PCF mission dedicated to eradicating the insidious harmful traditional practice of female genital mutilation (FGM) that maims 130 million girls worldwide. This is the organization Sayydah was born to lead. The velocity and efficacy of her accomplishments is nothing short of staggering. I know of no other woman who has nearly single handedly improved the health and welfare of school age girls with such grace, grit, and grounded solutions including education and safe alternative rites of passage.
September 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The Founder, Sayydah Garrett is a dear friend that I’ve had the pleasure of knowing for many years. She has been a business advisor to me and we’ve always shared a passion for empowering women. Her business acumen, leadership, honesty and compassion for others has created positive change in the lives of many.

Upon her return from a Safari in Africa, she shared with me that she decided to create a non-profit that would educate and teach girls about FGM in the villages of Africa. Once hearing her vision and with a small investment, I’m now sponsoring a girl’s education!! I feel wonderful knowing that I’m making a difference.

I’m very proud of Sayydah and sincerely honored to be a Board Member of the Pastorialist Child Foundation.
September 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I'm very pleased with this organization. The staff and volunteers are truly dedicated and work so hard to educate girls through workshops, camps and school sponsorships. The leadership is strong and trustworthy. Congratulations to everyone at Pastoralist Child Foundation for tackling important issues that affect so many girls who want and deserve better lives.
July 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have the pleasure of knowing the Founder of this organization and consider her amongst the most honest, passionate, compassionate and lovely persons I know. I have heard her speak so passionately about the organization, how it came to be, and the wonderful work they are doing. It is inspiring to see this kind of commitment to positive change in this world!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I met the director, Samuel eadismo in 2005 on a safari with Sita in Kenya. He was in High School at the time and he ws our guide through his Samburu Village at Archer's Post. He asked me not to forget him, so I took his address and we began corresponding. He was desperate to continue his education, and I told him if he could get into a college in Kenya, I would support him. He enrolled in Zetech for his 2 year diploma in hotel management. He worked for awhile and then finished at Utalii in Nairobi, earning his 4 year degree. While he was working at the lodge, he met Sayydah and she chose him as the person with the dedication, passion, and purpose to be Director. I am proud of what this group has accomplished and believe in what they are trying to accomplish. 5 stars!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hope to see it expand

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I first came across Pastoralist Child Foundation this year when I learnt of the problems facing little girls in the Samburu regions of rural Kenya. I wanted to be able to help a girl child to be protected from the harms of female genital mutilation (FGM) and also to allow her to go to school. i contacted PCF director, Samual Leadissimo, who is one of the Founders. Samuel is Samburu warrior who is taking a stand in his community to help protect girls from harmful traditional practices such as FGM through sensitisation programs and scholarships so girls can go to school. I have had regular contact from both Sam and Sayydah Garratt (Sayydah also made the effort to Skype with me as I am based in Australia, and she is in the US). PCF found a young girl who had been orphaned and was facing a life of servitude to an older man as her only option for survival was to be given to an old man in marriage. This lovely young Samburu girl is now in school and thanks to the work of Sam and Sayydah will be moving on to secondary school next year. Her life is now full of hope because of this gift I am sending from Australia and I feel truly blessed that I have had the opportunity to make a difference to her life. Now a whole generation can be saved from FGM and other harmful practices. The grassroots and voluntary nature of PCF workers means that all my money goes straight to pay for this girl's school and personal needs. Now I feel I have my own daughter in Kenya. I recommend giving to this group as such a small amount can completely transform the life of a girl in Kenya. Highly recommended!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Start a branch in Australia!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

A wonderful organization started by people who really care within the Maasai and Samburu tribes. They are working to make a difference in the lives of children and young women within their communities. Started by accident/miracle when they met Sayydah Garrett while she was visiting Kenya and told her the story of how help was needed. They are making real effective changes! Thank you Pastoralist Child Foundation, Sayydah and all involved.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers